We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this resort - a must stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Honua Kai Resort & Spa
Ranked #10 of 31 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 2, 2012

My wife and recently stayed here for our honeymoon in November 2012. Definitely enjoyed ourselves and would recommend it to others. The staff are very friendly, personable and helpful - certainly a standout of the experience. The rooms were large - featuring a full kitchen (oven, microwave, island bar, cocktail set), very large bathroom, euro-laundry, large balcony, lounge area and queen size bed.

We paid around $290/night for November 2012, which we thought was good value. The location is good - right on the breach, although it is about a 40 minute drive from the airport, and takes about 15 minutes to get to the nearest main/high street town (about a $15-$20 cab ride or a couple of dollars on the local bus).

Pool area is amazing! They also have an activities desk - I did SCUBA diving organised through the hotel, instructor meets you in the pool area and teaches you the basic skills in the pool, followed by an ocean dive for about 40 minutes off the beach in front of the resort - an amazing experience! The coral is colourful, and the different types of fish you get to swim with is amazing. I wasn't certified, but the dive you do counts towards certification if you wanted to progress it with the hotel or through another PADI provide at a later date. The hotel logs your dives with PADI.

The resort's restaurant (called Duke's) is great. We had breakfast, lunch and dinner here on different days over the 5 days we stayed. The food is really good and the prices are good value - the servings are the typical American size (huge!), so you won't walk away feeling hungry. They have live entertainment on many nights during the week also.

We stayed during the American Holiday period (Thanksgiving), so the pools were over-run with children. It didn't bother us, but we certainly noticed it. There is suppose to be an "adults only" pool, but in practice this certainly wasn't the case. It's a great resort if you have kids or if you don't mind lots of them being around the facilities.

Overall:
A great resort and would certainly stay here again! We had such a great time. Staff are very friendly and the hotel has very good grounds and facilities. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Book an ocean view - worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brett F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,283)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,103 - 2,109 of 3,283 reviews

Reviewed December 1, 2012

I rented a 2 bedroom oceanview condo #306 Hokulani Building from VRBO #409556. It was a beautiful condo, really well equipped. My eldery parents went with us so having an elevator close by was very nice - although it did break down two days while we were there and it is a long walk to take the stairs from the underground parking. We had a lovely large lanai with an obstructed ocean view due to the palm tree - so a higher floor would be better. We looked out to an abandoned construction site which was fine as it meant it was very quiet and we seemed to have sun all day with a nice view of the mountains too. No problem with smells or wind on the lanai. I used the beach in front of the abandoned construction site as I found it was less rocky that the beach directly in front of Honua Kai. My folks discover the "quiet" pool and enjoyed it but I was told by the pool staff that they are not allowed to have an 'adult only' due to the fact that 40% of the condos are privately owned. I thought charging for beach chairs and more comfortable chairs by the pool was a bit of a money grab. We checked out a mountainview room and it was great - even had a bit of an ocean view so we would likely stay in that type of room if we return. The grounds are so well kept - always saw staff busy keeping the resort imaculate. I would agree that the beach is windy a lot of the time but I thought it was a nice breeze so it didn't bother me.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank jlharp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

We recently returned from a vacation to celebrate our 34th wedding anniversary in Hawaii. We were blessed to be able to spend 3 days/2 nights at the beautiful Honua Kai resort. Everything about the resort is first class- from the friendly valets who greeted us upon arrival, the lovely ladies attending to our needs at the lobby/front desk, to the spectaular grounds & our incredibly spacious & very luxurious suite. The 1bd/1bth mountain view was absolutley perfect- beautiful furnishings,granite counterstop, incredible kitchen appliances, a handy washer/dryer combination, & top-of the line TV's in both the living/bedroom. The spacious lanai was prefect for morning coffee, & the mountain view was beautiful. (We even had a small view of the ocean from our lanai). We did have a problem with the plumbing in our room the first night, but it was addressed in due time. We were able to celebrate our anniversary dinner at DUKE's, where the food was delicious, & our waiter (Nate) was friendly & helpful, All in all, our stay at Houa Kai was lovely- we hope to be able to return someday in the future- maybe bring other family & friends with us, as well.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ledesmas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

How can any review be negative about this place??? A full kitchen with Viking appliances, huge rooms and a balcony that open wide with views of the ocean. Even without the view this place is beautiful. Now we stayed at the Imperial Resorts in Honolulu prior to visting the Honua Kai, which is like starving for a year and then finally eating.....lol. But this place more than made up for the subpar accomodations and Imperial. Very Happy:)

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Andre F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

I can't think of anything negative to say about this place! It was like being at home, a full kitchen, washer/dryer, and a huge balcony with an awesome mountain view (well, I don't have that view at home). I loved being able to get my laundry done before I came home. It was also nice to have breakfast in my room before we headed out for the day. The price was reasonable at $249 a night, considering it was more like a luxury apartment. The beach is right behind the resort, and the three pools are each different in their own way with one being a lazy river of sorts, one being a "quiet" pool, and the other has waterfalls and a slide for the kids. The staff is all ridiculously friendly. Duke's restaurant at the resort has some great food and drinks, and the 'Aina gourmet market is a great place for sandwiches and coffee. I also appreciated that the person at the check-in counter directed us to the grocery store a 1/2 mile up the street so we could stock up our fridge. It was the best vacation I ever had, and these accommodations were a big part of what it so special.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DrDrumz79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Just returned from our five night stay at Honua Kai. We actually rented a one bedroom suite through an owner (try VRBO or homeaway) and really liked that experience. Most rooms are rented by the hotel though, and even if we hadn't rented by owner, I would have chosen this hotel out of the ones we saw. It is very new with lots of good amenities in the rooms (kitchenette, dishwasher, washer/dryer in our unit). Bathrooms are huge with separate tub and glass shower. Closet was a bit small for the length of time people would be staying. The best feature is the Lanai - the doors fold all the way open!

There is a small market downstairs in the south building and a grocery store/Subway/pizza place across the street. You can rent lots of beach gear near the pool. Duke's restaurant is conveniently at the pool. On occasion a server walks around for drink or food orders, but it is infrequent at best. Loved that you can bring a cooler from your room to the pool - no policing what you have like some resorts. There is a waterslide at the pool, and one very small adults only pool (which of course always has a few kids who somehow are exceptions to the rule). There are TONS of families and kids! Perfect for a family.

We enjoyed our stay here. Only issue is that the two buildings are not easily connected - you either walk through the drenched sidewalk right by the waterslide to get to the other building, or you go all the way in front of the resorts. The gym was not in my building, which was a pain.

Overall a nice place with lots to do for families. I am used to all-inclusive resorts, so paying for overpriced meals was a bit of a shock to my system, but that is how Hawaii works.

PS - where is this 'spa' that is in the name of the resort?

Room Tip: Any room up higher will have a nice view. No room will have great wave sounds because it is more rem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lovessmalltowns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Just returned from a family vacation & we stayed in a 2 bedroom 2 bathroom ocean view room at Honua Kai. We were on the 7th floor & had a 400+ square foot wrap around ("L" shaped) lanai and everything was amazing just like last time we were there. We rented through Kaanapali Beach Rentals again this time & we have no complaints about anything with regards to the resort. It was a busy place since it was Thanksgiving week but it didn't feel terribly crowded there. It was nice that the 2nd bedroom's king size bed was converted into two twin beds upon request for our sons - that was a much appreciated feature! The washer & dryer came in very handy for our family. It was windy 3 days out of our stay but the last 4 days it calmed down & it was perfect weather. The grounds at Honua Kai are just beautiful & the night time ambiance is fantastic with all the tiki torches lit up in the resort & at Duke's restaurant. I took advantage of the beach walk for some morning jogs & ate 3 meals at Dukes - it is kind of expensive (we already knew this) but it is also very good & the service was great while we were there. We are already looking at what month my husband & I want to return to Maui in another year or so & there is no doubt in my mind that we will stay at Honua Kai Resort again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CACountrygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.3 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#14 of 31 in Lahaina
2,655 reviews
1.5 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 31 in Lahaina
4,333 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
0.4 mi away
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
0.9 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#18 of 31 in Lahaina
4,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Honua Kai Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honua Kai Resort & Spa

Address: 130 Kai Malina Parkway, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-8413
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#8 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#8 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range: $326 - $924 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Honua Kai Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 628
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on world-famous Kaanapali North Beach, Honua Kai provides an unparalleled level of service and all the amenities of a luxury resort with expansive one, two, and three bedroom suites. Perhaps the greatest luxury of all is simply the space to spread out. Inside, the feel is that of a luxury Maui vacation home, graciously furnished in exotic wood and polished granite, and tastefully equipped with top of the line appliances. The gourmet kitchens contain everything you need to make a fantastic meal. Or simply make reservations at one of our spectacular restaurants. This is the Hawaii vacation you have always imagined, exactly as you imagined it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Vacatia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Honua Kai Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Honua Kai Hotel Lahaina
Honua Kai Resort And Spa
Honua Kai Resort & Spa Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing