We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit Crowded, otherwise Good.”

Pacific Whale Foundation
Book In Advance
More Info
$116.12*
and up
Molokini And Turtle Arches Snorkeling Trip
More Info
$104.12*
and up
Sunset Dinner Cruise: Four Course Dining Experience
More Info
$137.96*
and up
Honolua Bay Snorkel Sail
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Experience Maui's amazing ocean environment with the experts at Pacific Whale Foundation! PacWhale Eco-Adventures offers thrilling and fun ocean adventures based on more than 37 years of marine research and sustainable ecotour experience. PacWhale has cruises for every style of adventure, including dolphin and whalewatch ecotours, snorkel trips, sunset cocktail and dinner cruises, holiday cruises and stargazing ecotours. You'll cruise on ultra-stable, eco-friendly vessels in the company of knowledgeable, friendly certified Marine Naturalists. Choose Pacific Whale Foundation and make a difference: all profits support efforts to protect whales, dolphins and the ocean environment.
Terrace, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A bit Crowded, otherwise Good.”
Reviewed February 7, 2014

There was a long line up to get on the larger boat at 9 30 am. Once we got on, there were spots to sit inside the boat but everyone had flocked to the top of the boat and there was nowhere to really get a good spot to view the whales at that point. The seats inside were very uncomfortable. The staff was very friendly and we did see whales, but I saw more whales on my snorkeling excursion which was really a 2-in-1 versus just a whale watching. This was great if it's your first time out seeing the whales, but I would save my money next time and just go on another snorkeling tour.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank parrotchick07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    906
    202
    69
    38
    35
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Green Bay, WI
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great viewing with knowledgeable crew.”
Reviewed February 7, 2014

We booked last minute after another outing was cancelled due to rain. We left Lahaina in the drizzle, but still had a great time. Jaclyn was our guide and she was very enthusiastic and her love of the whales came through. We had many sightings and her knowledge of the whales added so much to the cruise. Our original plan was to do a whale watching dinner cruise. We talked to other travelers who had gone on some of the dinner cruises and they said they only saw the whales from a great distance. That was not the case with this tour. I would definitely recommend Pacific Whale Foundation.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank KRGreenBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galena, IL
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Exciting whale watch”
Reviewed February 7, 2014

We went with a tour group and didn't personally choose this tour, however the choice couldn't have been better. The boat itself was clean and had plenty of space for everyone to see the whales. The staff was very knowledgeable and answered all the group's questions in great detail. We were very fortunate that a baby humpback was playing in the water just as we left the dock. Its mother was close at hand and surfaced very close to the boat. We watched them for some time before heading out further. I couldn't count the number of whale sightings we experienced during the two hour tour. The hydrophone they dropped into the water when there were no other boats around allowed us to hear the whales' "talking" to each other. Very cool!
Returning to the dock gave us great views of Lahaina from the ocean perspective, which was a bonus.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Boot1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provo, Utah
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good value, knowledgable crew”
Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

We did the sunrise whale watching tour on the raft. Definitely worth the higher price to be on the smaller boat. We had an encounter with four whales that came right up to our raft. Close enough to see every detail. The experience in the small raft just gets you do much closer to the action. The captain and the naturalist that lead the tour were kind, knowledgeable and clearly excited to share this experience with us.

The raft was nice but no frills. Don't do this one if you're looking for snacks and drinks to be passed out. Booked online through their site which have a 10% discount.

Helpful?
Thank C-LynJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding,CA
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Third time with excellent company”
Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

We did a Zodiac whale watch tour this time. Great seats on entire boat. Had about 25 on board. Told us it holds 35 but they purposely don't fill it. Guide and captain very informative and amiable.
We have also done their snorkel to Lanai- excellent. Enjoyed sunset dinner cruise too but think Id prefer a catamaran for this one next time. That's just personal preference. Highly recommended.

Helpful?
Thank goldiep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pacific Whale Foundation also viewed

 

Been to Pacific Whale Foundation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing