We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Beachfront Resort!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Honua Kai Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Honua Kai Resort & Spa
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Acworth, Georgia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful Beachfront Resort!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

We just returned home from a 6 night stay at Honua Kai and did not want to leave! It is one of the best resorts we have every stayed at. The rooms were spacious, nicely furnished, with top-notch appliances. We had a nice view of the ocean, pool, and grounds from our room. The grounds were gorgeous and the pools are located next to the ocean with views of the surrounding mountains. There was a large beach area and water was just right for swimming and snorkeling. The staff at the resort were friendly and helpful. I highly recommend the resort for both families and couples.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms have great views of ocean, grounds, and pools.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Torey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,042 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,944
    769
    221
    68
    40
See reviews for
1,647
965
23
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,028)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

We really enjoyed both restaurants. Duke's has delicious food and you have to try the lava cake. It is like a giant ice cream sundae. The beautiful beach was near trees that give you shade on the beach, and restored dunes are gorgeous. We walked each day on the boardwalk. The service was excellent. The pools were nice. We had a 2 bedroom with the view of the mountains and saw several rainbows. The condo was clean and was decorated nicely. It was a little too windy on some days but it was not bad. We would love to to go back!

Room Tip: It is worth it to pay extra for the ocean view and it will not be as windy on the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

We recently stayed for 5 nights at Honua Kai and LOVED it !!

Our 3 bedroom apartment was at the end of one of the main wings of the two buildings, with an unimpeded view over the ocean, with the pool and grasslands in the foreground. The apartment was very roomy, top grade appliances and nicely furnished and finished.

Duke's restaurant is onsite, and is great for couples or families, in a beachfront location, with reasonable pricing. All the staff throughout the entire complex were very friendly.

My recommendation would be to request a unit on the end of the building like mine was, otherwise I believe you may be located in a courtyard type area with only partial views of the ocean. These units would be priced accordingly, however I believe the extra dollars for the prime position on the buildings end with the unimpeded views, is money well spent.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OzTraveller101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

We did not want to leave! The view of the mountains from the living room was breathtaking, and we enjoyed our evenings on the patio watching the beautiful Maui sunset while listening to the waves from the beach that was just feet away. Our condo was beautifully decorated, spacious and extremely clean. It was well appointed with modern appliances, dishes, glassware, etc. and we loved having everything we needed right there. We really appreciated the concierge service and were able to sit with someone who helped us plan our activities and then booked each excursion for us at no extra cost. We liked having access to fine dining without leaving the resort. The atmosphere and the food at Duke’s restaurant on the beach were excellent. We are so glad Honua Kai was recommended for our stay in Maui. We were very comfortable and found everything we needed for a relaxing, enjoyable vacation. We look forward to our next stay at the resort. Our kudos to the property manager - everything was very well maintained. You will be very happy with your decision to stay at the Honua Kai Resort,

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Judy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

Just got back from a two week stay at Honua Kai. We rented our unit through VRBO (545 Hokulani with Maui Blue Properties). I had read in other reviews that the hotel staff weren't very friendly if you weren't renting directly from them, but that wasn't the case for us - the minute we pulled up in our rental car, we were greeted warmly by the staff, who helped us with our luggage and parking arrangement.

The unit itself was lovely and spacious. My wife and I were travelling with my mother-in-law and were concerned about everyone having their own space - but no worries here. The view from the lanai was fantastic and we loved watching the sunset every night and the feeding of the koi every morning.

We planned to do a lot of cooking in the unit and went shopping at several places. Prices for produce were CRAZY (we live in Vancouver, so we're used to paying a lot of groceries, but this was some next level stuff). We shopped at the Safeway in Lahaina (but we bought our booze at the Longs in the same mall) and at the Times Market near Honua Kai and found the prices to be similar.

We had big plans to grill but the grills were practically on the other side of the resort from our unit, so we never did end up grilling. Would have been nice to have grills closer to the room.

The resort's location was great - we definitely enjoyed having a car, as most of the places we wanted to go (Lahaina, Kapalua Bay, Surfing Goat Dairy, the lavender farm) were a car ride away. But when we were on the property, we really enjoyed the pools and the beach (some great snorkeling right off the beach - this was probably the highlight of my stay). The one downside of the pool area was the lounge chairs. They were very low to the ground and anyone with knee problems had a very difficult time getting on and off of them. You could rent nicer ones for a fee - or rent a cabana which featured the same low loungers, but with pads on them, for a higher fee. But since we never knew what the wind was going to do, we didn't want to spend the cash in case we abandoned our fancy chairs.

Speaking of the pool - they aren't kidding about the wind. There are days when it's just a pleasant breeze and there are days when you're really worried about the beach umbrella snapping. We took a walk down to Whaler's Village on a very windy day, however, and noted that it was just as windy at the other resorts. We also finished up our stay in Maui at the Four Seasons in Wailea and it was very windy a couple of days there as well. So Maui...it's windy.

Just FYI - as other reviewers have noted, if you are not a fan of children, Honua Kai is not a relaxing place to stay. We thought that by travelling in September, the kid factor would be lower, which it was - there were mainly toddler aged children and younger, most of them in incredibly adorable bathing suits. If I had kids, I would definitely come here. But if you're looking for a quiet, shriek- and splash-free vacation, do not book here.

We had a few meals at Duke's - one dinner, one breakfast and a few lunches by the pool. The food was pretty good and the drinks were also good. The banana pancakes with macadamia nuts were my favourite, with a side of Portuguese sausage - fantastic. The famed Hula Pie was a little stale when we had it the first time, so we gave it a pass after that. We found the pool side service to be quite good.

My mother-in-law started referring to the Aina Gourmet Market as the "rip-off" market - it was pretty pricey there and the first time we were there, we saw a large cockroach in the display case with the sandwiches, so that kind of turned us off. Half the time, we found the staff strangely surly. Their gluten-free cupcakes, however, were AWESOME (and in a different jewel case than the sandwiches) and I braved the surly staff more than once just to get those cupcakes.

The resort is very family oriented and makes a great jumping off point for other Maui adventures - so if you're bringing the kids or you're a group looking for a comfortable home base to start your adventures from, definitely consider booking the two or three bedrooms suites at this resort. It's much more cost effective than renting individual hotel rooms and it's nice to be able to cook whatever meals you want. Between the uncomfortable lounge chairs and the kids, we won't be staying there again - but we would definitely recommend it for anyone who doesn't have these hang-ups.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank rorokimtor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

Just returned from a 9 day stay.....loved it! Our place was beautiful. We stayed in a 2 bedroom place with a view of the ocean and pool. There were 2 bedrooms, each with a king bed and our own beautiful bathroom. Loved how the whole front of glass opened up completely to a spacious lani. The pools were very nice, loved how it was designed. The beach out front was narrow, but seems to be more this part of the island. Loved Dukes, the restaurant in front of the property. Not far was a grocery store. Cooked in a few nights and ate out others. I would highly recommend this place. We are already talking of coming back next year!

Room Tip: Choose rooms facing the pool and ocean....otherwise will be missing the beautiful views..well worth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank NancyBeth21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We rented a two-bedroom suite for our family and just loved it. There is a $25/day fee for parking, pool and fitness facility use.

We stayed in the towers that were adjacent to the main entrance. It was hard to see how to get to them initially because we arrived after dark due to some horrendous delays thanks to our airline.

Arriving late was not a good thing for us. The on-site deli had a limited, resort-priced selection of sandwiches and wraps. The next day we found a grocery store within walking distance that was much more our style.

The kitchen was a dream. Granite countertops, smooth top electric burners, and a toaster with a countdown clock! We got a kick out of that, but were kinda nerdy that way. We had a full size refrigerator so we could prepare many meals and save money by eating in.

There is a washer and dryer in the suite and two lovely bathrooms with Aveda products.

We needed to call maintenance to have the dishwasher fixed. The maintenance mechanic was polite and friendly. He could not tell us how to work the alarm clocks, however, which proved to be an enigma to our entire family.

There is underground parking which is very convenient and there is a large balcony that spans the master bedroom and the living room.

There are many pools on site and a very close proximity to the ocean. The fitness room in the tower was very busy during early morning hours, but thinned out after 9 a.m. There were quite a few cardio machines and a circuit of machines to work specific muscle groups.

Unfortunately the spa has not been completed, so we didn't have the advantage of that amenity.

This is a very nice place to call home while on this beautiful island.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.2 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
0.8 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
4.2 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 31 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#12 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,818 reviews
1.5 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
1.7 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Honua Kai Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honua Kai Resort & Spa

Property: Honua Kai Resort & Spa
Address: 130 Kai Malina Parkway, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-8413
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#6 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#8 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Honua Kai Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 628
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on world-famous Kaanapali North Beach, Honua Kai provides an unparalleled level of service and all the amenities of a luxury resort with expansive one, two, and three bedroom suites. Perhaps the greatest luxury of all is simply the space to spread out. Inside, the feel is that of a luxury Maui vacation home, graciously furnished in exotic wood and polished granite, and tastefully equipped with top of the line appliances. The gourmet kitchens contain everything you need to make a fantastic meal. Or simply make reservations at one of our spectacular restaurants. This is the Hawaii vacation you have always imagined, exactly as you imagined it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Honua Kai Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Honua Kai Resort And Spa
Honua Kai Hotel Lahaina
Honua Kai Resort & Spa Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing