We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How can this be topped?”

Hawaii Ocean Rafting
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Snorkeling and Whale Watching tours. Climb aboard our HI Tech Ocean Rafts and spend the day snorkeling the crystal clear waters surrounding the island of Lana’i. We encounter the Spinner Dolphins quite often on our excursions. We’ll spend time interacting with them as they frolic in the water. Continental breakfast, snack and cold drinks will be served throughout the day. Snorkel gear provided. This trip will be the highlight of your vacation. Departs daily from slip 8 Lahaina Harbor. Whale Watching tours from December through April from Maui Hawaii.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“How can this be topped?”
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Our crew was great on March 14th at 10:00am out of Lahaina. We saw lots of whales. It was our first whale watching trip ever. I talked to a woman who said she had done hundreds, yep, hundreds and she said it was great. We heard the whale singing without the underwater microphone as well as with. We could see the whales approach the boat, they went under, came out the other side and gave us a show. We are spoiled. If and when we return to Maui during the whale season we will book with this company again.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Betsy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

747 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    688
    29
    14
    7
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing Day with Captain Tom”
Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I were celebrating our ten year anniversary and have always loved rafting to see the whales. Tried out this company for the first time and they were excellent!!! We couldn't have been happier with captain Tom and Sean! They made you feel like family right away not only that they were so good with the kids on board. We would highly recommend this raft for whale watching they know what they are doing!!!!

Helpful?
Thank SQFIVE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui, Hawaii
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“HAWAIIAN OCEAN RAFTING with Capt:Leanna and Dr. Fred”
Reviewed March 8, 2014

We went on a WHALE WATCH last week with HAWAIIAN OCEAN RAFTING. Leanna was our Zodiac Captain and Dr. Fred Sharpe of the Alaska Whale Foundation was our on board Naturalist.

I live on Maui and have been on MANY whale watches. This was the BEST whale watch I have experienced. Captain Leanna was amazingly experienced in her seafaring skills and people management ....... but most of all ....... she knows her whales! Dr. Fred was as fascinating as our on board naturalist as he was on stage as he delivered his one hour presentation at Whale Tales 2014. There is no question in my mind that Hawaiian Ocean Rafting should hire Dr. Fred to be the on board naturalist every day of the week. Currently, Dr. Fred works on Hawaiian Ocean Rafting whale watches only on Tuesdays. Thank you, Captain Leanna and Dr. Fred for such a wonderful day with our beloved Humpback Whales!!!!!!!

If you are still not convinced to go on a Whale Watch with Hawaiian Ocean Rafting and Captain Leanna and Dr. Fred ...... Let me say everyone on board our Whale Watch got off the Zodiac and immediately signed up for next weeks tuesday whale watch except 2 persons. The two who did not re-sign up were visitors to the island and were going home!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahaina, Hawaii
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Whale Watch Ever Experienced!”
Reviewed March 8, 2014

We have lived on Maui for about 14 years and have visited here for almost 30 During that time we have done many "whale watches." None of them compares to our experience this year with Hawaii Ocean Rafting. We will never, ever take another tour with another company. The zodiac raft is the ONLY way to watch whales. Our captain, Leanna, was superb in finding numerous active whales and getting us up-close, within the legal allowable limit. And, best of all, we did the tour on Tuesday, when the accompanying "crew member" was Fred Sharpe. Fred is a PhD naturalist based out of the Alaska Whale Foundation. His insights and comments were mesmerizing. The tour was so magnificent that when we returned and docked at Lahaina harbor, everyone (except two) from our tour rushed to the nearby booking booth and immediately signed up for the same tour the following week. This experience was amazing and it's all we've talked about for over a week.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alan22014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IL
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Small Boat with wonderful captains!”
Reviewed March 7, 2014

We had a wonderful trip viewing whales with this excellent company. They had two captains aboard who were fun, helpful and full of knowledge about the whales. We saw several whales during the trip and the whole experience was excellent!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JansyJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hawaii Ocean Rafting also viewed

 

Been to Hawaii Ocean Rafting? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing