We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Resort restaurant - beautiful setting” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pulehu

Pulehu
Reserve with OpenTable
Pulehu is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #43 of 263 Restaurants in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Business meetings, Special occasions, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Pulehu, an Italian Grill, presents traditional Italian cuisine with a local sustainable twist. Overlooking the koi pond gardens of The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas, the resort's talented team of chefs partner with local farmers and growers to offer only the freshest ingredients that Maui has to offer. This 6-year Maui No Ka 'Oi 'Aipono Award winning restaurant is also known for its vibrant and thoughtful wine list. Complimentary valet parking available.
Danville, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Resort restaurant - beautiful setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

Italian - first time we tried it in a while. Good menu, new chef. Beautiful environment. Food was very good. Good wine list.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    305
    153
    61
    21
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire, UK
Level Contributor
168 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
“Very hard to find and not worth the bother”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

As frequent visitors to Maui who like good food, we were on our most recent visit trying to find some restaurants we hadn't been to before. As we like Italian food, we were attracted by advertisements for this one, so booked a table.

From the adverstisements it was clear that the restaurant is in the Westin. We'd seen the Westin on other visits to Kaanapali and we thought we knew where it was, so that's where we went. Having valet parked and trekked through the hotel (rather nice grounds by the way) we asked for directions only to be told that Pulehu is in the Westin Villas condo resort - not the Westin Hotel. Of course, if we'd known there were two different Westins we'd have been careful to look at the address and ensure we went to the right one but not knowing this, we naturally went to the Westin we knew about. It was our mistake but given the potential confusion, I think the advertisements and reservations people might actually draw attention to this.

So, we un-valet-parked and moved to the Westin Villas. But our troubles were not over, as it turns out this resort has two main entrances. We stopped at the first but could see no sign of the restaurant and - with some difficulty - we found someone to ask who told us we should be at the other entrance.

We moved there and valet parked again, but even inside there were no signs to help us find the restaurant - we again had to ask someone. It does seem extraordinary that a restaurant that is advertising to people from outside the resort should be so difficult to find.

On arrival we spoke to the rather off-hand hostess, who then drifted away to see if a table was ready for us (we were late so there was no excuse for it not being ready). However, she didn't return so the other hostess took over, and showed us to a table - actually offering us a choice.

By now we really weren't in a very good mood it has to be admitted, so we called for the manager in order to express our concerns with the experience so far. He was OK - and gave us our appetisers free (we weren't particularly looking for discount but weren't going to argue with that) - but didn't seem terribly engaged with our concerns, so we were left still not feeling any more positive about the restaurant.

Our waiter was also rather brusque in his manner - less helpful and definitely less patient than most we experience in Maui. Perhaps by now we had been maked as "stroppy Brits" or something but the service was adequate rather than good.

The food was variable - some was quite good, some less so. However, to call it an Italian restaurant is a complete joke. We visit Italy regularly and often eat in good Italian restaurants in London so we do know Italian food. The tenuous connection with Italian consisted of pizzas and some pasta dishes on the menu. Nothing else was remotely Italian about it and when one of us ordered a bruschetta dish and correctly pronounced it with a hard "sch" (as in "school"), the waiter seemed to make a point of "correcting" us and pronounced it the English way.

So overall, service mediocre to poor, food OK to good if you don't expect it to be authentically Italian, ambience nothing special.

In summery, for the 1000+ people who choose to stay at the Westin Villas, it's probably a very satisfactory on-site restaurant but it's not somewhere I would recommend anyone making a point of visiting from outside.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Alan_from_Hampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
markgleason, Manager at Pulehu, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Aloha Alan,

Mahalo for your feedback and joining us for dinner in September. I want to thank you for your perseverence in reaching Pulehu as it can be somewhat difficult to find, especially with a second Westin property nearby. I am sorry that we did not exceed your expectations as our guest and should you find yourself returning to the Valley Isle in the future, I'd love to welcome you back to Pulehu and prove to you that your past experience was the exception to the rule. Please call or email me on property and I'll take care of the rest. Again, thanks for the feedback. It is invaluable with staff training to highlight wins and focus on opportunities.

Mahalo lui noa,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
Level Contributor
65 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Pleasant meal great bar”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

We had drinks and a fine meal. Good sauces on the food. Tasty salads and delicious drinks. We had some good lasagna of all things to eat out. Very surprised.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank GolfingYogi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
106 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Nice change. Yum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

Very nice change to get off the beach . Place is garden level looking out over courtyard and koi pond. Relaxing and quaint and much quieter than all the beach places .

Very attentive service.

Normal maui food - local catch, steaks, and some core italian - all with some unique characteristics. Solid and good.

A little more pricey but still reasonable and appropriate for the venue.

Note... There are three westin buildings right in a row... It is in the last one (furthest north)...

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Plexiaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

The setting overlooking the koi pond was a nice change from the beach front restaurants. The food was outstanding and the service was excellent. We loved the spaghetti and meatballs, the fettucine Alfredo and they were so cooperative to substitute vegetables for meatballs for my wife. Just wish we had discovered Pulehu earlier in our stay. Highly recommend it!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bill L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pulehu also viewed

 

Been to Pulehu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing