We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST Snorkeling EVER!!!”

Hawaii Ocean Rafting
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Snorkeling and Whale Watching tours. Climb aboard our HI Tech Ocean Rafts and spend the day snorkeling the crystal clear waters surrounding the island of Lana’i. We encounter the Spinner Dolphins quite often on our excursions. We’ll spend time interacting with them as they frolic in the water. Continental breakfast, snack and cold drinks will be served throughout the day. Snorkel gear provided. This trip will be the highlight of your vacation. Departs daily from slip 8 Lahaina Harbor. Whale Watching tours from December through April from Maui Hawaii.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Reviewed November 14, 2017

We were fortunate enough to take a ride with Sean and Stephanie on a chance of a lifetime snorkeling trip! WOW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! They took us to a coral reef that was the most BEAUTIFUL thing we have ever seen! Sooooo many fish and the reef was unexplainable....BEAUTIFUL! They took us to see the dolfins, hundreds of them surrounding our boat! You could reach out and pet them! They took us to whale watch, we seen a whale spout twice! The boat is fast and fun and takes the waves like butter! The breakfast and lunch was included and very yummy! We will never forget that trip! Thank you Hawaii Ocean Rafting!

1  Thank mybutler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark R, Owner at Hawaii Ocean Rafting, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2017

Thanks for the "Wow!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!. Stephanie and Sean are our most experienced team. They are part of what makes us a company known for taking great care of our guests.We try our best to supply good food for the trip. We get you back in time to experience one of the great lunch restaurants in Lahaina.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (888)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"spinner dolphins"
in 81 reviews
"whale watch"
in 89 reviews
"fish"
in 93 reviews
"captain jeff"
in 29 reviews
"great trip"
in 55 reviews
"raft trip"
in 13 reviews
"small boat"
in 31 reviews
"snorkel mask"
in 12 reviews
"active whales"
in 11 reviews
"snorkeling spots"
in 19 reviews
"larger boats"
in 13 reviews
"competition pod"
in 9 reviews
"sea turtles"
in 39 reviews
"baby whale"
in 9 reviews
"small group"
in 21 reviews
"lahaina harbor"
in 23 reviews
"during whale season"
in 12 reviews
Filter

111 - 115 of 888 reviews

Reviewed November 9, 2017 via mobile

Funny man Sean and Celia did a great job entertaining us today. By being in a raft we were able to go fast and close and personal to the cliffs and a blowhole. Sean took us to his favorite snorkling spots in Lanai. Finally lots of variety of fish and schools of fish - which is lacking in Maui beach snorkling. On the way back we were fortunate to see a humpback whale (not in season yet), false killer whales (which are rare - one came up close to check us out) and dolphins. Includes snacks but gluten free not offered. I was able to eat the fruit and vegies with dip but missed out on the cakes and wraps - so bring extra snacks with you. Loved the small boat with a small group of people with no one sitting in your view. A perfect way to do a snorkel trip.

Thank TravelGrooveLisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark R, Owner at Hawaii Ocean Rafting, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2017

The size of our raft allows us to get to some of the spectacular snorkeling/ sightseeing areas the larger boats can't. The Humpback whales have started arriving. We are seeing them almost every day.
Thank you for joining us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2017 via mobile

Captain Sean and first mate Amanda both were very cool and easy going. They knew the best snorkeling spots to go to based on surf and weather conditions. Very competent captain, very awake and informed. Knows a lot about Maui history too!

Thank mark m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark R, Owner at Hawaii Ocean Rafting, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2017

Sean has been with us for close to 20 years. He really knows the best spots for snorkeling as well as more history than most. Amanda is one of the best we have for making the guests happy. They enjoy what they do.

Thank you for joining us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2017 via mobile

The water was too choppy at the first spot we went to so we moved to another location. There weren't too many fish there but the second stop with the turtles was incredible. Then we followed a pod of dolphins back to the harbor. Really enjoyed going out on a much smaller boat.

Thank jk818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark R, Owner at Hawaii Ocean Rafting, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2017

Occasionally the water get's choppy. It is the nature of our local weather. We do the best we can to find the calm snorkeling areas. We usually see the Turtles every trip and the dolphins about 70%.
Thank you for joining us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed November 1, 2017

After trying a big boat "booze cruise" snorkeling tour on our previous trip to Maui, we decided we wanted something more intimate, family-friendly, and adventurous for our next visit. Hawaii Ocean Rafting exceeded our expectations on every level. We took the Half Day Snorkel to Lanai Experience, and it was exactly as advertised.

The smaller vessel allowed us to follow a pod of spinner dolphins and see them up close--a moment our nine-year-old daughter will never forget. The snorkeling locations we visited were not the usual crowded tourist destinations. Instead, we explored more remote spots that offered a chance to see an amazing diversity of sea life without constantly bumping into other snorkelers. The tour ended with a "deep blue" dive in 150 feet of water, which was an incredible experience.

Captain Stephanie and her co-guide Sean were enthusiastic, informative, fun, and friendly without resorting to canned jokes or rehearsed chatter. They provide breakfast and lunch food to keep your energy levels high for the several hours you're with them. Definitely bring a waterproof camera to record the memories, along with cash to tip the crew at the end of the trip. They'll more than earn it, and you'll return to port with one of your favorite vacation memories. Highest possible recommendation!

1  Thank Hall9568
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark R, Owner at Hawaii Ocean Rafting, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2017

We are definitely not a large "Booze Cruise" boat. We strive to make the trip as intimate as possible. I is common that we will stop in the mid channel to give you the opportunity to see the bottom in 150-200 feet of clear water .
The crew really enjoys the visitors and it shows.
Thanks for joining us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hawaii Ocean Rafting also viewed

 

Been to Hawaii Ocean Rafting? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing