We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great company to work with”

Hawaiian Rafting Adventures
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Hawaiian Rafting Adventures is a full service dive shop and boat dive operator working out of Lahaina on the island of Maui, Hawaii.We offer a range of scuba classes from PADI discover scuba to TDI technical rebreather diving. Our boat does daily trips to the island of Lanai and along the Maui coast. Come enjoy scuba diving with Hawaiian Rafting Adventures!
NW California
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great company to work with”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

After a long hiatus from diving my wife and I decided it was time to go again. Before Children, we dove alot, but changes in gear and simply being rusty had us looking for an operator who would both get us up to speed and give us a great experience. Well we found it. We started with a simple beach dive one evening with JJ, which went very well. JJ did an excellent job orientating us to the gear as well as taking us to a good beach dive spot where we had lots to see. The next day we went out on the boat with Steve who is clearly competent at his job. The pre-dive briefing was excellent and we followed the script on both dives. Steve was very knowledgeable about the fish and aquatic life, managed to find a lot of cool stuff including eels, octopus, rays, sharks and uncommon fish. (Hint, stay close to him and he will point out lots of things)

The company was very professional, we felt very good going with them. Nothing fancy but good stuff. While the deepest we went was 65', they do go down to about 110' on some dives. We saw plenty at 65' max which gave us a bottom time of something like 53 minutes.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank kfhm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    13
    3
    6
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Real diving”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

These guys are relaxed and professional. Prices are comparable to everywhere else. But the service is great. I took the family including 2 young new divers out with them. We went to the other side of Lanai to 2 absolutely stunning sites. The gear provided was a high standard and they got us all sorted out.
The personalised instructor tutored and coached our kids through 2 awesome dives. I was a bit nervous about the speed of the introduction to the open water, but our kids absolutely loved it because they are pretty confident in the water anyway.
I can confidently recommend these guys for a serious diving experience.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jamie Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great boat diving experience”
Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

Great time diving at shark fin and light house dive sites in Lanai. The crew was helpful and service oriented, they made us feel welcomed. My son was boat sick and they made him feel comfortable, he came back strong and made both unreal dives! Especial mention to Jose Silva and Mica. If in Lahaina this the boat outfit to dive with.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank JoeMRecommendation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Awesome Instructor, Bad Experience with Certification”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Spent $550 on a referral course, passed all the tests with flying colours, then they refused to process the paperwork for my PADI Open Water diver card - apparently to avoid spending $40!! The instructor, btw, was fantastic (Mark), and the sites we dived at were great, but the hassle of getting my certification processed afterward left a very bad taste, and was a major disappointment. I certainly wouldn't go back, and highly recommend anyone looking for a certification course find somewhere else!! Luckily PADI sorted it out for me (they were amazing, actually) - but between the course and over $500 in other purchases and dive fees, I was shocked to find myself getting ripped off, basically. I guess they're not interested in repeat business.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Geoffrey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve J, General Manager at Hawaiian Rafting Adventures, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
We are always interested in repeat business and if we had all the paper work from the referral dive shop complete the certification could have been processed with out issue. It is unfortunate the customer paid so much to the originating shop for his course and then had to pay for the 4 open water dives, 2 days on the boat after he got to Hawaii. The originating shop did not want to send us complete paper work or finish his certification even though we had signed off on the 4 open water dives which is what he paid us for. We have Great Instructors and try to provide great customer service if at all possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Day of Diving”
Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

These were some of the most amazing swimthroughs we have ever seen! Mike was quiet but extremely knowledgable. Great boat, great team.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bpianopilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hawaiian Rafting Adventures also viewed

 

Been to Hawaiian Rafting Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing