We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Incredible!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Honua Kai Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Honua Kai Resort & Spa
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Incredible!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

We went to Maui for our Honeymoon for 10 days in October. We booked the first 5 nights at the Honua Kai and the last 5 at the Hyatt. We wish we would have stayed all 5 at the Honua Kai. This resort far surpasses any of the hotel/resorts we saw and stayed at. We were greeted with friendly helpful staff. Our unit had a full stocked kitchen (minus the food of course), a washer and dryer, living room, huge bathroom with two sinks, a balcony that over looked the mountains and the ocean, and a beautiful bedroom with a comfortable bed a view that is unmatched. Each day our entire room was cleaned and all detergents for dishes and laundry and toiletries were replaced. if we left dishes out we came home to find they had been run through the dishwasher. On our second say we came home to a bottle of Champagne, two flutes, and a bamboo cutting board all compliments of the Honua Kai. There is a small market on the property that has anything you may need to cook a gourmet meal, souvenir shop, pick up your morning latte the way you like it, and grab the perfect adult beverage to accompany you while you watch the sunset. Although convenient the market did have resort pricing. There is however a grocery store across the street that you can go to and stock up on anything you need. The property has very high quality grills that are located near the pools that any guests can use. They are clean and work perfectly . The pools were sprawling and warm. The child pool area was separated from the adults so you could enjoy your time if you were not traveling with children. Dukes is the restaurant on site. They boast a fine dinning menu as well as a bar menu. They have happy hours and nightly specials. Absolutely the best Mai Tai's in the island. (seriously) The staff is knowledgeable and not your average 18yr old college student just waiting for their tip so they can leave for the night. There is a beach out front and some snorkeling. It is quieter at this end of the tourist strip but if you are looking for a little more night life Whalers Village is about a 15min walk down the lighted beachside boardwalk. This is by far the nicest place we have ever stayed. The Hyatt was the exact same price per night and it didn't hold a candle to the Honua Kai.

Room Tip: We had a partial ocean view room. We could see the ocean from our bedroom and balcony only. We could...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer_ST9206FQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,041 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,944
    768
    221
    68
    40
See reviews for
1,647
964
23
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,028)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

I booked through VRBO (Maui Westside Properties was great) and I loved the unit on the 9th floor of Hokulani but the resort is not very peaceful. I booked here just for the pools but found them unuseable due to the families and children (and this was low season). Maybe this place is good for families but not for mature couples looking for peace and quiet.

As for smells from the water treatment plant, yes we did smell them faintly a couple of times during the week we were there. I didn't think the smells were bad until we went to Wailea. Then I realized Honua Kai was kinda stinky.

Plus side: Times Supermarket is across the street, as is Java Jazz. Duke's was good but even on a Monday night in low season we had to make reservations.

Would I go again? No. I only booked here for the pools which were full of children. Next time I'll go somewhere else.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ReddPupp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Our family of five took a fabulous vacation to Maui in July 2013. We had a two bedroom condo on the first floor of Honua Kai that provided an easy walk to several pools, beach, boardwalk and Duke's Restaurant. The accommodations were spacious, modern, like new and very comfortable. With a built in kitchen featuring the latest appliances as well as several gas grills throughout the property we had the choice of eating in or out. We had a great time until the last day when Tropical Storm Flossie blew into town. The one disappointment of Honua Kai management was the measly 30 minutes extra time they gave us to checkout while we were trying to make arrangements for airline departure while the entire inbound and outbound air traffic had been shut down.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank B G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

My daughter and three grandchildren just returned from Maui. We stayed at the Honua Kai resort. I have been to Maui numerous times and this is by far, the very best resort on the island. We had a two bedroom condo, It was beautiful, We had a view of the beautiful grounds and the ocean. The condo was a luxury condo with both bedrooms on opposite sides of the condo. Our covered patio went the entire length of the condo plus around the side. It was L shaped. All of the windows could be open to let the wonderful air in and give an endless view. The patio was furnished with a glass table to seat 6 pllus two large chairs with ottoman and table for each. Inside the living room was a formal dining room table and chairs, plus a couch that made into a bed and also chairs plus a 48" TV. In the kitchen was a huge granite island and granite countertop with new Bosch stainless steel refrigerator, stove, dishwaster microwave etc. In both bedrooms were king size beds with dresser, nightstands and 48" TV's. Each bedroom had a full size bathroom with large tub and separate shower. The condo also had a washer and dryer. On the site are several pools with water slides etc and several hot tubs. This place is very kid-friendly. Duke's restaurant is on the property and is a sister to Kimo's restaurant in Lahiana. The food is wonderful and you can order food and drinks when you are sunbathing. The beach is behind the pools and is beautiful. My grandson was on his boogie board and was snorkeling all the time. At night it is all lit up with Tiki lights. Across the street, is a large, major grocery store with everything including clothing, sports equipment etc. It is as large or larger than Kroger, Albertson's etc. and the prices are reasonable. The staff at this hotel are wonderful and very helpful. I loved the valet parking and we used it all the time. I would highly recommend this hotel. I would recommend you book an ocean view instead of the resort view. The resort view is of the mountain, street and parking. The ocean view is 100% better and you will love it!!! If I return to Maui, I will most definitely book this hotel again!!

Room Tip: All rooms are great just get an ocean view and the higher up the better!! However, the ground floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Swedishgirl278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan Hill
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

The resort was clean and well maintained, but it was VERY crowded during our stay. However, with three large pools, there was still lot of room IN the pool...finding poolside chairs was another story. In any event, my 2 young kids and I had a blast. The hotel is on the beach, but it is VERY rocky!

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank JOSHUA W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

We rented a condo (hokulani 142) through a property management, Chase n Rainbows for 7 nights.

We loved that the door used a keypad vs a magnetic key. Very convenient. The grounds were kept clean and manicured. The unit itself was clean and had all the amenities we needed. Parking was plentiful but tight. We rented an SUV and had some difficulties finding spaces that would fit. A lot of the cars would take up two spaces since the spaces were small.

The location was great.. Away from the bustling Lahaina but still in the Kaanapali area. The hotel is north Kaanapali so a trip to Napili and it's beaches were quick and accessible. Lots of restaurants and stores nearby.

The beach walk was great for running. We ran every morning and it was about 5 miles round trip from Honua Kai to Hyatt. That path was great way to keep us in shape during the vacation. The gym had all you need except for a stair master. It had free weights up to 50 lbs db and cable weights.

The unit itself was great. I enjoyed having updated kitchen with granite countertops. The machine and dryer were so convenient. The bathroom was roomy... Perfect for when you have to give toddlers a bath. I loved how the shower has counter space to put all your bath products. I think the size in the bathroom compensated for the small bedroom space.

Dukes was good. Glad we had a Hawaii "signature" restaurant on-site. Aina was convenient but you pay it in the inflated price.

I took down one star because the property had an issue with the common key access for garage door leading to the units. Other guests had same issue but it took 2 days for Honua Kai to resolve it. We ended up using the employee elevator several times while this was being fixed. We got our key cards exchanged six times until the property realized the problem was their key reader.

This property is great for families. Location is best but beach could be improved. The setback between property and beach is narrow. Walk south towards black rock for that wide Kaanapali beach you've seen in pictures.

Highly recommended. I would definitely go back.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank joy126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, CA
Level Contributor
80 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Amazingly-kept grounds, excellent snorkeling at the beach right off the property, great rooms! A bit of a family spot, but overall an exceptional Maui experience. The hotel also has great deals on activities and dining, as well.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.2 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
0.8 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
4.2 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 31 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#12 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,818 reviews
1.5 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
1.7 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Honua Kai Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honua Kai Resort & Spa

Property: Honua Kai Resort & Spa
Address: 130 Kai Malina Parkway, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-8413
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#6 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#8 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Honua Kai Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 628
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on world-famous Kaanapali North Beach, Honua Kai provides an unparalleled level of service and all the amenities of a luxury resort with expansive one, two, and three bedroom suites. Perhaps the greatest luxury of all is simply the space to spread out. Inside, the feel is that of a luxury Maui vacation home, graciously furnished in exotic wood and polished granite, and tastefully equipped with top of the line appliances. The gourmet kitchens contain everything you need to make a fantastic meal. Or simply make reservations at one of our spectacular restaurants. This is the Hawaii vacation you have always imagined, exactly as you imagined it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Honua Kai Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Honua Kai Resort And Spa
Honua Kai Hotel Lahaina
Honua Kai Resort & Spa Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing