We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Condo/Hotel in Mauai” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Honua Kai Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Honua Kai Resort & Spa
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Markham, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Condo/Hotel in Mauai”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

The hotel/condo was beautiful. We had a two bedroom room on the fifth floor fully furnished, with a very modern updated kitchen with granite counter tops and modern appliances. The bedrooms were extremely comfortable with king size beds and large ensuite with shower and bath. There also was a large living room and a terrace of the living room and kitchen fully furnished. We had a view of the beach to the south and mountains to the east from our living room. The facility had multiple swimming pools with hot tubs, food and beverage service from the on site restaurant. The beach was adjacent to the pool area and was large for swimming and snorkeling. All in all it was a great six day stay we had at this facility. We would go again in a heart beat.

Room Tip: We had a two bedroom condo room on the 5th floor with fill kitchen, living room, dining room en suit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ronald B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,046 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,947
    770
    221
    68
    40
See reviews for
1,649
966
23
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,029)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

This was our third trip trip to Maui and second stay at Honua Kai. The condo/resort was absolutely perfect. Entire compound was high end. The unit was over the top. We stayed in a two bedroom in the hokulani tower (H248), and would recommend the unit and location in a heartbeat. The unit was immaculate and had everything we needed. The view from the lanai was spectacular considering we were the second unit closest to the pools and the ocean. Can't wait until our next stay. Will definitely book the same unit.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Tracy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

We rented a condo on the fifth floor with an ocean view and stayed for 10 days. We were extremely satisfied with our choice. Very convenient from Kahului airport, about a 40 minute scenic drive with no traffic. The Honua Kai complex is very clean; from the grounds, to the gym, the spa, the garage, the pools, Dukes restaurant on site...everything. The resort staff and concierge service were friendly and helpful and gave good recommendations on where to eat and things to eat. Very aloha spirit! I love how the doors to the lanai completely folded open letting in the breeze and just made the living area so much bigger! Best of all, nothing beats sitting on the lanai in the evenings with my loving husband and a drink going through the pictures from the days sightseeing events! There are grocery stores within walking distance of the resort if needed. This is a resort that is a must return.

Room Tip: The ocean view condos are much quieter than the mountain view condos, which gets traffic noise from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BettsnOscar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
94 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

We rented a studio on the 9th floor via private owner - lovely room and the balcony view was fantastic. We are celebrating our 20th anniversary and spent Thanksgiving week at Honua Kai. There is a a great beach with good snorkeling right out front. Paddle boarding and kayaking for an additional fee, also scuba instruction. The pools are nice, and the cabanas and loungers surrounding them are comfy. There is a great coffee shop in the Hokulani Tower and Dukes restaurant never disappointed (we ate there 3 times). Also a spa, gym and great beach trail for running. You need never leave the property. Yes there are children as well as groups of friends, couples, and family reunions. Everyone is friendly and enjoying themselves - it's not noisy, it's lively and there are places you can go to for solitude as well.

Room Tip: Top floors on the inside have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GGOT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

We just returned from a week at the resort. It was a good experience. 2 young girls (in tens)
Plus:
- Free parking, Pools were good, close to beach, options for smaller kids and adults to have fun. Suite style with kitchen, close to super market

Minus:
- Even though we booked a ocean view room, we had a partial view and that too between buildings. If you are in the Konea tower, watch out. There are some basic amenities like complimentary coffee that was missing from the hotel.
There are some more properties that are closer to black rock that have better snorkeling opportunities from the beach than this hotel.

Over all I would return to the hotel.

Room Tip: Specifically ask for a room with a ocean view and call to make sure you don't get a partial ocea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danville_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion, Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay at the Honua Kai when in Maui visiting for our parent'a 20th wedding anniversary. The condo was very clean and we enjoyed the new appliances and granite countertop. The view from our lanai was amazing each morning as we could see the ocean and heard little noise from those around our condo. Out children enjoyed the pool and were never short of playmates. Most of the time was spent in the pool with the waterfall and water slide as the other pools had colder water. The beach was just a short walk away and we spent time walking up and down the beach and the kids played in the water. The Honua Kai was perfect for our family and we will definitely consider staying there again when we visit Maui.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

I just wanted to thank and acknowledge Dani at the front desk. Dani was extremely helpful and accommodating with my family's special visit to Honua Kai Resort for my mother's birthday trip. It is a special vacation for my family and Dani helped make our stay here great. She is an asset to the resort! Thank you!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chargers88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.2 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
0.8 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
4.2 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 31 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#12 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,832 reviews
1.5 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
1.7 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Honua Kai Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honua Kai Resort & Spa

Property: Honua Kai Resort & Spa
Address: 130 Kai Malina Parkway, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-8413
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#2 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#6 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#8 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Honua Kai Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 628
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on world-famous Kaanapali North Beach, Honua Kai provides an unparalleled level of service and all the amenities of a luxury resort with expansive one, two, and three bedroom suites. Perhaps the greatest luxury of all is simply the space to spread out. Inside, the feel is that of a luxury Maui vacation home, graciously furnished in exotic wood and polished granite, and tastefully equipped with top of the line appliances. The gourmet kitchens contain everything you need to make a fantastic meal. Or simply make reservations at one of our spectacular restaurants. This is the Hawaii vacation you have always imagined, exactly as you imagined it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Honua Kai Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Honua Kai Resort And Spa
Honua Kai Hotel Lahaina
Honua Kai Resort & Spa Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing