We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Three-course meal was very good”

Black Rock Steak and Seafood
Reserve with OpenTable
Black Rock Steak and Seafood is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #127 of 263 Restaurants in Lahaina
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Honoapiilani Highway
Freehold, New Jersey
Level Contributor
166 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Three-course meal was very good”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We took the 3-course prix-fixe meal. The prime rib was good but not large. We are not big eaters so it was good enough for us. The bisque was delicious and the dessert was great. Very enjoyable.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom_and_Jo_Ann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    67
    51
    35
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
111 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good Hotel Food”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Overall the food and the service were good. It was a little pricey compared to other restaurants in the area but if you are staying at the Sheraton and don't want to go off property this isn't a bad choice

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Could be so much better!”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stay at the Sheraton Black Rock for a week each summer, and we eat at Black Rock at least once each time - just out of convenience. I have never had a good meal there. Don't know why Sheraton doesn't have a better restaurant, with thoughtfully created dishes. I can't imagine this would ever be a destination restaurant for someone not staying at the hotel. I haven't wordered the steak, so that may be good. But the fish dishes are not good. Also, the chairs of of wood, without cushions. They are just plain uncomfortable. The wait staff is polite but not engaging. They don't make a dinner there special. I don't like writing negative reviews, but if this spurs the Sheraton Black Rock to do better, it will be worth it.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“So disappointing”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We went to this restaurant based on the advice of the concierge at the Westin. There was nobody at the host/hostess stand and the signage was non existent. Once we were seated we ordered drinks, an apple martini and a tequila sunrise. The waiter brought our drinks and then proceeded to argue with us that the drinks we were served were correct, we actually got a Cosmopolitan and a margarita, I understand one drink mistake but both?? and then to argue. when the waiter came back with the correct drinks he blamed it on the bartender and offered no apology. It got no better from there, the soup was luke warm at best and the steaks were overcooked. The waiter never came to check as to whether we were satisfied, could not wait to pay the bill and leave.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank kelly963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grass Valley, California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Consistently excellent”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We dined here because it was at our resort, but would come just for the great food and atmosphere even if we weren't staying here! The setting couldn't be more beautiful, and the food was excellent. We tried other restaurants on the island in the same category, and this one was excellent on the two occasions we had dinner here. Definitely worth a visit when in Maui, and you get to see the Black Rock ceremony in the distance while you dine at sunset.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Luv2Bonthesea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Rock Steak and Seafood also viewed

 

Been to Black Rock Steak and Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing