We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Snorkeling was the best, BUT....”

Hawaii Ocean Rafting
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Snorkeling and Whale Watching tours. Climb aboard our HI Tech Ocean Rafts and spend the day snorkeling the crystal clear waters surrounding the island of Lana’i. We encounter the Spinner Dolphins quite often on our excursions. We’ll spend time interacting with them as they frolic in the water. Continental breakfast, snack and cold drinks will be served throughout the day. Snorkel gear provided. This trip will be the highlight of your vacation. Departs daily from slip 8 Lahaina Harbor. Whale Watching tours from December through April from Maui Hawaii.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Reviewed July 18, 2013

... beware the booking process. We signed up for a full day tour and were set to go at 6:30 check-in. We walked down to the harbor and were told that two trips were being combined and we were not leaving until 7:45. Came to find out that the half-day trip was getting a free upgrade to the full-day trip that I had to pay for. (Personally think that we should have gotten a call and a discount.) Kind of upsetting that no one called to tell us to be there late as there was nowhere open and we were too far to go back to the hotel. We spent an hour walking around looking for somewhere to eat or grab coffee and ended up just sitting at the dock. With that being said, however, Tom and Justine were taking us around and they did a WONDERFUL job of making up for the booking mishap. Tom stopped just enough during the tour to give us information about the island of Lanai and made several stops and detours along the way to show us bottle nosed and spotted dolphins which actually swam right up to the side of the raft!! He took us to several spots and we ended up swimming with spotted eagle rays and white-tipped sharks!! We have done the boat trip to Molokini and my husband and I both thought this topped that one easily. The booking is the only reason this trip did not get five stars as Tom and Justine were the saving grace for this company in our opinion.

1  Thank Debbie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeri808, Manager at Hawaii Ocean Rafting, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2013

We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused. It was our intent
to accommodate both trips without cancelling both of them due to last minute
cancellations. Our answering service somehow did not notify everyone of the
change. As it turned out we have been told the trip turned out great.
Any customers who were inconvenienced are welcome to join us on a trip of
their choice at no charge in the future or notify us and we will give them a
full refund.
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (776)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

428 - 432 of 776 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2013

We booked a half-day morning snorkel trip to Lanai directly with Hawaii Ocean Rafting because we had to be back by 1pm and we read good reviews of their operation. When we arrived in the morning to check in, however, we were informed that there were not enough people signed up to do both the half-day trip and the longer Lanai trip that they offer, so they were combining the two trips into just the longer trip. (One boat equals higher profit margin than two boats.). There was no equipment failure involved. To their credit, I think they were not going to charge us the full price for the longer trip, but I don't know for sure because we could not do the longer trip because it would have gotten us back well after 1pm. They claimed that their "answering service" was supposed to call us the night before, but failed. Even if that were true, they would have given us virtually no time to try to book an alternative trip. I hope that they realize that their reputation is more important than a few bucks over the long run. Time will tell.

Thank Gizmomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeri808, Manager at Hawaii Ocean Rafting, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2013

We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused. It was our intent
to accommodate both trips without cancelling both of them due to last minute
cancellations. Our answering service somehow did not notify everyone of the
change. As it turned out we have been told the trip turned out great.
Any customers who were inconvenienced are welcome to join us on a trip of
their choice at no charge in the future or notify us and we will give them a
full refund.
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Our Ocean rafting trip went excellent!! Crew is the best!! We were first timers for snorkeling with no swimming experience. Sounds weird right? No worries crew ensured that we got the best snorkeling experience ever. Additionally we were also taken to the dolphin spots and believe me dolphins playing in the ocean was a treat to watch. Ocean rafting ride is completely an fun filled adventurous experience than boat ride

Cheers
Shyam

Thank shyamsundergogi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We loved this tour. Small boat/raft so it felt very personalized. We enjoyed the bumps and being so close to the water. The snorkeling was great. Leanne and Sean were wonderful guides. Sean was full of information, fun facts and answered all our questions. We were very glad not to be on one of those bigger boats with lots of people in the water at the same time. I felt safe, with full freedom to roam around. We didn't see any dolphins but that's luck of the draw. I would go out with this tour again.

Thank Katrina0704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

We went on the Lana'i Dolphin half-day tour. Never went in the dozen times we've visited Maui...and will do their tour again when we return with our other family & friends and for whale watching.
Leianne & Sean were very knowledgable & hospitable. We were within a few dozen dolphins and swam with lots of colorful fish amongst the healthy reef & coral. Beautiful!
A very well-deserved thank you to them!! We will definitely refer this tour to our friends in Seattle.

Thank sweetp623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hawaii Ocean Rafting also viewed

 

Been to Hawaii Ocean Rafting? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing