We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING stay at Honua Kai!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Honua Kai Resort & Spa
Ranked #9 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“AMAZING stay at Honua Kai!”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Honua Kai Resort for 8 nights for our honeymoon and we could not have been happier with it! The service and staff are all professional, courteous, and attentive. The rooms were VERY clean. I am sensitive to smells/dirty rooms in hotels because of all my allergies and I had no issues here. The kitchen was gorgeous and fully stocked making it easy to eat in the room before heading out for the day! We stayed in a mountain view room and really enjoyed it! Sure, an ocean view is nice but if you can't afford it don't sweat it!

The restaurant on site, Duke's, was fantastic. We ate there every day! There is also a little market in the hotel lobby that is full of wonderful grocery items, most of them organic. I have a lot of food allergies and managed to find plenty of things in there I could eat!

The beds? OH MY WORD the beds. Hands down the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in. I was so sad to leave it and go back to my own bed at home which I THOUGHT was comfortable before staying at Honua Kai.

We thought the location was very convenient. Walking distance to a grocery store and a 10-minute drive from Lahaina.

My only "complaints" aren't really complaints, they are just something to be aware of. The pools were jam packed with kids. So much so that my husband and I didn't even want to go in them because it was so noisy. Kids were literally cannon balling into the hot tub, so that was a bit of a bummer. I usually blame the parents more than the kids though ;) There IS an adult only pool, but parents were still letting their kids into it. A bit frustrating, but not a deal breaker. We WERE ther during a spring break time, so maybe that is why it was extra crowded. Overall, the luxury feel of the resort and the incredible rooms were so important to me that the pool issue was not a big dea.

I gave the spa rating a "terrible" because there was no spa! What's up with that Honua Kai? Why is it called a spa if there are no spa services?

The hotel's concierge service was wonderful. They were so friendly and helpful in booking us excursions. Within our first 24 hours there, our concierge had booked everything for us and made it SIMPLE! When we booked our helicopter tour, she said she would try and call the company later to get us seats up front with the pilot. I wasn't expecting it to happen as she had a lot of customers but sure enough, we were in the front seat when we got to our tour the next day! They were such a great part of our experience at Honua Kai!

Overall, we were VERY happy with Honua Kai. We would stay there again in a heartbeat!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Courtney P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,019
    800
    232
    71
    43
See reviews for
1,739
988
24
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,079)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Impeccable and gracious resort with everything you could want. Had a one bedroom suite that was gorgeous. Top of the line decor and amenities. Just about everything you would need if you wanted to cook in with a fresh catch and some margaritas! Fabulous lanai. Loved the washer/dryer in the room. So great for taking care of swim wear! LCD TV's in the living area and bedroom. Bed was comfortable and plush. The pool area is never ending and artistically done with lovely hot tub nitches throughout and a waterfall. Beach was nice. This is a great family destination, romantic retreat or friends lodging due to the spaciousness of the suites. The open air foyer with nicely placed chairs/tables for lounging are well thought out. Close to Lahaina but far enough away for peace and quiet. The gourmet deli/small market was great with a nice wine selection that was not horribly overpriced. Had breakfast at the main restaurant and that was very good. Based on some of the prices I've seen for high end hotels in Maui, I do think this place is a good value though not inexpensive. Although did not partake as I was with a local friend who knew where to go and what to do, there were some great activities available for guests. Definitely a wonderful place with Aloha all around.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dragonia64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penticton, British Columbia, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Nice complex.
Very helpful friendly concierge personnel. Nice rooms with kitchens.
We paid for a partial ocean view and couldnt see it at all. But we were on the beach or out. A lot of really young loud kids having fun.
Beach was rough this time of year for snorkelling but great for body surfing, boogie boarding. Beach is calmer closer you get to Black Rock.
Wanted late check out, couldn't pay it and had maids pushing us out exactly at 11. Not great.
Dukes restaurant was good and beach walkway was nice.
Only negatives were lack of view, parking lot garbage cans not cleaned out( had to walk by it everyday to car- yuck) and lack of quiet.
Great for young families.
Older families with teens - not so much. Our teen son didn't want anything to do with the pool as it had too many yelling crying toddlers. They could use an adult only pool.
Had a good stay but ....we now have tried
this complex but we will go back to Royal Lahaina or Westin next time.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ElizabethandDan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pella, Iowa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We spent 7 nights on Maui at Honua Kia. It was an amazing trip. We did VRBO and had a 2 bedroom, ocean view on the 9th floor. It was well worth the money for the view. Sitting on the lania and whale watching was so nice and relaxing. The condo was suburb, very high end. We found this for about the same price as some of the nicer resorts charge for a plain old hotel room. We had room for our family to spread out and we could also cook. It is very expensive to eat out every meal in Maui. I loved the pools and there were always plenty of chairs no matter what time of day you went down. The beach does have a reef, but walk the beach to the left and it gets better. We went to several other beaches to north and the beach in front of the Sheraton. You really should do that to really see the island in my opinion. The drive around coast to the north is so beautiful. Also, the comments about the wind worried me, but we had only 2 really windy days and that was due to the weather. It was windy every where those days, not just Honia Kia. The other days were perfect. I really don't know how anyone could not enjoy this condo or Maui for that matter. Go ahead and book it.....YOU WILL LOVE IT!!!!

Room Tip: Get an ocean view if you can afford it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Toni V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed here in February 2013, in a one bedroom with den condo room. Our first impression of the resort was poor because he had a bad customer service experience with the front desk (we had to fight to get the "resort view" room we had reserved and paid more for, rather than the "mountain view" room with the sewage plant smell that they tried to tell us was "the same thing).

The resort itself was very nice, pools were great, beach gorgeous, landscaping beautiful, rooms new but showing some wear, and a grocery store with everything and good prices across the street. Unfortunately the big issue for us was that it was too windy. The beach and pool were windy enough as to make swimming or lounging near them so miserable that we didn't do it. Apparently Maui is known for being windy, and the Kaanapali coast is one of the windiest places. We ended up driving to lots of other beaches that were protected and not windy, and had a great vacation, but I would not return to Honua Kai.

Room Tip: Do not reserve mountain view rooms - these have a bad view of a major road and are downwind of a sew...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cortney O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We spent 6 nights here. This is a superb resort, and we would definitely stay in this location again. The rooms are superb, the pool area and beach are fantastic and the grounds are beautiful and romantic. Having a supermarket within walking distance across the street allows you to use the kitchen facilities in the room, which was great! This resort truly completed our romantic stay in Maui, and we are already planning a return trip to Maui in the next few years, and we will definitely stay at this resort!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Stan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We spent 2 weeks at Honua Kai, in a few different rooms, and could not have been happier w/our stay. Prior to going to Maui I thoroughly reviewed the properties in the area we wanted to be, and was able to find a VRBO at Honua Kai that met our needs with a price that was reasonable. With three teenagers it was important to have a kitchen & washer & dryer, sometimes these ameneties are not found in the upscale resorts. The pools & hot tubs were all beautiful & well mainatined, there are several BBQ's on site for grilling, easy access to boardwalk & beach. Staff was all beyond friendly & helpful.
There are less expensive places to stay in Maui, but if you want a top quality resort w/all ameneties as well as comforts of home, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Traci H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
24.7 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
4.2 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
481 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
1.8 mi away
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Honua Kai Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honua Kai Resort & Spa

Property: Honua Kai Resort & Spa
Address: 130 Kai Malina Parkway, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-8413
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#8 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Honua Kai Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 628
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on world-famous Kaanapali North Beach, Honua Kai provides an unparalleled level of service and all the amenities of a luxury resort with expansive one, two, and three bedroom suites. Perhaps the greatest luxury of all is simply the space to spread out. Inside, the feel is that of a luxury Maui vacation home, graciously furnished in exotic wood and polished granite, and tastefully equipped with top of the line appliances. The gourmet kitchens contain everything you need to make a fantastic meal. Or simply make reservations at one of our spectacular restaurants. This is the Hawaii vacation you have always imagined, exactly as you imagined it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Honua Kai Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Honua Kai Resort And Spa
Honua Kai Hotel Lahaina
Honua Kai Resort & Spa Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing