We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heavenly the best!”
Review of Local Boys West

Local Boys West
Ranked #5 of 23 Dessert in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $6
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Description: A must for visitors and locals alike! Our shave ice is made old style with soft fluffy shaved ice saturated with a wide variety of delicious flavors. We offer ice cream on the bottom, mochi, azuki beans and cream over the top all at no extra charge. You won't find shave ice as good as ours anywhere else on the island. This is the real deal, you'll keep coming back for more! We also sell Roselani ice cream and many other local favorites. Try our location in Kihei too.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Heavenly the best!”
Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

They put a scoop of ice cream under the ice and add your favorite flavors with that sweet cream heavenly is all I can say. Wish they could make it like that on the mainland but I think it's in the water.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 71angel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    288
    58
    18
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, TX
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“The Way Shave Ice is Suppose to be Done!!”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Perfect snow, best flavors and a huge selection! Lots of extras to choose from including great ice cream for the bottom of the cup, large portions, the best place in Lahaina!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gslink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Shave Ice in Lahaina”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

This place is just south of the big banyan tree in Lahaina, so most people who visit Front Street won't see it. If they knew about Local Boys, they wouldn't go anywhere else. Their shave ice includes all the extras for free - ice cream on the bottom, azuki beans, cream on top, mochi, gummi bears, li hing mui powder, etc. Plus they have delicious hot dogs and chili that are really cheap. You definitely get your money's worth here. Not an expensive tourist trap.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank BMP512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“They know how to do shave ice!”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

During our recent stay in Maui, we actually went to both locations, Lahaina and Kihei. Both were excellent. It's not just shave ice with flavors, there's much more: Start off with some vanilla ice cream with macadamia nuts on the bottom, then add rice mochi, azuki beans or gummy bears to your shave ice. Pick three flavors for your ice and then top it off with their signature cream. I'm salivating just thinking about it, it's that good!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steven C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Now THAT's real shave ice”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

This was my first time visiting Local Boys in Lahaina and it was YUMMY. We ordered the Local Girl and made sure to also have the vanilla ice cream, mochi, and kahlua creme.

Yummy flavors! Definitely recommend :)

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rjl3045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Local Boys West also viewed

 

Been to Local Boys West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing