We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“room nice, Windy, not the best part of beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Honua Kai Resort & Spa
Ranked #10 of 31 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 12, 2013

price was good. booked through expedia.

room-nice! good amount of space. washer/dryer/ cooking needs all met

pool- cold. the hot tub was not too warm either

beach- WINDY. no much waves for sports. no one was on the beach the weekend we visited. we drove to whalers and went to the beach there daily. next time- will stay at that area instead. more kids. more things to do. better waves/activities there

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chioual
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,283)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,024 - 2,030 of 3,283 reviews

Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

We were lucky enough to stay here for 8 nights. The condo was large bright with wonderful views. The balcony was the highlight. Roomy enough to allow for different functions
We ended up cooking most dinners in the room once we found the fish market near by and realized that the kitchen was very well supplied
Just what we needed

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PMNABQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stayed here for almost 3 weeks in December. We rented directly from the owner, which was easy and Ia m sure saved us some $. We had a really lovely 2 bedroom apartment, with great views, it kind of wrapped round the back north of the newer building. It was great, well appointed, 2 big bathrooms, fully loaded kitchen, no complaints although the bed was just a tad soft for my preference. The nana doors are great- when the wind isn't howling!
The hotel is lovely,although nothing really screams Hawaii, you could be at any sunny local. The beach is nice, yes, a bit rocky. I found water shoes really helpful. Had some big surf days and some calm days. Good snorkeling, just rent at Snorkel Bobs across the street. We never noticed an smell at our sutie or at teh beach, it is very noticeable on the highway. I would think that perhaps part of the Westin and the
We liked
having a grocery store close- although careful when you cross the road

relatively uncrowded beach

the beach walk- we (without teens!) walked to the Hyatt for coffee most mornings- it is about 4.5 kilometers each way

the market- although overpriced was convenient

very clean

Didn't like
THE WIND- some days it was really bad, when we were out sailing one day the captain pointed out to us the point where our hotel was- you could see the white caps starting right there. It literally howled some days- serioulsy -microdermabrasion at the beach. It is not just trade winds. A couple of days we either went to Kapalua- awesome snorkeling, or drove to the Sheraton- where you can either park for free in the few beach parking spots, or buy a drink at the bar and get a discount in the Sheraton lot.

the lack of activities for teens. There are LOTS of younger kids, and some things for them, but nothing for older kids. Other places along the beach had activities out on the grounds- big checker boards, ping pong, volleyball etc. The Honua Kai has lots of space, they need to up their game for the whole family.

Pools- we rarely went to the pools, although they are lovely to look at. You could not have paid me to go in the "kiddie pool" and the others were less crowded, but the chairs are kind of uncomfortable Fortunately our suite had awesome beach chairs that we took to the beach every day.

So, all in all, it is a lovely place. I am just not sure if I woudl stay here again, unless of course the price is right! I think something a little closer to whalers village might be nice

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank traveltoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

This was our second stay at this resort. We love it here. We booked a studio partial ocean view room with kaanapali beach rentals and very happy. The suite is great. The view was fantastic. The company was great and very easy to deal with.
The resort is very clean.
The whale watching right in front of the resort is great. We went snorkelling out front as well and saw some turtles.
Great place for couples and families. There are a lot of children running around having fun so you have to keep that in mind. It is nice to see all the kids having fun though.
Definitely recommend this resort.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Lovethebeach2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this resort for 5 nights in Jan/13 with our 10 month old son. We loved it!!! It is a very family-friendly resort right on north Kaanapali beach. The grounds are beautiful and the beach is stunning. Our son loved the pools which have lots of shallow areas for toddlers. The staff is wonderful and Duke's restaurant is great. I read in some reviews complaining about the coffee shop onsite being expensive, but we didn't think so and the chocolate croissants were to die for.

The location is great! Supermarket across the street, right on the beach, less than 3 km walk along a beautiful boardwalk to the Whaler's village. Great for running! There is good snorkelling right off the beach at the resort but I wouldn't say the beach is a good swimming beach, lots of coral. My husband cut his foot just standing in the water when a wave came in and brought some coral pieces with it. Our room was total luxury! Gorgeous condo with high end finishings. The housekeeping was also very good. The bed was extremely comfortable with good linens, which is important for me. There was no air conditioning as far as we could tell and it did get a bit hot at night. I couldn't open the window because the noise from the road was keeping me awake so it got quite stuffy, hence the average sleep quality.

The only real complaint I would have about our stay was the view from our room. We booked through Air Canada vacations and got a great deal. We decided to splash out and upgrade to a partial ocean view instead of a resort view or mountain view. We did have a sweeping view of the ocean from the balcony, but it also overlooked a huge, ugly construction site. The site is essentially abandoned, but we were disturbed on weekdays by a small excavator doing some work. We got what we paid for, but the view was nevertheless disappointing. Aside from that, loved Honua Kai and would definitely recommend it!

Room Tip: All of the rooms on the inside of the u-shaped buildings are ocean view rooms, but you can't see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

The Honua Kai Resort and Spa was a great start to our 12 day Hawaiian vacation. Our travel agent booked us an ocean view Studio on the seventh floor. How perfect! One of the newest resorts, built in 2009, The Honua Kai has everything. “Room wise”, beautiful. In my opinion the studio apartments have a better view of the ocean then the larger apartments. Granite countertops, large island in the kitchen, stainless steel appliances, beautiful furniture including king size bed, large flat screen TV, beautiful bath, washer, dryer. The doors onto the lani fold completely back against the walls to give a larger living area. Outside area was outstanding. Beautifully landscaped grounds, too many pools to count, and nice sandy beaches. Renting lounge chairs and umbrellas is a must to relax in the sun. Staff was just as great. Maid service even did the dishes we left in the sink. Believe me, this should be your pick.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BillC49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Was a beautiful hotel and the service was immpeccable! We booked our stay through My Hawaii (MyTravelCentre) and they both communicated our needs and what we wanted from our stay perfectly! It was very family friendly but we went as a couple and it was also secluded and romantic too. Great facilities and all round very lovely. Only trouble we had was we weren't in the position to rent a car because we were still on our provisionals in Australia so getting around Maui proved a little difficult because of the location but the positive is you have space from the more populated areas. Would love to acknoweledge the agency that helped us plan our trip! It was perfect and exactly what we wanted down to a tee! Thanks so much myhawaii (mytravelcentre)!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phoebe_M_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.3 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#14 of 31 in Lahaina
2,655 reviews
1.5 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 31 in Lahaina
4,333 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
0.4 mi away
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
0.9 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#18 of 31 in Lahaina
4,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Honua Kai Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honua Kai Resort & Spa

Address: 130 Kai Malina Parkway, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-8413
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#8 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#8 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range: $326 - $924 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Honua Kai Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 628
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on world-famous Kaanapali North Beach, Honua Kai provides an unparalleled level of service and all the amenities of a luxury resort with expansive one, two, and three bedroom suites. Perhaps the greatest luxury of all is simply the space to spread out. Inside, the feel is that of a luxury Maui vacation home, graciously furnished in exotic wood and polished granite, and tastefully equipped with top of the line appliances. The gourmet kitchens contain everything you need to make a fantastic meal. Or simply make reservations at one of our spectacular restaurants. This is the Hawaii vacation you have always imagined, exactly as you imagined it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Vacatia, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Honua Kai Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Honua Kai Hotel Lahaina
Honua Kai Resort And Spa
Honua Kai Resort & Spa Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing