We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Honua Kai Resort & Spa
Ranked #11 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 15, 2013

We recently did a family trip to Honua Kai and could not have been happier! Everyone in our party (8 adults and 2 children) loved it. The rooms are gorgeous. (We had rented through Ka'anapali Beach Rentals - definitely recommend them!) We stayed in K818 which was perfect for us. Huge lanai and great mountain views with even a little bit of an ocean view. Other members in our group stayed in K405 which had a nice ocean view and was really shaded so the unit stayed cool even without the air conditioning. Unit K401 however was AMAZING. If you want to splurge on an ocean view then definitely get one of the units that directly face the ocean and that has a BBQ. Simply stunning!

The variety of pools at the resort was great - especially the shallow pool for our toddlers. Snorkeling off the ocean was a highlight for sure. We saw large turtles on multiple days and lots of beautiful fish. The coral starts really close to shore so it isn't the best area to play in the ocean with kids but there are spots farther down you can go to that are a lot sandier.

Having Dukes on site as well as the market made it easy to pick up drinks/snacks (Even though they are a little expensive) but that seems to be par for the course to Maui.

I would recommend this place to anyone! It is truly a remarkable property.

Room Tip: Units with a full ocean view are amazing if you can splurge on them.....but I don't think there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Janesse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,199)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,520 - 1,526 of 3,199 reviews

Reviewed December 13, 2013

We just spent 6 nights at the Honua Kai on our honeymoon and both left disappointed about the service and overall management of the resort.

The definite pros were:
1. The property generally has a high-end appearance and our 1 bedroom condo initially met our expectations for the price we were paying.
2. Kaanapali beach is really nice.
3. Parking and resort access was convenient.
4. Dukes restaurant was pretty good and staff was nice.

But the definite cons were:
1. Very disappointed they do not provide more adult only space. There are a number of pools scattered throughout the property and were all full of kids. How can a couple come to Maui and not be able to enjoy a hot tub not full of kids?
2. The daily resort fee provided no value at all. Absurd rates for beach chairs, boogie boards, snorkel equipment, etc. Frustrating after all the money we already paid and considering you can drive a mile and get the same things for a 3rd the price.
3. Restaurant and bar close way too early for a vacation resort. Came down for a drink at 10:30 and were told they were closing.
4. Overall atmosphere was not romantic or very much fun for a couple without kids.
5. Customer service was nothing special at all. Concierge seemed to be there just to sell you something more.
6. Noticed the carpet in the room was pretty dirty and the dishwasher needed some major sanitizing. Kitchen was poorly equipped. Did not even provide salt/pepper and very limited amount of coffee. This sort of ruined the experience of using the kitchen and having a resort condo at all.
7. No resort entertainment or activities beyond kids fish feeding.

Overall, this is really not a resort but more of a condo building with front desk staff. Very little effort to make sure we enjoyed Maui as much as we could have.

For a good time in Maui definitely look at some other options.

Room Tip: Be cautious of what they define as "ocean view". None of the 1 bedroom condos have a full...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

We had the most amazing time! The views were great; you can see both the mountains and the ocean from our condo in the Konea building. The balcony doors open up all of the way so you can have fresh air throughout the condo! Bathrooms were spacious, bedrooms were cozy and the kitchen was handy. You can lounge poolside by one of the many pools, hit the hot tubs or go to Kaanapali Beach which is on property. Duke's beachouse is also located on property so you can drink and dine while watching the sunrise, sunset or anything in between! Also, this resort is very kid-friendly.

Room Tip: We used Maui Blue Properties to rent 820 Konea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Elisabeth Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2013

We stayed in room 411 (2 bedroom/2 bathroom) and the view was stunning! The buildings were clean and we appreciated having our own appliances - including the washer and dryer. All of the staff was friendly and very accomodating -- couldn't have asked for more!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank IATraveler3614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

We stayed in suite 741, sharing with our son and his wife and child. It was a two bedroom suite with two bathrooms, on a corner. We had a huge lanai (wrapped around two sides) with accordian windows that opened fully. The view looked out over one of the pools, to the ocean (wonderful view). We did not have nor need maid service. There were plenty of towels, paper products, etc, including beach towels, chairs, boards, buckets for the beach. Washer and dryer were in unit with more than enough soap provided. It is a little on the high end of the price line but was very, very nice! We had a great time (other family stayed there too). We shopped at The Times market when needed and could actually walk there if we wanted. Two negatives for me... 1) the bathroom lighting was very dim and made it hard for me to see well enough when putting on makeup. 2) It is hard to find traditional Hawaiian music in Maui. It is there, occasionally, but not as easily found as on Oahu. Would like to see more. I do not go to Hawaii for contemporary music. Dukes had it sometimes, Hawaiian Grille at Whalers Village I think also, and there is a slack key show once a week at the Napili Kai but it is very expensive.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KalenaJeanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

This is an especially great place to stay with children. Having said that, it's not so great for adults. I wouldn't even get in any of the pools! The pools, rooms, lobby, views, cleanliness, and open areas all make for great family fun. If you are traveling with children do not hesitate to stay here. However I advise you do your shopping at the new Times Market just in front of the second tower. It is better priced than Safeway and has everything. It's new, clean, the staff is friendly and helpful and they have everything. The little market inside Honua Kai is shockingly overpriced and some of the staff needs hospitality training making the Times Market look even better. Other than this minor glitch your family really will enjoy this resort.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank seetheworld2525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

The hotel/condo was beautiful. We had a two bedroom room on the fifth floor fully furnished, with a very modern updated kitchen with granite counter tops and modern appliances. The bedrooms were extremely comfortable with king size beds and large ensuite with shower and bath. There also was a large living room and a terrace of the living room and kitchen fully furnished. We had a view of the beach to the south and mountains to the east from our living room. The facility had multiple swimming pools with hot tubs, food and beverage service from the on site restaurant. The beach was adjacent to the pool area and was large for swimming and snorkeling. All in all it was a great six day stay we had at this facility. We would go again in a heart beat.

Room Tip: We had a two bedroom condo room on the 5th floor with fill kitchen, living room, dining room en suit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ronald B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
24.7 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
0.5 mi away
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
1.8 mi away
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
0.9 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#18 of 32 in Lahaina
4,102 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Honua Kai Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honua Kai Resort & Spa

Address: 130 Kai Malina Parkway, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-8413
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#8 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#8 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range: $268 - $933 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Honua Kai Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 628
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on world-famous Kaanapali North Beach, Honua Kai provides an unparalleled level of service and all the amenities of a luxury resort with expansive one, two, and three bedroom suites. Perhaps the greatest luxury of all is simply the space to spread out. Inside, the feel is that of a luxury Maui vacation home, graciously furnished in exotic wood and polished granite, and tastefully equipped with top of the line appliances. The gourmet kitchens contain everything you need to make a fantastic meal. Or simply make reservations at one of our spectacular restaurants. This is the Hawaii vacation you have always imagined, exactly as you imagined it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Honua Kai Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Honua Kai Hotel Lahaina
Honua Kai Resort And Spa
Honua Kai Resort & Spa Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing