We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Honua Kai Resort & Spa
Ranked #8 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
chicago
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay”
Reviewed January 2, 2011

This is our last night at the Honua Kai Resort. We spent 8 nights here with our kids ages 7 and 5 -- we all had a great time. The best feature of the resort are its rooms. Modern, clean and spacious. Our kids enjoyed the "kids club," they had plenty of activities to choose from. The pool area was great -- we had 5 pools to choose from, however, the resort doesn't heat the pools and on cloudy, windy days it was chilly.

Probably my only complaint would be the fitness club. It was very small and extremely hot. Not sure why the resort didn't spend a little extra money on providing a better exercise area. We would definitely return to Honua Kai, and I look forward to the spa opening later this year.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cree8iv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,073 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,963
    776
    222
    71
    41
See reviews for
1,672
969
23
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,041)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Oswego, Oregon
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2011

New building on north side just opened and it was early december. very quiet and beautiful with mostly couples in truly gorgeous suites. Kitchens are granite and top end appliances. Got local fish and acquired some banana leaves and had the kitchen to make it sing.


Dukes is nice and reasonably priced for Maui. And they had Dechutes Jubelale for the holiday special brew. They obviously know their beer.

Outdoor activities are tops. Long walks on this beach 2-3 miles which is exceptional for Maui and beach dive SCUBA to turtles, octapus et al in view of our room. Water calm enough to distance swim miles in either direction.

Need to get in the car for shopping or other restaurants. .

Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Leonico49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2011

We stayed at the Honau Kai in September of this year and are planning to go back this year - it is so beautiful and well worth it. The suites are brand new, clean and boast great views. The restaurant was terrible and the small grocery store on site - terrific. I would highly reccomend it. 5 stars!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ColoradoOmar123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
1 review
Reviewed December 29, 2010

The staff was professional and very helpful. The pools were great with plenty of lounge chairs. Parking was plentyful outside and in the garage. Most people are not aware of the garage parking. Valet is free just remember to tip the valet guys. Easy walk to the beach. Our kids used the fitness center daily. The concierge desk was helpful with booking our excursions. The room was unbelievable. The wall is all glass and opens up to a huge balcony. The appliances are all top notch. One of the nicest rooms I have ever stayed in and I do a lot of traveling. We can't wait to get back. There is not one negative thing I can say about the resort. Try the pancakes and the eggs benedict at Dukes. There are also BBQ's available to do your own cooking. You can checkout the BBQ tools from the front desk.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosevillez06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Country Club Hills, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed December 28, 2010

I just returned from our Maui trip and I couldn't wait to get home to write this review! This was my first trip to Hawaii and I could not have selected a better place to stay than Honua Kai Resort! The condos are first class, the service was impeccable and the grounds were tendered with care. My boyfriend and i are both in the construction industry and it was very apparent that the best building materials were used and the workmanship was of quality.

The only complaint I had ( which is not the fault of the hotel) is we booked our room thru Priceline. They advertised the studio condo as having a partial or full ocean view. But when we arrived, all of the Resort Studios faced the mountains. Although the view was beautiful, it was disappointing that Priceline misrepresented the hotel. I made the hotel aware of it and they made a copy of the Priceline advertisement and passed it to their marketing people. They could not give us a different room because the property was completely booked, but they gave us a late checkout of 9pm because our flight departed at 11pm.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jadeconstruct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2010

Spent 3 nights at the Honua Kai before heading to Wailea. Second visit to Maui but first to this area. The hotel feels more like a condo resort which it is and many of the units were available for sale. Beautifully appointed units. Our two bedroomed, two bathrooms had everything you could wish for and the removable Nano walls which open up the whole apartment are a great finishing touch. Limited facilities with just a small deli/market for meals which were very expensive or the well known Dukes on site for breakfast, lunch or dinner. It would have made sense to arrive with supplies to keep costs down which we didnt! The beach whilst beautiful is pretty dangerous for swimming and was not recommended so we were confined to the hotel pools which I found disappointing. Its a short drive to Whalers Village in Kanapali which we did a few times to enjoy a meal at a somewhat lower cost. If you are looking for lots going on staying at Kanapali would probably be a better choice but if you are looking at peace and quiet this would be a great destination.

Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank kemac2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
Reviewed December 28, 2010

My Fiancé and I invited our closest friends and relatives to Maui for our wedding. About 40 decided to stay at Honua Kai. Most people arrived the first Saturday December 3rd and there was a 50% off + 5 night free deal going on. We booked directly through the resort on the phone which is the way to go I think. I hear that the others have problems because they get zero service. Intrawest owns some of the properties and manage others, but for those that book 3rd party they must rely on the 3rd party to take care of any issues or get any service. And the 3rd party is not on site nor is service their core business. Speaking to the staff they get a lot of flak from those that book through 3rd party but it's not their fault. I am assuming the owners have a choice to pay for Intrawest to manage them but choose not to. Therefore you get what you pay for. The service we received was very good throughout. They grabbed all of our luggage and the Costco shopping for us and brought it to the room and then gave us a tour, explanation of the appliances and the features which was a very nice touch. The rooms are gorgeous, kitchens modern and with every appliance you could need. Even the pots and pans are high quality. The washrooms are large and clean and the linen was of a very high quality. The rooms were cleaned very well everyday and they even did the dishes that we would sometimes leave out. They took out the garbage and our recycling. They had a bottle of champagne and two flutes waiting for us in the room (because of our wedding). Laundry detergent, coffee, and some other necessities were gifted. We would have really liked if they had salt, pepper and sugar as well. The lanai doors open up fully, there is a great accordion style screen door to keep the bugs out at night. The air condition works very well. The washer and dryer we were not used to and warned that because they are energy saving they take a lot longer, but it was a little ridiculous. It took hours to dry. My sister and parents got a 3 bedroom, and it was crazy how nice it was. Marble countertops and backsplash, Viking appliances (gas range), two stoves, wine fridge, washing sink on the island. I love cooking and for those that also love to cook these condos are very nice. The level of the 3 bedrooms jumps up a few notches from the 2 bedrooms. We stayed in a studio/bachelor but it was more than big enough for the two of us. The beach is nice, the pools are good for kids, there is a waterslide, there is a restaurant on site, (Dukes is a good 7.5/10). Improvements could include a drying wire in the bathroom, many people got notices that they are not allowed to dry their clothes on the lanais (balconies), which I understand why but sometimes you don’t want to use the dryer for everything. The spa is still not open which would have been nice. We loved the resort, however I would have to say that without the 50% off and 5th night free it would have fallen off our radar but with that kind of deal it was worth paying a bit more. We like our newer buildings and slick kitchens. This is definitely one of the more luxurious resorts in Maui and get what you pay for.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saufai74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.2 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
0.7 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
4.2 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#12 of 32 in Lahaina
3,874 reviews
1.6 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
1.7 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Honua Kai Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honua Kai Resort & Spa

Property: Honua Kai Resort & Spa
Address: 130 Kai Malina Parkway, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-8413
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#6 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#8 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Honua Kai Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 628
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on world-famous Kaanapali North Beach, Honua Kai provides an unparalleled level of service and all the amenities of a luxury resort with expansive one, two, and three bedroom suites. Perhaps the greatest luxury of all is simply the space to spread out. Inside, the feel is that of a luxury Maui vacation home, graciously furnished in exotic wood and polished granite, and tastefully equipped with top of the line appliances. The gourmet kitchens contain everything you need to make a fantastic meal. Or simply make reservations at one of our spectacular restaurants. This is the Hawaii vacation you have always imagined, exactly as you imagined it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Vacatia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Honua Kai Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Honua Kai Resort And Spa
Honua Kai Hotel Lahaina
Honua Kai Resort & Spa Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing