We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven On Earth”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Honua Kai Resort & Spa
Ranked #8 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Heaven On Earth”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Love, love, love this place. This is our second trip staying at Honua Kai and it won't be the last.
We have two young kids and the resort was fantastic. Great kiddie supplies in our spacious room K334. The pools are great, swimming & snorkeling fantastic and the shops across the road are very handy for supplies.

I will miss the Aussie gatherings for cocktails at Duke's whilst watching the sun set over the water and watching the kids play on the resorts spacious grounds.

A BIG thank you to KBM Hawaii, Justin Brunold & John Brunold who made our stay drama free.

We'll be back!!!

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank KMJones88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,995
    790
    227
    71
    42
See reviews for
1,706
984
23
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,062)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Really nice, everything was new, awesome rooms, great service. Hard to fault except the valet parking sucked.. They charged us even tho we parked ourselves..
Food was good at dukes.. Tho we had to go to the hotel next door to get a massage.. Bu it was only 100 meters
Overall.. Excellent.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Leon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malibu, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed for a week in a wonderful, spotlessly clean, spacious, luxurious 1 bedroom “partial ocean view” (as is typical at Hawaiian beach resorts, it was only a tiny pie-slice-view of the ocean, from way out on our balcony, since we really looked out on the land side of the building, looking at other hotels and parking lots, etc.). The room was beautiful, clean, modern, well furnished. Full kitchen with washer and dryer (the maids would even restock the washer detergent packets, as they were used). Indoor and balcony dining tables, ceiling fans, large modern bathroom, comfy bed. Large (about 50”), new Hi-Def LCD TV’s with cable TV, in each room, as well as a Blu-Ray player in living room. Daily maid service (we noticed a crew of four cleaning each room, two men, two women, so very thorough, efficient). In room digital safe, reliable free in-room wireless internet.
Several nice swimming pool choices down by the sandy beach. Rock rimmed swimming channels, a fun water slide, several Jacuzzis, an adult-only quiet pool, and plenty of lounge chairs. The main self-parking lot was a fairly long walking distance from the room, but not a big deal. There is an extra, separately paid, over-priced daily “resort fee” of $25.00, that supposedly is for “parking, cleaning, etc.”
There is a Duke’s Beach House restaurant and bar near the pools and beach. Dinners at the restaurant were pricey, but the bar had reasonable priced daily Happy Hour drinks and appetizers. Free gas barbecues near the pool, so we noticed that some were grilling their own dinners.
While the resort mailing address says Lahaina, to avoid any confusion for the first time visitor, this resort is really in the Honokowai area, north of Kaanapali.
This resort is wonderful, and we look forward to coming back here again – loved this place and had a great time here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank MalibuFireman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, CA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Honua Kai has some units that you can rent directly through the hotel, or from the condo owners themselves. As far as I know, the units are exactly the same (though some of the amenities for the owner-rented units might vary). When you rent through the hotel, you pay a $25 daily resort fee; when you rent through an owner, you only pay a $10 daily parking fee so it's slightly less. Either way, you have access to all the same things. Overall, the owner-rented units seem to be less expensive, and you can negotiate the rate with some of them.

We rented unit #514 in the Hokulani Tower from an owner through VRBO (listing #204389), and totally loved it. This was our first time staying in this part of Kaanapali (we usually stay south of Black Rock, this is to the north of that) and it was great.

Our unit had a great view (ocean side), and the unit itself was perfect--loved having a full kitchen, washer/dryer, big bathroom, etc. as well as chairs, coolers, and other beach items. Will definitely stay here again if we're in the area!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank JSC3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaluma
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

The Honua Kai is a great hybrid of luxury hotel and condominium. It had nearly everything the Westin next door had, but with a out a third less people per square foot, due to the fact that some of the condos were larger, resulting in less people occupying the resort space. The staff was friendly, the amenities were great, and the place was spotless everywhere. Duke's restaurant and the on-site cafe were a good value, with friendly staff and good food. I will recommend this to all my friends.

Room Tip: Southern balconies get less hot sun in the afternoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Aristotle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodland hills, calif
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

OK...writing a review of Honua Kai is difficult. This was my second stay there....and frankly I would not go back until one thing has changed....let's start:
Our 2 BR ocean view suite was wonderful
The location is awesome
The complex is awesome
The suites are awesome and luxurious
The snorkeling right in front is really good
Having Duke's restaurant on premises is great...
Having said that...what's the rub?
The LOUNGES and CHAIRS around the pool (and on your balcony)....SUCK...BIG TIME! They are SO uncomfortable....you need to go to a chiropractor when you get home. Seriously, this may SOUND like something petty...but they are so uncomfortable to lay on it ruins any time around the pool, or if you just want to sit in one of the chairs and read, after 5 minutes you are aching and have to get up (and my wife and the other two in our party agreed...and we talked to some owners who agreed).

So yes, this is a 4.5 star resort in all other aspects....but if you are going to spend this type of $, you should be COMFORTABLE if you are spending any time by the pool. So THAT is why I gave it 3 stars. I'd go back in a flash IF I knew the lounge chairs were comfortable. but until then.....nope.

Room Tip: At least 2nd floor...ocean view....wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank FOODWINETRAVEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

My family and I stayed at the Honua Kai recently.
We stayed for 2 weeks and really enjoyed this hotel. We loved having a kitchen so we could eat some of our meals in the room.
We stayed in a 1 bedroom mtn view. My wife and I had a great King Size bed and my dauther slept on the pull out couch. Perfect for our family.

The beach at the hotel was nice. A little rocky in some areas but it was geat for Snorleing. If you want to snorkel instead of renting equipment from the hotel you can buy a mask across the street at the Times Market under $20.00. I think the rental was $35 for the week.

Whalers Village is about a 5 minute car ride and they had a lot of shops and places to eat.
Nice place to walk around and people watch.

Dukes Beach House is right on the Honua Kai property. We liked the food and drinks here.

We would recomend to our friends and hope to return someday.

Aloha!

Room Tip: There are two buildings. Ask for the newer of the two. It seemed a little nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rhodeislandbeachbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
0.2 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
24.7 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
4.2 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
1.7 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
2.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Honua Kai Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honua Kai Resort & Spa

Property: Honua Kai Resort & Spa
Address: 130 Kai Malina Parkway, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-8413
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#2 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#6 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#8 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Honua Kai Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 628
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on world-famous Kaanapali North Beach, Honua Kai provides an unparalleled level of service and all the amenities of a luxury resort with expansive one, two, and three bedroom suites. Perhaps the greatest luxury of all is simply the space to spread out. Inside, the feel is that of a luxury Maui vacation home, graciously furnished in exotic wood and polished granite, and tastefully equipped with top of the line appliances. The gourmet kitchens contain everything you need to make a fantastic meal. Or simply make reservations at one of our spectacular restaurants. This is the Hawaii vacation you have always imagined, exactly as you imagined it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Honua Kai Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Honua Kai Hotel Lahaina
Honua Kai Resort And Spa
Honua Kai Resort & Spa Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing