We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Honua Kai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,330)
Filter reviews
3,330 results
Traveler rating
2,117
832
246
81
54
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,117
832
246
81
54
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskonea towerduke's restaurantaina marketgourmet marketbosch appliancesfull kitchensewage treatment plantocean viewthrough vrbokaanapali beach rentalsevery other daywasher and dryertimes marketquiet poolgrocery storehigh end appliancesunderground parking
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,868 - 1,873 of 3,330 reviews
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We had no complaints during our 7-night stay in Hokulani Tower. The condo sits on Kaanapali Beach, which was relatively quiet, and it had great snorkeling. Driving around the island got tedious after a few days, so we took a couple days off from exploring and just enjoyed this spectacular beach. The grounds were well kept and clean. We saw a mixture of families and couples. The on-site restaurant was pretty good and priced fairly. We stayed in unit #933 in Hokulani Tower, reserved via vrbo.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank john0105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

My finace and I stayed at the Honua Kai from June 2-12. It was amazing. We stayed in a one bedroom mountain view. It overlooked the parking lot, part of the freeway, and the big beautiful mountain side. We did not mind this at all! Everything is so lush and green, including the trees in the parking lot that it did not feel as though we were missing out. We spend more time IN the ocean than looking at it, so this was just fine. The front desk clerk was so very friendly and helpful.The room itself was spacious and comfortable. The beds were FANTASTIC!! Felt just like my super comfy bed at home. The fully equipped kitchen is amazing! We loved that it had a blender, too! The pool area is very nice, however it is quite expensive to rent cabanas and covered chairs, so we stuck to the pool loungers and umbrellas. It also costs an arm and a leg to use their loungers and umbrellas on the beach. I believe it was $15/chair and $40 for an umbrella. We bought oversized beach mats from the ABC store for $4, and they suited us just fine. The outdoor BBQ cooking area is great! We really enjoyed cooking at the BBQ's at sunset, overlooking the ocean. Also, the Aina market is astounding! As vegetarians, we were shocked to see all of the raw/vegan/vegetarian items for sale! It was awesome. Overall, this resort is AMAZING! I would reccommend it to anyone!

Room Tip: If you don't mind what view you have, go for Mountainview, more affordable. We loved it.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jennyboyson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Honua Kai for 4 nights last week. We had a fantastic time and we thought that the resort was great.
My husband and I don't have any kids, so we stayed in one of the studio rooms which was perfect. We rented our room (#719) directly from the owners (Joe and Rhonda) through the VRBO site which worked out really well. They were extremely helpful and were keen to make sure that everything about our stay was perfect, I would highly recommend renting through them if you are looking for a ocean view studio room.
Although I had read reviews about noise and lots of kids at the resort we didn't have any problems. There is a 'quiet' pool that you can use that we went to a couple of times when the other pools/ lounges were busy and it was always very relaxing. But most of the time we were able to get lounges when/where we wanted and we enjoyed the other pools too.
It's great having Dukes on site and we ate there a couple of times. We found it to be good food at reasonable prices.
It was also nice having our own kitchen to make breakfast and washing facilities.
It was windy during our stay, but we stayed on 4 different islands during our trip and we found that they all had the Hawaiian trade winds at this time of year, so it was nothing to do with Honua Kai.
I would highly recommend staying at Honua Kai, we loved it and enjoyed the fact that the whole complex is only a few years old and thus it was not dated. The location is accessible to lots of Maui attractions.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BiancaAndSean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

Our family of 4 (including 14 and 10 year old daughters) just returned from our first stay in Maui. After much research, we chose to rent through VRBO, unit 213 in the Konea building. Gorgeous ocean views and a huge wrap around lanai. Was the perfect 2 bed/2 bath condo for our family. We prefer renting directly through an owner instead of the hotel, as we know exactly what unit we are getting. Because of that, we do not have towel or maid service. Not an issue at all for us. The owner provided beach towels, chairs, boogie boards, etc. As others have mentioned, the units are modernly equipped and beautiful. The resort was incredibly windy. We visited other resorts closer to Black Rock and did not find those as windy. The beach out front is narrow, but still sufficient for our beach time. My husband and daughter did snorkel right out front of the resort. We did notice the sewage smell a few days during our stay. Would only notice it for a minute, but was certainly noticeable. We had no issues finding pool chairs. We also did not find the chairs uncomfortable. I spent several hours reading on one, and was never uncomfortable. Would definitely return and would definitely stay in this exact unit!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sphill1tx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

This resort was top notch. I was really impressed with the service, the suite, the layout of the resort, and all its amenities. The snorkeling right off the beach at the resort is fantastic! Swim with the sea turtle for 20 minutes. We found the resort to be very quiet and our room had plenty of privacy from the lanai. I wouldn't hesitate to come back to this resort. Our two bedroom suite was perfect for our family. The only downside that I noticed was the bathroom lights do not seem to have enough brightness.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BendBurd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews