We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Day”

Hawaii Ocean Rafting
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Snorkeling and Whale Watching tours. Climb aboard our HI Tech Ocean Rafts and spend the day snorkeling the crystal clear waters surrounding the island of Lana’i. We encounter the Spinner Dolphins quite often on our excursions. We’ll spend time interacting with them as they frolic in the water. Continental breakfast, snack and cold drinks will be served throughout the day. Snorkel gear provided. This trip will be the highlight of your vacation. Departs daily from slip 8 Lahaina Harbor. Whale Watching tours from December through April from Maui Hawaii.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Aurora, Colorado, United States
1 review
“Excellent Day”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

My wife and I went out with Leanna and Sean for a great day filled with fantastic snorkeling and sights. Not only did we see beautiful coral, turtles and spinner dolphins, but also fish that you will not see anywhere else. Both Leanna and Sean had not only a great amount of knowledge about the wildlife, but the history and environment as well. You can tell that they really care about making your trip a memorable one, as well as caring about the impact we leave on the environment. We stopped twice to pick up floating trash along the way. We HIGHLY recommend Hawaii Ocean Rafting for either a half day or full day of memories. Thanks again to Leanna and Sean, you guys were Great!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    692
    29
    14
    7
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bay Area
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Perfect Day!”
Reviewed July 29, 2012

A group of 7 (4 adults, 3 teens) went out with Leanna and Gary for what I can only describe as the best day ever! We signed up for the full day snorkel trip, as we all love to snorkel, and were looking for a fun adventure. We do not like large groups, so we opted for the smaller "raft' experience. Hawaiin Ocean Rafting delivered a wonderful, fun day with three outstanding snorkel spots - each unique and different from the next. Gary entertained us with funny stories, and some great local lore, and both educated us all on the sea life, geology, weather, islands, etc. Both clearly love the ocean and are completely at home in the water. The food was outstanding..and while I am sure they have seen rougher days getting back to the harbor in Maui, Leanne captained the boat well through some large swells and wind chop to get us back safely (that was actually one of the funnest parts of the day!). We saw spotted and spinner dolphins, baby dolphins, turtles, eels, puffer fish, lots of varieties of fish. The best however, came at our first snorkel spot when a small pod of spinner dolphins swam right by us as we snorkeled. We were very lucky that day. Gary and Leanna are nice, funny and knowledgeable. if you like smaller boats, that are close to the action, and fun, down to earth people who clearly love and respect the ocean and sea life, then this is the snorkel trip for you.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank lb_tidwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeville, Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome snorkeling/dolphin excursion”
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Our family of 6 went out with Gary as 1st mate and the captain (whose name escapes me). We were also joined by 3 others. We left by 0800 and found two different pods of dolphins (spinners and spotted). The captain was very knowledgable about the dolphins and answered all of our questions. Gary was awesome - had great stories and super approachable. The boat ride was comfortable and enjoyable. I tend to get seasick and did not have any issues. We went to two different spots for snorkeling. The first was along the shore of Lanai and the other was in the bay of Lanai. We were able to see lots of fish and turtles at the first spot and the second was more calm and had beautiful fish. The dolphins came so close to the boat it was thrilling. We loved this personal trip without the crowds and the ability to get up close and personal with the marine life in this area. We were also served some nice beverages, breakfast treats and fruit. Gary also had some great recommendations for local restaurants, etc. Great morning - perfect amount of time for our family. Thank you. Mahalo.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Familyofmany06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hawaii Ocean Rafting - Best snorkling trip!”
Reviewed July 28, 2012

My family and I took a trip with Hawaii Ocean Rafting during out 7/2012 Hawaii vacation. My mom is 80 and she also enjoyed this trip! Leanna was a great captain, and Gary was a great naturalist! We were happy with the sights they showed us (spotted dolphins, spinner dolphins, sea turtles)... and had 2 places to snorkle with plenty of time to enjoy snorkling. The last time we were out here, we took a trip on a catamaran to Molokini and had very limited time to snorkle in one spot. The small amount of passangers that Hawaii Ocean Rafting takes on each trip also was a plus! They took time to know their passengers and talk to us. Had great complimentary fruit & veggie snacks on the trip, including water and soda.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachelle123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carson City, Nevada
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not What We Were Expecting.”
Reviewed July 24, 2012

My husband and I went on HOR last Tuesday. We chose this company because two years ago we had an amazing trip with Captain Ryan. Our children STILL talk about it. The majority of the glowing reviews on here come from a time when Ryan was the captain and Noni was first mate. If you have never taken a high speed raft trip before, then I am sure this would be a fun experience.

Captain Tom was safe and polite. We saw dolphins, we saw a shark. That is the extent of our positive experience.

I hadn't planned on writing about all aspects of our experience, but I would want to know if I were planning on making this trip. We had booked a full day previously, but were told by the booking service only half days were available (later were told by owner some days can be full days). First mate Sean was spending the entire time talking with two older women that were well endowed and in bikinis. The boat spent the majority of the trip hearing about how he played football in high school, where he was supposed to go to college, etc. When I did ask a question (about ocean life), he seemed irritated.
At every stop, Sean would stay with the two women, giving them a private tour. The first stop was laden with jelly fish and several passengers were getting stung. We stayed there anyway. The second stop was choppy water and low visibility. The third stop was Mala Wharf. Here's where Sean got super unprofessional and threw a tantrum whilst trying to hook up to a mooring. It was to the point where the Captain had to apologize for him. There were children on board, too. I had a hunch to follow Sean where he was taking the ladies, and sure enough he swam down and stirred up a white tip reef shark. No one else on the boat was told about the shark (they knew he was there beforehand), or to come with him... I just happened to get lucky because I'm curious.
That said, we were very disappointed with our trip - Ryan and Noni do not even work here anymore. We happened to see Ryan out (can't miss the hair), and saw that he was with a new rafting company - Ultimate Snorkel - and booked immediately with them. I have never written a review here, but thought this was important enough to do so. ***even saw Sean walking the marina with the women... wow.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank BEY0NDBLESSED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeri808, Manager at Hawaii Ocean Rafting, responded to this review, July 28, 2012
Aloha
We were very sorry to hear your experience on our Ocean Rafting was not as exceptional as you remember. We have since spoken with Sean and have taken care of the situation. If you read all our reviews, you will see that we put on a very nice, comfortable, friendly and knowledgeable tour.
You had mentioned that all the great reviews were from when Noni worked with us but that is not correct. She has not been in our employment since last winter for reasons we don’t need to discuss.
When we spoke with Sean, he remembered the trip and said that there was a very small group and all of you sat together in the forward section of the raft and he never felt like he had ignored anyone. He also mentioned that one of the woman passengers was not comfortable in the water so he took extra time with her, as is his job to do so.
All our passengers are very important to us and we have a very large repeat cliental. Slandering us to build up another competitive rafting trip doesn’t seem honorable and perhaps is prompted by another individual. We wish you would of called us directly and spoke of your concerns and we would have dealt with it professionally. Mahalo, Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hawaii Ocean Rafting also viewed

 

Been to Hawaii Ocean Rafting? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing