We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We loved it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Honua Kai Resort & Spa
Ranked #8 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
NH
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“We loved it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014

Our family of six recently spent 9 nights at Honua Kai in the Konea Tower. We had a ground floor unit which worked perfectly for all of us. The condo was exactly as depicted, spacious and clean and the beds were oh so comfortable. The beach is beautiful with the islands of Lanai and Molokai in sight with Black Rock to the left. The sunsets are gorgeous. There is a reef a short way from the beach, however, it didn't bother us at all. We snorkeled right there and saw the same fish that we had seen on our snorkeling trip to Molokini. Even sea turtles swam by! We ate at Dukes a few times and enjoyed it - as said in other reviews, it is expensive, but everything is in Maui, even groceries are high. The grounds are beautiful, nicely maintained, and there is a grilling area that you can use, which was very convenient (and they were kept clean). The lit tikis at night were great. The pools were also wonderful. The underground parking worked out great.
Lahaina was just a short drive with the old whaler's village a must do. Also, sunrise on Haleakala is definitely an experience to remember - sunrise above the clouds is quite something.
The Old Lahaina Luau was also great and everyone enjoyed it. We used Four Winds II for our snorkeling trip to Molokini and thought they provided us with a really fun morning.
We did the road to Hana and had a full fun day of exploring. Although there are lots of narrow winding roads on the way to Hana, it is slight in comparison to the road north from Kahului to Kapalua - oh my, what a narrow, winding, cliff edged road that we traveled. We were so happy to finally arrive in Kapalua! The views were awesome, of course, but quite scary at many points. If you do make this drive north, you will find that the road to Hana is a piece of cake. We continued past Hana rather than turning back to retrace our path and parts of that road are "on the edge" as well, but Ohe'o Gulch and the drive thru the lava fields were quite a sight.
To summarize, we loved Honua Kai and Maui and can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank skootdoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,074 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,963
    777
    222
    71
    41
See reviews for
1,673
969
23
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,041)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ka'anapali, Hawaii
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

No words needed. Everything is lovely. Top notch accommodations, five star décor/property. Amazing pools, a new spa ( I did not try )...Duke's restaurant on property and Aina gourmet market for all your needs to enjoy meals/snacks in your room. the kitchens are very very nice. This is a perfect spot for families and groups.

Room Tip: If you aren't traveling with kids you may want to avoid the kids pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MrsChristenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

Let me preface this review by saying that I understand that the Honua Kai (HK) books directly, uses third parties (e.g., Expedia) and allows its owners to solicit guests (e.g., VRBO). I chose to book through Expedia for the convenience and slight savings with ever-fluctuating airfare. I might have saved a few $$'s, but I paid in other ways..... (Warning: be prepared for the question, "Did you book through the hotel directly?" This will determine your fate as to whether you receive the white poolside towels, late night check-in or whether housekeeping will replace what's missing in your unit - maybe.)

The Good:

* Location - good solid location. Not in the mix (a la Black Rock) but not totally isolated. We could walk to Snorkel Bob's for rentals, but the grocery store across the street was kind of janky (few name brands). A short walk north had more of a funky beach town feel.

* Newer units - it's always good to feel like you are living in this century rather than the 80's or 90's.

* Bed-n-bath - the crisp white linens and towels rivaled anything I've experienced at a 5* resort. The 5 piece bath room was spacious enough for all and had Aveda products - nice!

* Pools - the combination of pools made for a lot of fun for the kids. Although the pools didn't offially open until 8 a.m., people staked their claim as early as 7 a.m. By 11 a.m., most all of the poolside loungechairs were "claimed" either by a person (cool) or by a ghost towel (not cool).

* Grounds - the area is beautiful, especially at night. My kids (age 8 & 15) loved going outside under the stars and looking for toads and watching the feral cats. Really. Next to snorkeling, this was a highlight of their trip.

* Underground parking - yes, it costs, but not having a hot rental car is worth it. Always found a spot.

The "Eh":

* Rooms - on appearance, the rooms look very nice, but upon closer inspection you can see hasty construction (bedroom door and closet banging into one another) and cheaper furnishings (carpet buckling in places). It will be interesting to see how this resort holds up through the years.

* Kitchen - the stainless steel Bosch appliances looked nice, but basically sucked. (Don't get me started on the dryer that either didn't dry or it scorched clothes.) The kitchen was 75% appointed, but missed some key items like a wine bottle opener (!) that the front desk promised to send up but never did.

* Personnel - I felt more Hawaiin hospitality walking through the Kaanapali Beach Hotel for our Trilogy cruise than I did at HK. Again, it could be the mix of guests' bookings.

* Housekeeping - the ONE time housekeeping came by in six days, they did great! However, they missed our other day and thus, our lanai was basically unusable due to bird dropping that were not cleaned off the first time. Towels were delivered at our request later.

The Bad:

* Room HK0216. Oh how I wish I had read the review from a fellow Expedia traveller a few years ago about this room. It sits conveniently above the workout area (the bedroom is above the weight room - CLINK!). On the days that we got up early, I didn't notice it, but near the end of our stay when we wanted to sleep in the noise from the work out room was unbearable. With only a day or so left in our stay, I chose not to switch rooms (I'm normally a Priceline customer - I can handle anything!), but please, if you are an Expedia customer DO NOT ACCEPT THIS ROOM.

Overall, we enjoyed out first time in Maui. HK has a ways to go before it hits 5* in my book - that should be reserved for the best of the best. My trip was summed up by the note slipped under our door on check out day. It reminded us not to leave anything visible on the lanai. I had my J Crew tunic draped over a chair due to the fact that the crappy Bosch dryer couldn't dry anything on gentle.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank liclak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Half Moon Bay, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

Wow! We were truly impressed upon arrival at Honua Kai. What a beautiful resort. Our condo was clean, luxurious, and much bigger than we expected. It felt like a home more than a condo. The open air living room provided the full tropical vacation experience. Our condo was on the 2nd floor above the lobby....which provided a very large balcony, ocean view, and room for the kids to roam. Very important.

While the rooms were great, our days were spent at the beautiful pool with waterslide and waterfalls. This is what tipped our experience at Honua Kai from great to spectacular. We decided to rent a cabana for the week (well worth it!), and from there the pool staff treated us like royalty (not used to that!). Daniel, Matt, and Jennifer went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed. The best part about that -- they kept our kids happy and entertained, from lending us an inflatable alligator, to spending the time with the kids to make sure their snorkel gear fit properly. They went above and beyond, and provided us with an experience that we will hope for on all vacations to come.

Room Tip: Go for 2nd floor above the lobby, which provides a large lanai instead of a small balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Alisa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

Stayed here for 10 nights in a 2 BR, 2 bath (rented through VRBO). Absolutely could not have asked for a better place. Our lanai had a gorgeous ocean view with the evening sunset. Duke's Beach Bar/Restaurant is right there on property and has great food (a little pricey, but most of the nice food places in Maui are $$). The pools were really nice (not too cold). The snorkeling right there at the resort is awesome!! Saw several turtles and many many fish.

Room Tip: If you rent through VRBO, make sure you look closely at the pics showing the view from the lanai.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wendy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

I have stayed at Honua Kai three times. Once through the hotel and twice through VRBO. The fist stay was so pleasant I was happy to return but was not prepared for the dirty rooms the second time. The rental company came in an cleaned the rooms but it was not a great start. The third time was great. The last rental was a three bedroom right by the pool which turned out to be a great location for my Grand kids. The beach access was so close and the snorkeling was excellent with a great variety of fish and turtles. The staff is friendly although not always helpful. The pool areas are very clean and inviting. The restaurant on property, Duke's, has a good variety of foods and the setting is beautiful. The 4 public grills are clean and great for cooking steaks etc. The last rental was not as well equipped but adequate for cooking simple items. The ice machine, which is located in the parking garage, was not working which was annoying for an upscale resort. Also the store on property was lovely but very expensive. A donut is priced at over $4.00. It is overall a very nice place for a Maui vacation.

Room Tip: Most room have good views. I like the corner units with the wrap around lanai.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Midge85253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

The rooms are amazing as well as the beautiful grounds.We were a bit concerned after reading the negative reviews on TA. We never had overly windy days and we never noticed any bad smells from the sewage plant. The location is a bit isolated but there is a supermarket and a few places to eat very nearby. The main part of Kaanapali is only a 10 minute drive away.

Room Tip: Try to get a partial ocean view they are less expensive and offer beautiful views of the grounds and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dosomething0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.2 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
0.7 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
4.2 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
1.5 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#12 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,880 reviews
1.7 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Honua Kai Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honua Kai Resort & Spa

Property: Honua Kai Resort & Spa
Address: 130 Kai Malina Parkway, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-8413
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#2 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#6 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#8 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Honua Kai Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 628
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on world-famous Kaanapali North Beach, Honua Kai provides an unparalleled level of service and all the amenities of a luxury resort with expansive one, two, and three bedroom suites. Perhaps the greatest luxury of all is simply the space to spread out. Inside, the feel is that of a luxury Maui vacation home, graciously furnished in exotic wood and polished granite, and tastefully equipped with top of the line appliances. The gourmet kitchens contain everything you need to make a fantastic meal. Or simply make reservations at one of our spectacular restaurants. This is the Hawaii vacation you have always imagined, exactly as you imagined it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Vacatia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Honua Kai Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Honua Kai Resort And Spa
Honua Kai Hotel Lahaina
Honua Kai Resort & Spa Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing