We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel Though Staff Could have been more Friendly!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Honua Kai Resort & Spa
Ranked #8 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel Though Staff Could have been more Friendly!!!”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

My husband and I just spent 8 nights at your resort. Though the property is Beautiful and right on the Beach, we found the staff not very friendly or helpful! When we arrived we told them we were on our second honeymoon and asked if our Studio Ocean view room could be upgraded. We were told that they were at 100% occupancy that night, but did not make any effort to see if we could upgrade after our first night!! The room cleaning was Hit and Miss, one day the bath tub had not been cleaned with sand at the bottom and a dirty washcloth left in it! The next day the room was clean, but the trash was not taken out! The valets never once greeted us for the whole 8 days we were there! They cared more about talking together then helping any guests! There are alot of families with small children at this resort, so if you are looking for a quiet relaxing time by the pool, this is Not the resort for you! That being said, the rooms were great and we especially liked how the the Lanai doors opened completely up, so you felt like you were outside all the time! Very Nice!!!

Room Tip: Try to get a room on a higher floor so that you can get a better view, and I definitely think it is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Terri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,015
    796
    230
    71
    43
See reviews for
1,732
987
23
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,074)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Nice rooms -spacious, clean and functional with great bathroom. The property is new and clean - two reasonable TVs, full kitchen and washer/dryer (a bit slow!). super-friendly staff, super-super concierge service. Excellent beach. highly recommend. wish we had stayed there longer.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mimi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Very tastefully decorated, well-equipped spacious units. This is a nice resort for a family vacation with young kids (elementary age). Those with teenagers may find it too laid back and lacking in amenities and activities to keep the kids busy. The store/snackbar downstairs is spotty in what it carries - lot's of fun stuff (like gelato), but not strong on the basics. Front desk staff quality was varied - sme were helpful, while others seemed quite indifferent. No spa on-site - you'll have to walk to the Westin Ocean Resort for that.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CalBeacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Shores, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

What a find! Wonderful resort with everything you can imagine in a resort. All the modern conveniences including kitchen w/ stainless steel appliances and washer/dryer. Wonderful little store right on site. Great pools, hot tubs, etc. one of the best restaurants Dukes is right on site. It's close to the Times grocery store and walking distance on a beach path to Whalers Village. Nice size beach as well. Very friendly cabana staff. Highly recommend!

Room Tip: Our room had a side view to the ocean and was very quiet...we never heard a door slam or sounds from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JanetL790
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsboro, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

We first saw this resort when visiting in the fall of 2011. We walked through the lobby on the way to Duke's restaurant and determined that the next time we planned a trip to Hawaii we would take a look at this resort. Luckily our friends decided to get married in Maui and we found the Honua Kai Resort & Spa available through Costco travel.

One thing that I have noticed in some of the critical reviews is the service. I found the service to be good, but it is not like the typical resort. When we stayed at the Westin there was a lot more staff and there was typically 2-3 guys greeting you when you arrived. That was nice the first time, but I prefer to be given a little more space, and found that refreshing at Honua Kia.

Aina Gourmet Market is a really nice touch at the Honua Kia. They have a good selection of grocery items as well as a nice deli and gelato. The salted carmel gelato is amazing by the way. They also have really excellent coffee. I ordered a vanilla latte and it was the best coffee during our stay on the island.

We were upgraded from a one bedroom suite to a two bedroom suite which was a very nice surprise. We had a "resort" view which left much to be desired, but honestly the room was fantastic, so we really cannot complain. With each unit having its own hot water heater, there was plenty of water and the pressure was good. The kitchen was stocked well with dishes and the appliances were really nice. It was a real bonus to have a washer and dryer in the room. We didn't plan to use it, but we ended up using it twice. There is a "Times" grocery store right across the street for those that are looking to make meals in your room or out on the grill. They have a good variety of alchohol as well.

The fact that Duke's is on the property is a great bonus as well as we found this restaurant to be consistently good service and food. They also serve food poolside at Honua Kia and the steak tacos are amazing.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank B_and_A_2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arlington, virginia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

We stayed at the Honua Kai the week between Christmas and New Years Eve--Dec 26-Jan 2 and had a wonderful time. I think we got lucky because it was not incredibly windy during that week, although it was slightly more windy than in Wailea--which we had been the few days before. The beach is also not as soft as Wailea (there is coral, so you need to be careful) but my son actually enjoyed the beach in north Kaanapali more because there were waves. He also loved that he could put on his goggle and see fish in the water. Two different days a seal came up on the beach and hung out in the sand--which was very cool. We had a three bedroom unit which was gorgeous. The pools are also wonderful--there are a lot of kids--that's true, but we were there with kids so didn't bother us. Dukes was great as well. The only complaint I had was that it was hard to get a seat at the pool--people would get up at the crack of dawn and leave their towel there the entire day, but that is kind of a small complaint. Overall it was great and I would highly recommend.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank parluk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Stayed here in November 2012. What a fantastic resort. The rooms are out of control - huge, well-appointed, comfortable, clean, stylish. The kitchen has great appliances and meets every conceivable need. So helpful to have a washer/dryer as well. The pools/hot tub were very nice, and the beach was great - didn't seem especially windy to me. If you'd like a lounge chair on the beach or a beach umbrella, it'll cost you, which was slightly annoying - but that's the only negative. The staff was great - they delivered chocolate to our room when they learned we were there for our anniversary. Very appreciated! Would stay here again in a heartbeat!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gluckita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
24.7 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
0.2 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
4.2 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
2.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
1.7 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Honua Kai Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honua Kai Resort & Spa

Property: Honua Kai Resort & Spa
Address: 130 Kai Malina Parkway, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-8413
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#2 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#6 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#8 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Honua Kai Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 628
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on world-famous Kaanapali North Beach, Honua Kai provides an unparalleled level of service and all the amenities of a luxury resort with expansive one, two, and three bedroom suites. Perhaps the greatest luxury of all is simply the space to spread out. Inside, the feel is that of a luxury Maui vacation home, graciously furnished in exotic wood and polished granite, and tastefully equipped with top of the line appliances. The gourmet kitchens contain everything you need to make a fantastic meal. Or simply make reservations at one of our spectacular restaurants. This is the Hawaii vacation you have always imagined, exactly as you imagined it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Honua Kai Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Honua Kai Resort And Spa
Honua Kai Hotel Lahaina
Honua Kai Resort & Spa Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing