We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beach, excellent snorkeling”

Kahekili Beach Park
Ranked #12 of 123 things to do in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
437 reviews
262 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
“Great beach, excellent snorkeling”
Reviewed August 8, 2014

Preferred this beach rather than the more crowded and touristy beach at Ka'anapali. The snorkelling was great and we saw lots of different types of fish. Well worth seeking out and lots of parking available.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank BackinBracknell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    103
    14
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Granby, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Better than paid snorkeling excursion”
Reviewed August 2, 2014

This was the best snorkeling I experienced on Maui. We spent $500 to take our family on a snorkeling excursion to Molikini. We saw more fish at Kahekili Beach than we did on this excursion, and the boat ride made us sick! I suggest you save your money and snorkel here right off the sandy beach, for free!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank aspiringtravelcritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bend, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very easy entry, gentle waves, lots to see”
Reviewed July 25, 2014

We snorkeled here mid-July 2014 when the waves were choppy elsewhere. The waters here were calm, clear, and teaming with fish. We even had a turtle swim by.This is a great beach, we went early in the morning before any crowds came out.( I did not see a single smoker) There is a nice, covered picnic area, and the walk to the ocean is very short. This is the easiest beach-entry snorkel beach I have ever been too - there were families with little kids and even an old lady who must have been in her 80's getting in to snorkel here. There are even nice spots to shower off when you are done. I highly recommend this beach.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank sniquers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newberg, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Strong currents & steep edge near water- be careful”
Reviewed July 19, 2014

We visited this park and beach in May 2014 for snorkeling. Nice park with lots of free parking by maui standards. The day we were there was calm & sunny & we went around 8 am so not crowded.Water drops off quickly with lots of coral near beach Most snorkeling is over coral at deeper depths than I liked (20 ft+) and we saw fish but not nearly as many as we saw at Kapalua same week. We're experienced amature snorkelers (50's, 30's., 70's in age) but we had couple of problems here... very strong current sweeping towards north made it hard to swim in any other direction... And when we tried to exit the water within 45 min of calm entry a wave at steep edge had developed and all of us got rolled by it right where water meets beach. Pounded us into sand. Ears. hair, noses, pockets, suits were loaded with sand. Was a little spooky. Was very glad we hadn't brought our toddler grandbaby to this beach at least on that day. Its a very beautiful park/beach... But be careful if go in the water. I've only been snorkeling here one day... So might have been a fluke ....but we will probably go elsewhere in future.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Judy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level 6 Contributor
49 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Crystal clear waters”
Reviewed June 21, 2014

The water here is crystal clear clarity. Careful of the reef as it can come up to the shore in some areas. Make sure to take a snorkel to see the fish

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank yetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kahekili Beach Park also viewed

 

Been to Kahekili Beach Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing