We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little hidden gem in Lahaina”
Review of Espresso Italiano

Espresso Italiano
Ranked #7 of 14 Coffee & Tea in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Italian
Restaurant details
Forest Hills, NY
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A little hidden gem in Lahaina”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Upon recommendation I went to try the coffee in this little italian bar.
I ended up buying a cappuccino, a slice of delicious home made lilikoi cake and an espresso.
The cappuccino was very good. I would like to recommend smaller and thicker cappuccino cups for a true italian bar experience. The cake was very very good. The espresso was good too. A bit of a thicker cream would make it outstanding, but it is still very good and for those who love a strong cup.

Recommended to all those italian tourists that end up at Starbucks buying an espresso because they know nothing else. The coffee here is better and has more of a local atmosphere feel because it is not on Front Street. The owner is very friendly and hospitable. I hate to be continuously asked where I am from on the assumption that I am a tourist. This happens on Front Street in every other shop. She made me feel part of the community and it is a nice touch especially because I bet she relies on repeat business.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank blumet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    15
    0
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Classy & Friendly”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

My new favorite place for my morning mocha. My mocha was particularly declisious & enjoyed it more than other mochas' I've had on Maui. It came in an oversize coffee cup brewed to perfection with whipped cream . . . it was divine. Also, the price was GREAT!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Chapko1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peoria, il
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Cute little coffee stop”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Get a little Italiano in Maui! Loved this coffee stop- tasy smoothies and sandwhiches to boot! But her homage baked goods are killer! All her recipes, she told me. Great stop off the beaten path!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank CanCookWillTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rovereto, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good Coffee, Nice Service”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

The coffee was good and they offer a cappuccino that is a perfect size, I'd say about 8 ounces. Most shops have a small that is 12 ounces and I think that is too much milk.
The pastries were also wonderful. We tried a crostata with mixed fruit and also an almond cake, both were delicious! The woman working there told us that she makes them herself. We also tried a banana bread and that was just alright.
We went there 3 times and there were 2 different people working, both were very friendly.
The shop is small and so we had to wait a bit but it was worth it.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank chekedin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Coffee”
Reviewed August 8, 2012

The coffee here is great and very strong. The owner is very pleasant. Make sure you try her fresh Italian Pastries. This is in a very convenient location on Dickenson St, near Front Street. It is located near the Catholic Church,"Sacred Heart" which has Daily Mass at 7am. A great way to start your day is to attend mass at 7am in this Beautiful Catholic Church, then walk over to Expresso Italiano afterwards and hae a nice Latte.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christy8167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Espresso Italiano also viewed

 

Been to Espresso Italiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing