We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family and Friends Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Honua Kai Resort & Spa
Ranked #8 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Family and Friends Location”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

This is a very nice condo community; we mistook it for a hotel. With that said we had a great time, it was very nice inside, the rooms were very spacious and furnished nicely. We would definitely go back with friends or with our children (but probably not as a couple). It has a lot of great amenities like concierge service, an onsite restaurant & a café, water activity rental etc, but it’s probably geared a little more towards families.

Biggest Con- no dedicated room service, they have something similar with a little café downstairs, but it’s not room service. But again this is more of a condo community and not a hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheAggieTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,017
    796
    231
    71
    43
See reviews for
1,734
988
23
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,076)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We stayed at this resort for 2 nights in March so yes, I knew it was going to be busy. We do not usually stay at big resorts as we prefer to have more space in a condo. We stayed in a studio room with Ocean view and it was very nice and clean and the view was awesome, perfect for whale watching and to see the sunset! It was a bit tight for the 4 of us and our kids were sleeping on the pull out in the same room as us so it was lights out for everyone at the same time. It was great to have a kitchen and laundry right in the room and they give supplies for both the laundry machines and the dish washer. This was the most expensive place we stayed at on our 2 week holiday in Hawaii and due to the small room size I would not stay here again. Or I would stay in a bigger room. The service was great from everyone and my kids loved the pools and the features. If you like big fancy resorts and don't mind sharing it with lots of people you will be very happy here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trip-planning-mama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Findlay, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Our four nights there were relaxing and very comfortable. The condo had everything we needed and more. We were on the front of the second tower, on the second floor almost above the entrance, so we saw sunrises instead of sunsets. We used the fitness room a bit, and ate at Duke's, but didn't swim in any of the pools or in the ocean. We enjoyed walking on the beach and on the boardwalk. The facility is beautiful, and well maintained. I'd recommend it very much.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank grandmaPhyllis4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana Point, California
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

The location is in a very busy area with lots going on. The new resort is very nice and we loved it. The beds are solo comfy which is a big plus for us. The glass sliders are cool and we just left them open the entire trip without having to use the AC. Great staff too...we will return.

Room Tip: Try to get an ocean view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel, California
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Honua Kai is the perfect place to stay in Maui. During our 1 week stay, it really felt like it was our home away from home.

We stayed in a 1 bedroom that was very spacious, comfortable and tastefully designed (photos on their website felt accurate). The welcome basket you receive upon arrival includes very useful items such as kitchen soap, laundry detergent, sponge and dish towel. The soaps were constantly replenished, so you never have to worry about running out of it. The only negative comment about the room was the bathroom. The lighting was pretty dim (even my husband noted this) and there also could be more areas to hang your towels. However, these are really minor things.

The kitchen was stocked with decent enough pots, pans, plates, utensils, etc. It was very comfortable having plates and knives to cut up pineapples, mangos you can buy at the fruit stands. The Aina (sp?) Market on the first floor is very convenient if you want to cook "at home," though there are markets a very short drive away that are less expensive and have more variety (we like Foodland, especially if you like poke). The only downside if you plan to cook is that you have to buy/bring your own oil, salt and pepper, etc. Anything edible is not provided...with the exception of a few sugar packets for the coffee maker.

If you are planning to swim, snorkel or scuba dive, you will definitely appreciate the washer/dryer. You can pack light and never have to worry about finding clean clothes to wear.

We had lunch at Duke's restaurant once and found the food to be very good. Outside the resort, nearby restaurants we really liked were Star Noodle (for casual fare) and Plantation House (eat an early dinner there so you can catch the sunset). I know people say it is so touristy, but I still love Mama's Fish House on the other side of the island.

In terms of activity, there is a Zip line (I forgot the name of the company, but it is very close by) which was quite fun. The resort also offers scuba and snorkel equipment, but we ended up renting them elsewhere. The great snorkeling spot is unfortunately not directly in front of the resort. However, just a few minutes walk away (I think it is in front of the Westin) and you will see some nice fish and coral...and a giant turtle if you are lucky!

Overall, we had an absolute fantastic time here. I know some reviewers commented about the strong winds. I agree somewhat that you feel it inside the lobby (you'll understand why when you see the layout). However, once you are outside in the pool area, it was present, but certainly not disrupting enough to "ruin" your vacation by any measure. One of the staff even noted that the winds were particularly strong that week we were there.

After staying in Honua Kai, I will NEVER stay in a traditional hotel ever again. This is definitely the way to go when you want to visit Hawaii!

Room Tip: I actually opted to pay less for the mountain view instead of the ocean view. I felt the room was qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rebecca Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osceola
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

The last 5 days of our Hawaiian dream vacation was a relaxing stay at the Honua Kai Resort and Spa. We were getting weary from the hustle of prior 5 days so it was nice to settle into a partial Ocean view suite. The accommodations included a living room/kitchen area a spacious bath rooom which included both a bathtub and a walk in shower. The bedroom was sufficient for the two of us and included a King bed that was as comfortable as home. We found the room a nice break when we wanted a light lunch, an afternoon snack, but the best part was fresh Kona coffee and pastries from the local groceries for breakfast each morning. We could look for whales as we ate and leisurely woke up. Another plus was a laundry closet with washer and dryer. We were able to do our laundry in the evening as we wound down from our activities of the day. When we packed our bags for the trip home it was nice to know our clothes were clean and ready to be put away when we arrived home. The resort has a mandatory $25 resort fee which at first I thought was high, however I discovered the fee covered parking (both valet and self parking), beach and pool service discount, access to the fitness room, internet service and in- suite safe, a siute starter kit(coffee,dish cloths, dishwasher soap, hand soap) all in a souvineir woven box. The Honua Kai staff was amazing as they directed us to several "must see" ocean views and local sites to visit. I would be remiss to not mention Mesha, one of the concierge staff. Mesha suggested we take the Classic Hana picnic tour. Mesha set us up with Valley Isle Excursions, then explained our pickup times. I will have a review of the trip available, but here I must say she was spot on and we will never forget the trip to Hana and beyond. Each time we talked with her she made us feel as if we were her special guests. Check in and Check out were a breeze and eased the reluctance to depart.

Room Tip: Book well in advance if you must have an ocean view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rickOsceola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

We just returned from 7 nights at the Honua Kai and we loved it. We rented a 2 bedroom and a 1 bedroom condo through an outside management company who met us at the condo and walked us through how to use everything. The 2 bedroom condo was a corner unit and had a huge lanai that wrapped around from the bedroom to the living room. We had a mountain view but we could see a small part of the ocean and an occasional whale jumping in the ocean.

We ate a Duke's a couple of times but I wasn't overly impressed. The prices are high (like everything else in Hawaii) and the food was average. The restaurant has a great view though, so I guess that could make up for the so-so food.

The grounds and pool area were kept clean and were well taken care of. Every morning we could see the staff cleaning the pools, outdoor grills and beach area.

At night, they light the tiki torches all over the grounds area and also an outdoor fire pit with surrounding lounge chairs that gives an amazing Hawaiian feel.

We would definitely stay here again. Do your homework as many of these condos are privately managed by outside companies and may offer better deals than going directly through the resort.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Karrie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
24.7 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
4.2 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
470 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
1.7 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
1.3 mi away
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Honua Kai Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honua Kai Resort & Spa

Property: Honua Kai Resort & Spa
Address: 130 Kai Malina Parkway, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-8413
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#2 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#6 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#8 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Honua Kai Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 628
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on world-famous Kaanapali North Beach, Honua Kai provides an unparalleled level of service and all the amenities of a luxury resort with expansive one, two, and three bedroom suites. Perhaps the greatest luxury of all is simply the space to spread out. Inside, the feel is that of a luxury Maui vacation home, graciously furnished in exotic wood and polished granite, and tastefully equipped with top of the line appliances. The gourmet kitchens contain everything you need to make a fantastic meal. Or simply make reservations at one of our spectacular restaurants. This is the Hawaii vacation you have always imagined, exactly as you imagined it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Honua Kai Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Honua Kai Resort And Spa
Honua Kai Hotel Lahaina
Honua Kai Resort & Spa Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing