We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Favorite dive operation overall”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Extended Horizons

Extended Horizons
Book In Advance
More Info
$129.71*
and up
Maui Scuba Diving Introductory Lesson
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Maui Extended Horizons Scuba offers tours and lessons on Maui and Lanai. Established in 1983, we are unique because our instructor/guides have extensive environmental training, we are the only commercial boat on Maui running on 100% biodiesel, We are the only dive shop running on 100% solar, and we helped found and fund the Day Use Mooring Program on Maui which prevents anchor damage and creates and maintains moorings for the State of Hawaii for the public and private sector. And we love diving!
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Level Contributor
147 reviews
74 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Favorite dive operation overall”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

We dove with three excellent outfits: Extended Horizons (ES), Mike Severn, and Ed Robinson. None were filled with novice divers. If I have to rank them, Ed Robinson is the best for actual dive experiences, and Extended Horizons was the best in general, but MS was very good as well. With ES, we did Cathedrals 2 and another spot. Cathedrals was amazing; wish we had done 1 as well. Diving wasn't stringent, we ascended as needed, not en mass. Our DM was a marine biologist who did an excellent, enthusiastic job of discussing species and pointing them out. ES was the best organized, sharpest operation. The boat runs on biodiesel and solar power. They have reusable water bottles. There are many places to stow gear, including hanging pouches for sunglasses (so cool). The top shaded more area that other boats. It took just three of them to run everything. The head had the most room to stand up in. They washed our gear on the return trip so that we didn't have to waste time back on land. The food was the best. They stopped for countless whale sightings, as did the other boats. A+ operation.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank JonnyDub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

733 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    668
    40
    12
    8
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Excellent dive team”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

Extended Horizons is the best dive team. They went around to each diver on the way to the first site getting to know skills and experience of each. We were briefed on what the first dive would involve (quite thoroughly I might add) and then were divided into 2 groups. Saw the Carthaginian-great dive. Victoria is an excellent dive master. Pointed out interesting fish and took great shots. They are great at helping you get your equipment off. We got breakfast in between dives. They are efficient, plan the dives well, and are safety oriented. They are easily the best group I've dived with- felt very comfortable with them. I will definitely be going with them when we get back.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Terry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobble Hill, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best dive outfit maui”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

Had 2 morning dives February 22nd they were excellent. There was eight of us with three crew capt Lorne, Victoria and mark.
We were split into 2 groups each with its own dive master. The knowledge and attention to detail was outstanding. I felt very safe. And the crews knowledge of the local wild life was great. Victoria is also a photographer and takes excellent underwater pictures. I would highly recommend these guys.
Thanks crew for the best 2 dives in a while. Had a blast was great. Will be back.
Islandrick

Helpful?
1 Thank Islandrick77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Wonderful diving experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

Extended Horizons is a well-run and fun diving company. After finishing my certification with two excellent days of beach dives, with Steve, where I saw turtles and harlequin shrimp, I went on a boat dive. Victoria, Jenna and Captain Aaron took us to lanai for two wonderful dives. Extended horizons does guided dives, where guides like Victoria and Jenna guide 6 divers or less to wonderful locations and beautiful sea life. Extended horizons does a wonderful job of suiting us up with necessary equipment and launching easily. Victoria for additional fee will photograph you and your sights in a beautifully artistic manner. My goal in certification and a boat dive was to return 3 weeks later with my 14-year-old certified grandson for diving.

I did so returning for more dies. Although weather windy, we went on a 95 foot deep dive to the wreck, Carthaginian, and then to Lanai for a beautiful dive to the First Cathedral. A beautiful school of spinner dolphins passed under the boat, and Victoria dove in with mask and camera and videoed a magical dolphin tour beneath us. Again wonderful staff, boat and dive. Hard to imagine a better diving experience. Five Star all the way. Wonderful guides and boat captains, as well as instruction. Great experience.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank George973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edina, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best dive shop in Maui”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

What a great team. Personalized service from a friendly team. Mark, Matt and Victoria are the best. A little more expensive ($10-15) but as the saying goes you get what you pay for. Despite being a little more expensive I still tipped generously. The experience was just that good!!!! Diving with computers and larger steel tanks increased my bottom time by 30 minutes on a two tank dive.

The team has an Eco-friendly biodiesel engine and reduce trash through the use of personalized water bottles.

Definately will return!

Helpful?
Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Extended Horizons also viewed

 

Been to Extended Horizons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing