We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Aston Kaanapali Shores(Lahaina)(Great Value!)
$235
$185
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$326
$305
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of $364/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$229
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kaanapali Beach Hotel(Lahaina)(Great Value!)
$230
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$308
$299
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$410
$359
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$609
$399
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Royal Lahaina Resort(Lahaina)(Great Value!)
$229
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$955
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of $1,189/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (3,408)
Filter reviews
3,408 results
Traveler rating
2,149
856
257
89
57
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,149
856
257
89
57
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskonea towerduke's restaurantaina marketgourmet marketsewage plantbosch appliancesfull kitchenocean viewthrough vrbokaanapali beach rentalsevery other daywasher and dryertimes marketquiet poolgrocery storehigh end appliancesunderground parking
Filter
Updating list...
3,048 - 3,053 of 3,408 reviews
Reviewed March 14, 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights with our daughter and son-in-law. Our 2 bedroom condo in the newer tower was very nicely furnished and roomy. We enjoyed having a kitchen and a washer/dryer. There is a grocery store across the street from the property and a gourmet market on the property and we took advantage of both. The pool areas are lovely, the beach is nice, and the sidewalk connects this property to many others in the area. There are lots of comfortable seating areas in the lobby and in the courtyard between the buildings. There are great beaches for snorkeling or surfing, and hikes in the area.
These condos do face on another over a courtyard and if you are picky about privacy you might be uncomfortable. You can see all of the people on their balconies and inside their units, if their drapes are open. This didn't bother us but it is something to be aware of.
Overall I would highly recommend this property if you are looking for a condo. It is just north of the very busy beaches by the big hotels of Kannapali so the location is great, there is a lot beauty in the building, furnishings, and art, and there is plenty to do in the area.

Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
3  Thank DJRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2011

We stayed at Honua Kai from March 7th through the 12th. The only negative was the Tsunami warning but can't control nature! Unfortunately we were up most of the night Thursday because the warning sirens went off every hour until the threat had passed. The hotel did a great job and announced status after each siren. We had to be on alert to evacuate but luckily that never happened. Other than that.......
I had booked directly with the hotel for a one bedroom ocean view but got upgraded to a two bedroom when we got there. The condo is just beautiful and well equipped. Whale season is in full swing and the first night we we there, while dining at Duke's, two whales came up and breached very close off shore right in front of the restaurant! Couldn't ask for more than that.....and no need to pay for a whale watching trip as the entire time we were there you could see plenty of whales from the view off our lanai. Very spectacular! Assuming you have been reading the other reviews for this place I will try and hit the points mentioned.

Beachwalk- great can go for a long way if you like to walk
Beach in front of the hotel-yes a lot of coral so not great for swimming but excellent for snorkeling and well worth doing it, lots of fish
Pools-good and plenty of room for everyone
Times market across street from hotel- Good and well supplied
Specialty market at hotel- Good for specialty items
Housekeeping- read the card so you know what to expect.They do just a resupply of towels etc each day and clean every 3rd day of your stay. Personally I liked this because it was not disruptive.
Duke's restaurant- food is not bad but not great. Atmosphere is great because of location and their nightly entertainment was good. Much better dining available in nearby Lahaina namely MaLa Ocean Club. Decent Chinese restaurant called China Boat right up the street north of the resort.
The rumored sewer smell- did not smell it at all
Conclusion- GO!!! You will love it!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LTnLV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2011

We stayed at the Honua Kai for a week in february and I have to say it was truly one of the most amazing places I have ever stayed. We had two couples in our group and we rented a 2 bedroom 2 bath condo. You can book through the hotel or what we did was book through a property rental company. Owners of the units go through them and we figured we got a better deal this way. (The property management company was called kaanapali beach rentals and I recommend them as well) We were in unit 919 which had great views of the pool and beach. We could see whales from our lanai. This property is beautiful every unit has a lanai where the doors open up completely and everyone just leaves them open all day. All the decor, appliances, furniture, etc are completely brand new and of high quality. The pools are amazing as well as the beach. It is 100% worth the price to stay at this property if you are going to maui. You will not be disappointed. Dukes which is on the hotel property overlooking the water has great food and drinks and a happy hour every night as well as live music. Only downside if you book directly through an owner or property rental company is the hotel staff is rude and unhelpful since they know you didnt book through them and they are technically not obligated to provide any services or help to you if you are problems etc.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank nicoledavey25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2011

Awesome, awesome, awesome! It doesn't get any better! Couldn't find anyone in the staff without a smile. Happy, friendly and helpful. The grounds are beautiful and dining at Duke's by the beach was a treat. I can't say enough about this place and we're planning our next trip there now.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank marlindavista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2011

Stayed for 8 nights in bachelor suite(king bed, kitchen, spaceous bathroom, laundry) on 2nd floor on ocean side (ocean view out past the pool and lawn if walk out onto lanai , but not ocean front). Pay a lot more for ocean view. They are still selling the units - ours did not appear to have an owner yet . With Lanai doors open (full front of room), could hear the pools. Once shut the doors, could not hear any noise at all from other units or outside. Lots of families week we were there. Beach not too crowded and could walk along beach path to Westin. Did not have a good experience at the restaurant attached to the hotel but other good restaurants nearby. Nice snack/coffee/upscale foodstuffs place in lobby, quite pricey. - Great snorkleing on beach in front of hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JoM_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews