We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor Service; Bad Attitudes” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fu Lin Chinese Restaurant

Fu Lin Chinese Restaurant
Ranked #189 of 262 Restaurants in Lahaina
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Poor Service; Bad Attitudes”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

I had a terrible experience at this restaurant. We wanted to go to Star Noodle but they had an hour wait and it was already 8 pm so we decided to go to Fu Lin since not many people were there. When we first walked in the waiter handed us some water, (no smiles, nothing, just a scowl etched into his face) typically I wouldn't stress this much but it was like a first sign that this was a poor service restaurant, the water tastes funny, as if they have an ice machine that they don't clean very often, I know for a fact that these need to be cleaned weekly to meet health regulations and the taste of this water clearly wasn't up to that. Anyways, our table of 7 ordered all noodles, after we ordered the restaurant started filling up, (I don't know how that happened at 8 pm, kinda late to eat dinner..) and we watched as all the other guests, including a family of 8 got their food before us. We waited an hour until we finally asked the waiter what was taking so long, and he said he'd check, 10 minutes later he came back and said they just put the food on the oven, 5 minutes later he came back with the food. 5 minutes to prepare 7 dishes and a 1 hour 15 minute total wait? It's outrageous, however, on the bright side, the food did taste quite good. My advice? Order at least 2 dishes on the more expensive side or the waiter won't treat you well. My experience at this restaurant was terrible and I won't be coming back unless it's the last restaurant on earth or that waiter gets fired.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lolve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    41
    36
    20
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norcal
Level Contributor
333 reviews
229 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Very good food but service could be better”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

After nearly three weeks of having fish prepared in various ways, including with capers and a burre blanc sauce, with a baked macadamia nut crust, seared with s spicy rub or with a tropical salsa at many of the restaurants on Maui and Oahu, we walked into this restaurant for a simple meal.
It was early (a little before 5PM) and we checked the menu before being seated. The wait staff was just finishing their meal.... so we waited several minutes while they cleaned up. We were one of the first diners that evening.
We ordered a seafood soup, a steamed fish filet with soy and ginger plus a garlic eggplant dish. The fish was perfectly cooked, moist and not dry, it had a delicate taste with the soy and ginger balanced perfectly. The eggplant was tasty and was not overpowered by the garlic. The soup was also good.
Service was attentive, although our waiter sometimes would disappear at times for 3-5 minute intervals....
In spite of this, we plan to return when we are on Maui again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lwj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nothing special.........”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

We thought this might be a great choice after looking at the reviews from Maui happenings magazines, but found on our visit it was just average. Although some of the restaurant was open air we sat towards back and it was quite warm and stuffy. We were a party of 6 and everyone ordered individual meals. Although nothing was inedible it was just average and not as special as the ads were touting, if you are looking for ambiance there is probably better places to choose, I probably would not go back, prices were high but then almost all our meals we ate out other then Maui tacos were high...even so......I was un- impressed.....,

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank powell'sparty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahaina, HI
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Who you Fu Lin with your bad reviews? This is NOT Panda Express, ORDER SOMETHING AUTHENTIC!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

Orange Chicken and Won Tons should never be your "GO TO" items when entering a restaurant like Fu Lin. If ever you get to meet the owner, she is amazing. Let her decide what to order for you. She knows her product and will bring out her favorites. It is amazing how many people think Chinese food should be cheap. Rice holds high value in their culture and so should its price be on the menu. This isn't Panda Express! So if you're expecting your experience to be gourmet sit down version of Panda Express DON'T BOTHER GOING!

Back to the food - My personal favorites would have to be their version of the Honey Walnut Shrimp. Their Chow Fun is great! Everything else I've had their was suggested and selected by the staff. I'll be going back sooner than later!

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Nestor96761
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahaina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Authentic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

Loved this place. The food was excellent. Their Chinese tea was delicious! Very friendly service!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank StephanieCostantino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fu Lin Chinese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Fu Lin Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing