We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Honua Kai Resort & Spa
Ranked #10 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 21, 2012

We stayed at Honua mid November in a studio ground floor. The unit was very nice, comfortable with high end treatments, folding doors onto large deck area, beautiful kitchen, great bed, awesome shower, clean and comfortable. But, if you are looking for a quiet resort this isn't it. Lots of children and very noisy. We found our first few days without a car required taxis to get to anything of interest. Also our dryer didnt work properly, that was frustrating. All in all a very nice resort. But you would think as highend as it is, they would give you more than a couple days of free coffee, that's a bit cheesy.

Room Tip: If you can swing it get a suite on higher floors as the smaller units are tucked into the corners an...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TandABC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,186)
There are newer reviews for Honua Kai Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,018 - 2,024 of 3,186 reviews

Reviewed November 20, 2012

This was a first visit and I must admit that I had some reservations given the size of the property and the fact that it is a condo hotel. The positives - we loved our one bedroom suite - comfortable and new - but be careful, the bathroom floor when wet is very slippery and dangerous. The other considerations - the staff while helpful are far from 5 star trained and this condo hotel would not be my first choice for couples - it's not romantic, just big - great if you have kids and the grandparents along!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jdece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

We stayed in the studio unit at this resort and we LOVED it. The unit has a fabulous ocean view and condo itself was super comfortable, elegant and stylish. Having the kitchen in the unit made everything so easy. There’s a Safeway in Lahaina and a Costco near the airport, so you can easily pick stuff up as you make your way to the resort.

What make the kitchen so great was that sometimes we would pack ourselves sandwiches for hikes that are out of the way and thus no delis nearby. We loved having our breakfast and morning coffee out on the lanai watching the sun come up. We rented it thru VRBO and it was a great experience. Our unit had everything we would possible need, from all the necessary kitchen utensils, basic sandwich condiments, detergent for the in unit washer & dryer, to beach chairs, beach picnic basket, and beach toys.

The resort itself is wonderful with a great staff. There are a number of really nice stainless steel barbecues located on the resort and while we didn’t use them, we saw a number of families who did. Looked like they were having a great time. The resort gym is pretty great too. Various exercise classes are offered by resort for a small fee.

For those who enjoy walking, you can easily walk to the Whaler’s Village. It’s about a 45 minute walk. It’s worth it just to enjoy the views along the way. Keep in mind though, if you plan to go during sunset, remember to bring a flash light because there are certain sections along the path to the Whaler’s Village that aren’t illuminated at night and it’s pitch dark. Luckily we had our cell phones and used that.

We went during the off season, so the resort was fairly quiet, however I can see how this place can be very popular with families. If children running around bother you, then come here only during Maui’s off season.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank theoatybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

I am finally getting around to writing this review after staying last year. This resort is AMAZING - we had such a great time and were very sorry to leave. The rooms are wonderful, we had a one bedroom suite facing the back (get ocean front if you can afford it). The resort is pristine with beautiful flowers boardering the pathways and pools, the suite was very spacious and immaculate. The bed was really comfortable.The pools are beautiful and we never had a problem finding a good spot to lounge. The resort was quite quiet when we stayed, there weren't too many other people there but it wasn't school holidays. Dukes bar is really fun, the food and drinks are great!
The staff were wonderful, very friendly and attentive. I stupidly cut my leg on coral in the ocean one day and the first aid guy from the resort was there in a second to help me.
There is a really convenient store in the resort with beer and snacks and everything you really need to leave the resort if you want to stay in one day.
I rarely go back to the same resort twice because I like to try new places, but I am definitely going back here next time we're in Maui. Only next time we're going to pay the extra for a ocean from room!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Baxter2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Just returned from a wonderful stay at Honua Kai. Not a single complaint! My kids were actually disappointed when we moved to the Grand Wailea for the latter half of our vacation. We found a great deal on the resort's website. Yes, the onsite market and Duke's were a bit pricey, but just about everything in Hawaii is. Almost changed our plans due to the sewer smell that others complained about. You might catch a whiff driving near the property, but not at all on the property itself.

Our room was kept very clean and items (other than coffee) were replenished daily. See Mesha if you want to plan an excursion. She did an amazing job scheduling us for a luau, snorkeling, surfing lessons, and ziplining. Every one of our guides or instructors were amazing and really made the experience for us. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tmt1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

My wife, son and I stayed in this with my father and his wife for 10 days this November. Barb and Walt were beyond gracious and helpful. As to the condoitself, suffice it to say it has probably ruined us from staying anywhere else.

We are occasional visitors to Maui, and have stayed an Honua Kai before. The grounds of the complex itself are wonderful, with a arrangement of pools, hot tubs and grounds that are without equal on Maui.

The condo, similarly, is without equal. The folding doors create a wonderful tropical living space within the common space of the condo. This is truly fantastic feature, as the weather in Hawaii is always so pleasant, it gives the option of being outside, even when you are inside. The lanai is spacious, comfortable to sit on and eat at, in fact all of our meals were taken outside. The view from the unit, and the Lanai (of the ocean and the island of Lana'i) are not to be missed.

The kitchen is beautifully equipped with high end appliances and a very useable layout (this isn't always the case in my experience). The master suite is substantially larger than the apartment I rented as a student, and as well appointed as you might find anywhere.

All in all, I recommend treating yourself to this haven of luxury in paradise, you will never regret it.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Konea penthouse, rm 1019, which I highly recommend.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

I took my wife and 3 kids (10, 12, 15) along with my 66 year old parents for a family vacation. I would definitely stay at this resort again. We stayed in a 2 bedroom ocean view room and it was plenty big and quite nice. GREAT for families. There was so much to like, the staff was wonderful, they took our groceries up to our room and were happy to do so. The pool was great and the proximity to the ocean was perfect. The beach is not quite as nice as the southern part of Kaanapali as there are a few more rocks and a quicker drop off but still very nice and swim-able for kids. The room was big and clean. The only reason I gave a 4 instead of a 5 was the lack of dining options and the lack of a spa treatment facility. I think there are plans for these in the future though. One other thing I did like was the fact that i did not feel like the place was over crowded. Lots of times at a resort like this, I feel like I have to fight for chairs at the pool and that was not the case here at all. Tons of places for us to choose from even later in the morning / afternoon. I would HIGHLY recommend this place.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
24.7 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
4.2 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
485 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
1.8 mi away
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa
0.9 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#18 of 32 in Lahaina
4,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Honua Kai Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honua Kai Resort & Spa

Address: 130 Kai Malina Parkway, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-8413
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#5 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#8 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#8 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range: $252 - $758 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Honua Kai Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 628
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on world-famous Kaanapali North Beach, Honua Kai provides an unparalleled level of service and all the amenities of a luxury resort with expansive one, two, and three bedroom suites. Perhaps the greatest luxury of all is simply the space to spread out. Inside, the feel is that of a luxury Maui vacation home, graciously furnished in exotic wood and polished granite, and tastefully equipped with top of the line appliances. The gourmet kitchens contain everything you need to make a fantastic meal. Or simply make reservations at one of our spectacular restaurants. This is the Hawaii vacation you have always imagined, exactly as you imagined it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Honua Kai Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Honua Kai Resort And Spa
Honua Kai Hotel Lahaina
Honua Kai Resort & Spa Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing