We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surpassed Expectations, Can't Wait to Return”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Honua Kai Resort & Spa
Ranked #10 of 31 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 14, 2012

We booked through Costco and the wonderful folks at this resort upgraded us to a partial ocean view room. We rented a one bedroom condo and as advertised it was well equipped with high-end appliances and many supplies we were suprised to see included. We are snooty about lodging and can honestly say that this place is wonderful.

We could not figure out how to start the AC so we left a note for the housekeeper. When we returned, it was working and we had a lovely gift from the staff. We asked for more pillows on day two and came back to eight pillows on the bed. Other than that, we really did not need the staff for much, but every single person we ran into was very friendly and professional.

The pool is very nice and they are generous with beach towels which are very nice. No need to pack your own. The beach was stellar, in fact the best play waves we experienced on this trip were right at the Honua Kai. The best snorkeling we did was at Black Rock which is very close by and Honua Bay which is less than ten miles north.

BEST
Clean, this place even smells really nice
Huge deck
Very modern
Great appliances and electronics
Great staff
Great location
Great beach
Lots of room

NOT SO GREAT
The water pressure in the shower was awesomely strong, but the shower head produced very narrow streams of water which were painful
The pillows on the bed are not very good; next time we'll swing by Costco near the airport upon arrival and blow $30 on pillows to solve this problem

You should feel very confident in booking a room at this property. It's wonderful. We left thinking about buying a unit here because we were so impressed.

Room Tip: If you're in Maui you should be outside and/or in the water all day. Don't spend a bunch of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Randal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,281)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,121 - 2,127 of 3,281 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2012

Beautiful large fully equipped rooms, Dukes restaurant is great. Pools are really nice, beach is perfect and cannot find a better place to snorkel than right off this beach. Aina gourmet market is top quality.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HappyTraveler216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We just returned from 8 wonderful days/nights on Maui - our first time. We stayed at Honua Kai Resort. We had a second floor studio (king bed) room facing inwards onto the gardens. It was part of a package price and it was luxury all the way. The resort has wonderful gardens, pools and service. Rooms are spacious with well equipped kitchens with decent appliances and utensils. Four panels of glass doors completely open/fold back to make the lanai a part of the room. Rooms were cleaned daily. There is a resort "market" in the second building (5 minute stroll) for healthy groceries, wine, coffee, gift ideas or just to pick up a healthy pre-made breakfast or lunch. They boast local and/or organic products and so the price is a bit higher than the regular grocery stores. There is a grocery store across the street from the resort. The resort is on the beach, 1/2 hour walk to Black Rock and Ka'anapali beach. It is a 5-10 minute drive to Honolua Bay for snorkelling. Both Black Rock and Honolua Bay were terrific snorkelling areas. We never tried out front of the hotel but did see some snorkellers when surf was down. We would return in a heart beat. Rooms were quiet. We had read that some found too many children. Yes there are children but it was never an issue. Families tend to use one of two main pools only. We highly recommend this site as a special getaway. Duke's is in front of the two buildings and can provide breakfast, lunch or dinner if you don't wish to cook in your room or go into Lahaina (or other spots along the way.)

Room Tip: Face inwards for garden/partial ocean. (Outwards is hills, possible parking/car noise.) No area o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chcobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

For my husband and my first trip to Maui we weren't sure where to stay and decided to pop around the island. Our first stop was Honua Kai a "Condo-tel" if you will, which are growing in popularity on Maui. All the amenities of a hotel with the option to stay in and cook, do laundry etc of a rental condo. What a gorgeous place. Immaculate landscaping, kind caring, but not over the top staff. We were upgraded to a partial ocean view 1 BR in the Hokulani building in room 342. The view was of the ocean and the green space between 2 buildings. We were located near an elevator right to the lobby. The suite was spacious and clean with an enormous bathroom suite. The lanai is huge with a 6 seat dining area. We pulled up the 2 seats to the fold away glass door when we wanted quiet cocktails. It has a nice screen to pull if you wanted to leave the door in the bedroom or living room open while you slept. Pools were beautiful and there were options if you wanted a serene or busy scene with the Duke's staff around if you wanted to order cocktails poolside. Beach is spectacular, but the winter surf was a little too rough for floating around or snorkeling, but great for body surfing and boarding. Overall a great option with a top notch staff. We traveled down the beach to check out the other hotels and that experience further cemented that we had made the best choice on Kaanipali. You are only missing a busier scene that robs you of experiencing any semblance of a real Hawaiian experience. Duke's is fun - and the staff is great. The Aina gourmet market is wonderful and to some pricey, but only if you compare it to a run of the mill supermarket; It is an upscale gourmet market, and is still less expensive than dining out at 75% of the restaurants in Maui. Go to Safeway if you are looking for everyday items. Overall we were thrilled and would definitely recommend to couples and families. A note that our stay was jockeyed around by Hurricane Sandy and the staff here was very accommodating when we originally cancelled and were able to reschedule.

Room Tip: Hokulani Building has market and Dukes - the other building has the gym. Higher the room - better t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Wow. My husband and I stayed at Honua Kai for our honeymoon and were blown away. The resort is absolutely beautiful. It's clean, the pools are fantastic and the decor is excellent. We loved the kitchen in our suite and size of the room. We originally had booked a studio but were upgraded by management to a one-bedroom. We really did feel like we were in a luxurious paradise at Honua Kai!

Duke's is great. The drinks are strong and fresh and aloha hour deals are awesome.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor and it was nice not having to deal with elevators but we didn't have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulzyKev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

This place is brand new....only a few years old & is it incredible!! Five stars all the way! We rented a one bedroom with a partial ocean view & were complimentary upgraded to a two bedroom with a full ocean view. We weren't even told that we received an upgrade but found out as soon as we entered the room. The grounds are gorgeous. The pools & spas are awesome. There really isn't much that they could do to improve this place. Duke's restaurant is on the property too which is really nice. Be aware that if you get a room in the south tower that faces the south towards the Westin that there is a considerable amount of unfinished construction by the Westin that you are also overlooking. At first we thought we wouldn't like this....but the ocean views were so gorgeous we quickly were able to overlook the construction site.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blue42CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

Simply beautiful location, stunning rooms, service was friendly and accommodating. We booked a three bed room between three couples so share the expense and the room came with car hire. This was such a great place to stay and I wish I could go again soon!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sweetness1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.3 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#14 of 31 in Lahaina
2,654 reviews
1.5 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 31 in Lahaina
4,329 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
0.9 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#18 of 31 in Lahaina
4,219 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Honua Kai Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honua Kai Resort & Spa

Address: 130 Kai Malina Parkway, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-8413
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#8 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#8 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range: $330 - $921 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Honua Kai Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 628
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on world-famous Kaanapali North Beach, Honua Kai provides an unparalleled level of service and all the amenities of a luxury resort with expansive one, two, and three bedroom suites. Perhaps the greatest luxury of all is simply the space to spread out. Inside, the feel is that of a luxury Maui vacation home, graciously furnished in exotic wood and polished granite, and tastefully equipped with top of the line appliances. The gourmet kitchens contain everything you need to make a fantastic meal. Or simply make reservations at one of our spectacular restaurants. This is the Hawaii vacation you have always imagined, exactly as you imagined it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Vacatia, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Honua Kai Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Honua Kai Hotel Lahaina
Honua Kai Resort And Spa
Honua Kai Resort & Spa Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing