We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great shave ice” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Local Boys West

Local Boys West
Ranked #6 of 26 Dessert in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $6
Cuisines: Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Drinks, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A must for visitors and locals alike! Our shave ice is made old style with soft fluffy shaved ice saturated with a wide variety of delicious flavors. We offer ice cream on the bottom, mochi, azuki beans and cream over the top all at no extra charge. You won't find shave ice as good as ours anywhere else on the island. This is the real deal, you'll keep coming back for more! We also sell Roselani ice cream and many other local favorites. Try our location in Kihei too.
California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great shave ice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

The scoop of locally made ice cream at the bottom, the quality syrups, the cream on top. So refreshing!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank HappyCamper012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    265
    53
    17
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Yakima, Washington
Level Contributor
96 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice on a hot day!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

My daughters always enjoy shaved ice so we stopped by Local Boys West after a snorkel adventure. A lot of flavors to choose from and it was the first time my girls had ice cream and gummy bears with the shaved ice, which they loved. Price was in line with Maui shave ice!! We stopped by on a Thursday afternoon and it was fairly empty which I did not mind. I'm sure we will stop by on our next trip to Maui!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JFlyFish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
125 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“We fell in love with shave ice!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

We were recommended to go here for shave ice and it was wonderful!!!! To be clear, you are not going here for the decor...it's rather rustic, but don't let that deter you! The shave ice was so delicious and the girl working there was great. We clearly needed an education on all things "shave ice" and she was happy to oblige. We loved it so much that we headed to Kihei the next day to take advantage of the coupon on the receipt, lol!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MrsRW101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Chilly treat to beat the heat!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

Looking for a chilly treat to beat the Maui heat? Head to Local Boys West shave Ice.
TONS of flavor options and combinations. Our favorite is always the Large shave Ice; heres how to eat it:
vanilla ice cream on the bottom, topped with three flavors of syrup ( we like passionfruit, coconut and lime) and topped with Maui cream on top.MMmmmmm.
Servers seems a bit overworked and the place needs a little TLC in the cleanliness department, but the shave ice is amazing

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank queenofcupcakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
82 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The Best Shaved Ice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

Li Hing Mui, Pineapple, and Mango with Mac Nut Ice Cream in the bottom is the way to go here!

More than 57 flavors to choose from to top your shaved Ice! I live the "Local Flavor" here and I love supporting them when it comes to shaved Ice in Lahaina!!!


Helpful?
Thank kavikaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Local Boys West also viewed

 

Been to Local Boys West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing