We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great condo resort for family celebration vacation!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Honua Kai Resort & Spa
Ranked #8 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Coffeyville, Kansas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great condo resort for family celebration vacation!”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

My parents treated our immediate family to a celebration vacation to celebrate their 50th wedding anniversary. We had a great time at this condo-resort. The in-room kitchen had granite countertops and stainless appliances, which I think is standard in all units. Two HVAC units kept both our rooms comfortable when we didn't have the wall of windows open to the lanai. Our unit faced the ocean and we enjoyed lovely sunsets at cocktail hour before dinner. They have Viking grills onsite by the pools for grilling in, or you can take in a great restaurant nearby.

A few things that are different in this condo-resort than a typical hotel resort:
--the front desk is helpful, but can only do so much if the unit you've rented is not one they manage. Fortunately for us, ours was.
--the beach at the hotel has a reef that riuns along it...so, it's a little rough going when the tide is low, but still very very enjoyable! The water is clearer here than further south on Kaanapali (at least it was when we were there 1 week after Flossie blew through). Snorkeling is great here, there are a few really big turtles that hang out on the outer reef.
--the snorkel rental and pool services are run by a contracted company, so keep careful count of your rental items and towel cards!
--there is only one restaurant (Duke's) onsite; the coffee and sundries store is only in one of the two towers....not a super big deal, but something you should know prior to booking.
--there are great casual places to eat across the street (mexican, pizza, mediterranean, bbq) as well as a grocery store. We bought just a few items at Costco (near the airport on the other side of the island), then the rest at the market nearby.
--there is one Hawaiian souvenir/clothing store also in the mall across the way--might save you from a last-minute trip to Lahaina for gifts, etc.

Room Tip: Room 313 was immaculate and listed as a partial ocean view (I think) this 2-bedroom unit had an exce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank by_digby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,985
    781
    223
    71
    41
See reviews for
1,688
980
23
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,052)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cypress, Texas
Level Contributor
75 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Great hotel/resort for couples and families. Three pools, great views, large rooms with nice kitchens. We had a studio with ocean front view. I spent many hours on the lanai just looking at the scenery. The actual accommodation was one of the best we have ever seen. HOWEVER, the housekeeping staff was the absolute worse I have ever found. I have stayed in every class of hotel on five continents. I have never had service this poor. If you don't operate on the housekeeping staff schedule, your room does not get cleaned (if what they do can be called cleaning). One day, we returned from breakfast just as housekeeping was getting to our room. We told them we would be right out. Five minutes later we left for 4 or 5 hours. When we returned, nothing had been done to our room. I called housekeeping and the hotel manager to complain. We did get the room cleaned. The next day, they pulled up the sheet on the bed and through the pillows on the bed. Dirty towels were left in the tub. Hair was left in the shower drain. I could go on but it was simply horrible. The concierge staff is a bit hit and miss. I had great luck with Kate. She followed through on everything and was extremely helpful. Another staff member failed to inform us that a Luau we were to attend was cancelled and then failed to follow up on a replacement reservation. A strong positive is the friendliness of all of the staff. I really do hate to say this but I will look into other possible resorts for future visits.

Room Tip: While the views of the mountain are great, pay as much as you can afford to get an ocean view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MGlide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Had a fantastic time at Honua Kai on a family vacation. With 3 different pools, 3 or 4 hot tubs, and a gorgeous beach right outside, how could you not? We loved the amenities of the room, including full kitchen and washer & dryer in the room. Property was quiet, beautiful, and pristine. We could smell the wastewater plant when outside the hotel in the front, but not from the pool area, beach, or from our room, which was right in front (4th floor).

The deli/cafe was nice, though we found the main restaurant (Duke's) to be overpriced & generic. We ate breakfast in our room and toured the rest of the island for lunches & dinners. Service around the resort (poolside, towels, front desk) was friendly, if not speedy. We especially appreciated that it didn't have the snotty attitude of other name-brand or "chain" resorts.

Snorkeling outside the hotel was excellent, expecially toward the south end (toward the Westin). You can also walk to Black Rock outside the Sheraton in about 15 minutes. We found the hotel ideally situated for a summer stay, though might have stayed somewhere south of Lahaina if we were there in the winter.

Would definitely book there again on a return trip.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank VanBC154943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

My husband and myself are very picky travellers. We like the best accomodations without high prices. We had toured the property a year before and made it or mission to stay there on our next visit. We booked thru Chase'n Rainbows and picked our suite online as HK318. It was exactly as pictured. The best part of this side of the building is the total privacy to open those "nano wall doors" wide open to the lanai. It is quiet and nice to come back to after a busy day. Bosch appliances, beautiful full bathroom with double sinks and walk in shower, fully equipped kitchen, and as a bonus there were beach chairs and umbrella and boogie boards in the suite to use on our stay. We rented beach towels from the rental company for $2.00 each per stay, totally worth it so as not to have to pack them. My husband was so happy we booked this resort and he wants to come back to this one again as he said "What's not to like here?" The beach here is amazing, we snorkelled every morning without having to pack up the car. Dukes Restaurant on the property is wonderful for those special dinners. Otherwise we stocked up at Costco and ate on our wonderful lanai. Used the property BBQ several times too. Enjoyed the quiet pool, but the beach really is better than any pool. Stayed in for Tropical Storm Flossie and felt totally safe in such a big secure building, never lost power. A First Class property not to be missed. Also had our pictures taken by Selket with Forever Maui Photography on the property, ask for her she's a wonderful, fun and relaxed photographer. They offer a no obligation photo session with a free 8X10 photo.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank vivimaui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, CA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Full Disclosure - we were booked for a week at this property but I got a little nervous after reading some reviews about the wastewater plant across the highway and rebooked at another complex (a few miles north). Anyway, we were curious about what we were missing and visited the property on two separate days. When visiting, we asked if we could tour a couple of the units and the staff gladly obliged.

The rooms themselves were beautiful. Very high end furnishings and immaculate. We asked many questions of staff and they were friendly and professional. Although the wastewater plant is directly across the highway, we did not notice any odors on the two days we visited.

What we DID notice (and what made us glad that we were staying elsewhere):

1. Both days we visited, it was windy. I mean REALLY windy. We were staying a few miles north and experienced no such wind.
2. The beach in front of the resort was narrow and not that nice.
3. The pool area, while beautiful, was extremely crowded and noisy. Lots of kids and too few lounge chairs. Too me, it felt undersized given the number of units in the complex.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank jt108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salinas, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Stayed here on a multi-family vacation. The quality of construction stood out. This is a high quality condo that operates as a resort. Beautiful kitchens make it easy to entertain and feed kids. We all ate together every night (three families, 11 people). Grounds are all new and both the pool and beach are first class. This year we stayed at Honua Kai and the Westin down the beach, and this is a better built facility. Also, for those who don't plan well, a supermarket is across the street to pick up last minute food. Duke's on the water is solid, but not gourmet. The lanai was our favorite part of a well designed and built unit.

Room Tip: Almost all rooms have ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tim b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
88 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Stayed for three nights in Hokulani suite 323. We had a beautiful view of the pool and ocean. The resort is immaculately kept, with awesome amenities. The beach is a snorkeler's paradise! We actually cancelled our planned snorkel trip since there was so many lovely fish species found literally step's away from the property's beach boardwalk. You can rent snorkel gear from the aqua shop for $8 USD per hour, or $15 USD per day. Our suite had a kitchenette, and shopping for food supplies was easy since there was a supermarket next door. We had rented a car, and self parking was $12 USD per day, and included underground covered parking. The resort seems to offer plenty of activities (scuba lessons, dance classes, etc), and will offer guests a complimentary welcome portrait. The prices at the Duke's restaurant are reasonable: you MUST try the banana-macadamia nut pancakes with coconut syrup! Delicious. The pool area is spacious, and although pool-side seats go by 9am, there is still plenty of chairs for everyone. Arrive at the beach anytime you want, and the pool attendants will set up a chair for you. Hope you love your stay!

Room Tip: I'm sure all are lovely! If you get one with an ocean view, you will see breathtaking sunsets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jessicav85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.2 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
0.7 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
4.2 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
1.5 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,933 reviews
1.7 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Honua Kai Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honua Kai Resort & Spa

Property: Honua Kai Resort & Spa
Address: 130 Kai Malina Parkway, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-8413
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#2 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#6 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#8 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Honua Kai Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 628
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on world-famous Kaanapali North Beach, Honua Kai provides an unparalleled level of service and all the amenities of a luxury resort with expansive one, two, and three bedroom suites. Perhaps the greatest luxury of all is simply the space to spread out. Inside, the feel is that of a luxury Maui vacation home, graciously furnished in exotic wood and polished granite, and tastefully equipped with top of the line appliances. The gourmet kitchens contain everything you need to make a fantastic meal. Or simply make reservations at one of our spectacular restaurants. This is the Hawaii vacation you have always imagined, exactly as you imagined it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Vacatia, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Honua Kai Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Honua Kai Hotel Lahaina
Honua Kai Resort And Spa
Honua Kai Resort & Spa Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing