We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will be an awesome complex”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Honua Kai Resort & Spa
Ranked #8 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Orange County
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Will be an awesome complex”
Reviewed July 3, 2009

We just returned from a wonderful stay at the Honua Kai. This complex will truly be amazing once it is completed.

First the positives. The rooms are gorgeous with granite counter tops, stainless steel appliances, and other amenities of a 5 star hotel. The location is also great and we felt like we had a private beach as there were only a couple of people there. If you walk 5 minutes down the beach path to the Westin Villas it is packed. The people who worked there are extremely nice and helpful.

The current negatives (which should be fixed once the second tower is opened) is there is moderate construction noise which starts early (7 AM). Some days you could not hear a thing and other days there was significant noise with a lot of work vehicles there. There is only one pool which (although beautiful) is just a pool. We had the luxury of having friends stay at the Westin Villas at the same time and the Westin was packed (to crowded for my liking) but they had a pirate pool with waterslides which the kids loved. The Honua Kai has plans to have a kids pool and water park in the second phase. The other negative is there is no restaurant at the current time.

Other comments: My parents got a room at the Honua Kai direct while we rented through an owner on VRBO. There were pros and cons to each of these. Renting direct was more expensive but you got daily made service and other amenities (shampoo, laundry detergent, etc.) you'd find in a hotel. They also got complimentary towels at the pool and free parking items which we had to pay extra for. They also were shown several rooms and got to choose which one they liked best. Our room through the owner was cheaper and had things such as spices, coffee filters, other cooking items as well as full sized beach towels and other things you'd associate with a condo. Additionally, our key got demagnetized while we were out (were told this happens if you keep it to close to your cellphone) and we could not get security at the complex to let us into the room (where we had other keys). We had to sit around until the offsight condo manager drove over and let us into the room.

Overall: A great place to stay and will be awesome (and more expensive) once the second phase is complete.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank OrangeCounty4Pack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,098 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,982
    781
    223
    71
    41
See reviews for
1,687
978
23
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,052)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SF Bay Area
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2009

Honua Kai is an incredible and new resort in north Kaanapali. It redefines the standard that our family previously felt was held by the Kaanapali Alii.The resort combines beautiful rooms that can be extended and integrated with a glass partition Lanai through fold out floor to ceiling windows. We stayed in a 3 bedroom that had Viking appliances with beautiful granite countertops. The landscaping that has been done is beautiful. We enjoyed the brand new equipment in the fitness center. The staff was friendly and accomodating. Construction of the neighboring tower was not noticeable as most of it has moved indoors. A restaurant is scheduled to open in several months. We walked and drove to the adjacent Star Market. Lahaina Farms is several miles away for more gourmet ingredients.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MauiWowii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2009

We just returned from our trip to Maui. We stayed at Honua Kai for the entire week, and what a gem of a place! The room was always promptly cleaned and the service was always very responsive. We had a minor issue with the water heater, and it was fixed in no time.

The grounds were also nice kept. It's quiet; not too many people yet. They're still building the rest of the resort. It's in a great location...North Kaanapali. Close to Lahaina, golf courses, etc.

I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Goldens18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2009

I am very pleased that we booked here. We had been planning a trip to Maui (3rd to the islands) for some time. I first read about the Honua Kai in the New York Times in January. It did not disappoint except for one little location issue.

I booked an Ohana Oceanview room directly from the resort for a six night stay. The photos the resort has on flickr were very helpful and accurrate. We were very happy with the room. The building that we stayed in is fully open with a small cafe/gourmet store, a small but adequate fitness room, and one pool (two more under construction). The major construction of building #2 is complete, so no major construction noise...they are just working on the interiors. We actually forgot that there was a construction zone near by.

The room was amazing and very luxurious, and we might have been the first to stay in it. The Ohana room is large with tile, marble and all the appliances you could need, including a front-loading stackable washer and dryer. This room is great for couples, or families with one small child (there is a pull out sofa bed that looked great.) The main bed was very comfortable.

You can order breakfast and lunch items from the 'Aina store in the lobby, but we went off property to some great little restraunts for all our meals. We essentially followed the dining recommendations from "Maui Revealed," and those recommendations were very accurate.

The beach at the resort is very calm, which is nice since the pool was a let down. It's great if you have kids, but very shallow and not very big (which should change once the other two pools open up). There are some reefs and rocks at most points on the beach in front of the resort, but it is great for snorkling. I snorkled all the way down to the Westin Kaanapali Villas and saw some sea turtles. Great walking beach, too. It is just up from the Black Rock and Main Kaanapali resort area, so it is close to many things to do.

The service from the concierge, front desk and bell staff was excellent. Tim at the front desk was especially helpful. Our only problem was that housekeeping would NOT replace the most basic items. Nightly, we had to call down for shampoo and soap, as well as toilet paper and kleenex when we ran out of those. Within minutes of us raising this issue with the front desk, the items were always delivered and apology provided. So, no major issue, but it was odd and got annoying after the third+ time.

The only real caveat is the odor from the West Maui Water Treatment plant. Let me start by saying that you can't smell anything while in the resort, i.e. in the lobby or in the pool / main courtyard. However, you can clearly smell it in the parking lot. It's a trade-off and something to consider. We might stay elsewhere if we return, but we didn't mind it too much while there, nor was it a major issue.

We drove by all the other major Maui resort areas, Kapalua, Kaanapali, Wailea, and stayed in Wailea for our last three nights. Wailea was the best resort area in our opinion, but its hard to be unhappy in any of them.

This is a great resort to use as a base from which to explore all the wonders of Maui. Book here with confidence and enjoy the great resort and wonderful staff.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank DallasCouple27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2009

We recently returned from a fabulous vacation to Maui, and stayed at this resort. We have stayed at the Westin Kanappali Ocean Resort Villas before, and thought they were nice. However, the rooms and resort, are much more enjoyable at the Honua Kai. It is not a timeshare property, so does not have the time share attitude. The rooms are absolutely great. Our unit, #503, was 2000 square feet, with a huge lani. We had 3 bedrooms, with 3 huge bathrooms, and an outstanding first class kitchen, and a dining area that sat 8. When we booked we knew there was construction on the other tower and were a bit worried, however, the noise was not a bother at all, and at the beach you could not here any of it. It was like our own private resort, it was not busy at all, I think out of the 300 plus rooms there were only 50 or less rooms booked. So our children got to most days enjoy the entire pool to themselves. It was very relaxing and the beach was peaceful and enjoyable. The hotel staff at the desk were very friendly, and helpful, and the conceirge was great, very pleasant. We did see whales each day from the lani, pool, and beach. The fitness centre was small, but definately well equipped and at night no one else was there on our entire stay in the evening, which was 12 nights. Great barbecues on the property, easily accessible and by the pool. We discovered a great grocery store, Lahina Farms ( located across from the Safeway in Lahina), definately better than the Safeway, and the Star Market. You could easily walk to the Star Market from the property. Kanappali, is definately on the windy side, and we had a few windy days, but the kids enjoyed the kite flying. Would highly recommend this property, and it will be truly amazing when the second phase is completed. Have booked again for next year, and can book through the hotel directly, which have discounted rates now, or through any of the owners directly. A FIVE STAR PROPERTY, especially the rooms.
CALGARY FAMILY

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CalgaryCowtown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2009

We had an amazing stay at the Honua Kai, all of our expectations were exceeded. The hotel is stunning. The beach is closer than it appears in the website photos, you can hear the waves crash on the beach from the rooms. The landscaping is lovely, including a koi pond that is surrounded by beautiful patio seating. The pool is large and there are two hot tubs which are open until 10pm (at night the tiki torches surround the pool and gounds). I loved the location, it is an easy 20 minute walk to Black Rock along a direct boardwalk & paths. The beach in front of the Honua Kai is pristine and there are very few people who hang out there. If you walk 50 towards Kaanapali you can enter the ocean on the sand and swim. Otherwise, there are low rocks and reefs right in front that make it difficult to swim without a snorkel mask. However, the snorkeling is really good. I would recommend bringing your own snorkel set or renting a set for a week from the Maui Dive Shop (many locations inc. Whalers Village) as the Honua Kai rental rates were way too high. The staff were so friendly, especially the greeters who stand outside the lobby. Everyone was so nice and happy. There is a small but very adequate gym and a kids area. Our room was a 2 bed/2 bath with a large patio. The furnishings and decor are modern & beautiful, the kitchen was gourmet and made eating-in a treat, and I haven't slept on such a comfortable bed in ages. I actually took a photo of the mattress label so that I could buy one when I got home! We had no problem with the construction noise but we did have a room looking into the center of the hotel & pool.. the rooms that face the second phase directly (on the outside North side) would not be great right now. We had such a great experience at Honua Kai that we will return this year and are considering purchasing a unit in the second phase. I wish the large gym and spa, which are in the second phase, were open but we look forward to experiencing them in the future. I should mention that although there is free wireless internet in all the rooms, there is no business centre to print and fax.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jennifer08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2009

Staying at Honua Kai over spring break with my large family (5 kids). Did not know what to expect when we arrived but boy were we surprised. Luxurious finishings everywhere!We stayed in the 3 bedrooms and its big like a house. Stayed in Unit 429 which ovrlooks the ocean and we can see the whales right from our Lanai. The unit itself is the height of tasteful decor and great taste. from appliances to furniture and bedding (especially the beds, which are to die for) the planners here did it right for those that want to really enjoy the insides as much as the maui landscapes. The beach is beautiful and we are just down the strip from the Westin Resort . The Honua Kai benefits from great privacy and the peace and quiet here is wonderful. While the second towere is still being worked on, the noise is totally unnoticeable and once finished this will truly be the best spot in maui, bar none.
Well done and I would definitely return here again!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David5Vancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.2 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
0.7 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
4.2 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
1.5 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,930 reviews
1.7 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Honua Kai Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honua Kai Resort & Spa

Property: Honua Kai Resort & Spa
Address: 130 Kai Malina Parkway, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-8413
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#6 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#8 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Honua Kai Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 628
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on world-famous Kaanapali North Beach, Honua Kai provides an unparalleled level of service and all the amenities of a luxury resort with expansive one, two, and three bedroom suites. Perhaps the greatest luxury of all is simply the space to spread out. Inside, the feel is that of a luxury Maui vacation home, graciously furnished in exotic wood and polished granite, and tastefully equipped with top of the line appliances. The gourmet kitchens contain everything you need to make a fantastic meal. Or simply make reservations at one of our spectacular restaurants. This is the Hawaii vacation you have always imagined, exactly as you imagined it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Vacatia, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Honua Kai Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Honua Kai Hotel Lahaina
Honua Kai Resort And Spa
Honua Kai Resort & Spa Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing