We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent resort for families”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Honua Kai Resort & Spa
Ranked #9 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent resort for families”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

We stayed here over a year ago and I am still thinking about our great vacation... I have read the negative reviews and cannot believe they are talking about the same place.

Staff: Outstanding! when we arrived with a truck load of luggage and groceries (after stopping at Costco) the concierge immediately was there helping us unload, we did not have to do a thing. We checked in fast and were up to our room where the staff again helped us unload everything.

Room: Probably the nicest that I have stayed in and we do like to pamper ourselves. The furnishings were great, the beds and linens were heavenly! and two nice big bathrooms in our two bedroom suite. We were also lucky enough to have a room with a double lani so we ate outside every night. We went to make some slushies for the kids on the first night but our blender had a small broken part. We called the desk and someone was at our room in literally 15 min with a brand new one in a box! That impressed us. Washer and dryer were a bonus.

Grounds: Stunning! We used the pools a lot, our kids made great friends and played each day in the pools. I did pass the adult only pool every day but never ever saw kids in it - we were there at a busy time also. The waterside was a big hit.

Poolside service: We never ate in at Dukes but we did often order drinks when at the pool and on a couple of occasions ordered food by the pool, food and service were just fine!

One more praise for the concierge: We had this tip from friends who had stayed there before, we asked them if they had any beach toys we could borrow and they did. Families sometimes buy toys and leave them behind and they have a room at the front, if you ask they will get you some and be courteous and bring them back when you are done for someone else to enjoy. They also loaned us some boogie boards for when we went to DT Flemming beach. No questions asked! Great service.

Only con for me: really didn't even matter in the end but we never swam in the ocean in front of the resort while we were here. We were either too entertained in the pool or had other plans. It looked like it was a little rocky but probably good for snorkelling.

Loved the walking path to black rock! We stayed for 10 days and loved going into Lahania - Friday night art walk was really interesting. We did a whale watching / snorkelling trip with the kids and also the Hana trip with a hired driver. We went boogie boarding at DT Fleming beach and loved snorkelling at the Kamole 3 beach. If you are going to complain when staying in this paradise, I think you need to relax and enjoy yourself more.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CJGraham58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,018
    799
    232
    71
    44
See reviews for
1,738
988
23
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,077)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
vancouver
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Stayed in an owner condo for 2 weeks The property is great nice pools bbq's for all to use and a nice beach.Just be aware of sharp corral in the shallow water.Good location in north kaanapali Market and a few restaurants across the street. Nice boardwalk 4 miles long. Short drive to Lahaina to the south and Napilli and Kapalua to the north

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mexbound51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynnwood
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Highlights: Great location, clean, amazing interiors, awesome grounds. Dukes is right on the property and is the best place for food and drink.

Areas for improvement: It would be nice to have one of the three pools be adult-only. All the pools had screaming kids in them, so it wasn't very relaxing. Overall, not a very friendly staff, especially at the front desk. Definitely not a "resort" feel -- it should just be called Honua Kai Condos.

The worst part of the whole experience was the pool service. I DREADED getting towels. Instead of just handing you a towel, the staff would pressure-sell you into buying overpriced sunglasses and suntan lotion. After I declined purchasing lotion (because I already had some from my dermatologist) the woman literally raised her voice and said, "FINE! Go ahead and get skin cancer! That's what dermatologists want to happen to you!" (what? seriously, just give me a towel)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lynnwood425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014

This is our 2nd stay at Honua Kai. Our room this time was a 1-br partial ocean view. The room itself was extremely clean and comfortable with the usual high-end appliances. However, the "partial ocean view" was very partial. We could see the ocean if we stood out on the lanai and looked through a narrow slit between two buildings. The grounds were beautiful and clean. There were quite a few people with families visiting but luckily there is one pool area which is designated a "quiet zone." Unfortunately, there were a lot of poolside chairs which were occupied by towels, some still folded. The resort should do a better job at enforcing these unoccupied chairs, some which were empty for at least 2 hours we saw. Overall, we had a wonderful stay but it is definitely an expensive place. We will probably try out other properties on our future visits to Maui which are less expensive.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chauvin_sea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomsburg, Pa
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014

We met our son and family here for a week's stay and enjoyed ourselves immensely. The facilities were very nice and very family friendly. We would return here in a heartbeat if we could. It is located within minutes of Lahaina.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014

We rented 110 thru VRBO for 10 days in Feb/Mar 2014. Our ground floor condo was on the south end and has a 'view' of a construction fence. We knew this, but chose it anyway since it's all that was available. The location of the room was perfect and we had peace and quiet on our lanai, instead of having to listen to screaming kids on the pool side of the building. The lanai was roomy and felt very private. There did seem to be a LOT of kids here....so keep that in mind if you don't want/like that. We didn't mind and never actually used the pool. We spent most days on excursions or at the beach.

The condo itself was beautiful, clean and well appointed. Granite counter, high end appliances, comfortable beds and nice bed linens and towels. The entire resort is well-kept and just gorgeous. Our room was very quiet and we never heard our neighbors.

The service when we first arrived was great. We didn't really 'check in' because we didn't rent thru the resort, we only had to deal with them to pay the parking fees. The bellmen unloaded our suburban for us and brought all the stuff to the room -- 8+suitcases plus all our groceries from Costco. That was very nice. However, later in the trip, we received 'warnings' on our vehicle that we did not display our parking permit, even though it was visible on the dash. Not sure what that was about. We also rented boards and were told that the resort has storage in the garage. We inquired and were willing to pay to store them, but were told that the storage is for owners only. Considering what we paid to rent this condo, I would think they would allow us to use the storage for a small fee.

Beach chairs are available for rent, for $10/day. We walked less than a 1/4 mile from the resort and got them for $10 for our entire stay. Duke's was onsite and I'd heard from so many that the food was amazing. It was OK, but there are so many other great places in Maui that I have a hard time recommending it. It's convenient more than it's good food.

The walk to Whalers village is long. We walked it for exercise in the morning but I would hate to think of walking that far for dinner or shopping -- I would be a sweaty mess and it wouldn't be fun. The beach is great and very long; though there are a lot of rocks near the shoreline that makes it difficult to be in the water; especially for kids I think. That's probably why they hang out mostly at the pool. If you plan to go in the water, plan to wear some sort of water shoe.

We would come back to this resort in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank YvonneInAz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014

We stayed here in April of 2013 through the hotel and loved every minute of it. We booked a two bedroom, two bathroom condo and traveled with our 9 month old son and my parents. This hotel is a great destination for kids, the grounds and pools are fantastic, as is the beach. It was really convenient having the grocery store across the street (although a bit expensive, go to Costco before you arrive for essentials!) and the restaurant (Duke's) by the beach. We loved the underground parking and wi-fi in the rooms. The beach boardwalk is great, you can walk for quite a ways all along Ka'anapali Beach.

We had a fantastic trip and are actually returning to this hotel this April again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CalgarianTravelGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
24.7 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
4.2 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
480 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
1.8 mi away
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Honua Kai Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honua Kai Resort & Spa

Property: Honua Kai Resort & Spa
Address: 130 Kai Malina Parkway, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-8413
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#8 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Honua Kai Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 628
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on world-famous Kaanapali North Beach, Honua Kai provides an unparalleled level of service and all the amenities of a luxury resort with expansive one, two, and three bedroom suites. Perhaps the greatest luxury of all is simply the space to spread out. Inside, the feel is that of a luxury Maui vacation home, graciously furnished in exotic wood and polished granite, and tastefully equipped with top of the line appliances. The gourmet kitchens contain everything you need to make a fantastic meal. Or simply make reservations at one of our spectacular restaurants. This is the Hawaii vacation you have always imagined, exactly as you imagined it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Honua Kai Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Honua Kai Resort And Spa
Honua Kai Hotel Lahaina
Honua Kai Resort & Spa Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing