We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lana'i Wild Side Eco-Tour - a full day of fun!”

Pacific Whale Foundation
Book In Advance
More Info
$116.12*
and up
Molokini And Turtle Arches Snorkeling Trip
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lana'i Wild Side Eco-Tour - a full day of fun!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

Debated between this trip and the Molokini tour but after reading the description and info about both areas, my sister and I decided on this one.

It was a fun trip and informative. The day started with a breakfast of coffee cake and banana bread and a selection of fruit at the marina. We then boarded the Ocean Adventurer, a rigid hull inflatable boat, and set out. Our tour started off with a bottlenose dolphin sighting just outside of the harbor. They were a bit on the shy side and hunting so we moved on fairly quickly from there. The boat is definitely not a smooth ride but will get you to your locations quickly. We were one of the last pairs to board the boat so ended up sitting on the pontoons (side of the boat). While it made for an exciting ride, it was not all that comfortable and eventually your back will let you know it! The crew made a point of saying that there was no assigned seating and that we should feel free to switch seats but the passengers had other ideas about that. When my sister tried to sit in a normal seat under the shade of the canopy, the lady who had been sitting there rudely told her to move. We ended up on the pontoons the whole time and in the sun. Probably could have made more of an issue of it with the crew if we had felt like rocking the boat (pun intended).

We stopped at three snorkeling sites, the very first we went to had too much of a swell so we went to a different site. My favorite and the most interesting was one where you could swim right up to the rock cliff face and look at all the coral and fish along it. The visibility was quite good and there was lots of life. The site in the harbor was pretty good and we saw a couple of turtles and plenty of fish. The last site was not super great - near a barge harbor. At that point the waters were a bit rough and there wasn't as much reef to see and explore.

Lunch was provided and pretty good though simple fare if a sandwich and other foods. The naturalist with us have a talk on the different types of fish and what they eat and how they live. It was interesting and enriched the experience. Overall the captain and naturalist were fun and helpful and made the experience enjoyable.

In addition to the bottlenose dolphins at the start of the trip, we also got to see spotted and spinner dolphins. The spinner were impressive since one apparently had a hitchhiker (aka fish) stuck on it and it repeatedly jumped out of the water and spun trying to lose it's unwanted passenger. We saw a plethora of fish, several turtles, an eel, sea slugs, all different types of coral and the dolphin trifecta. Not a bad list!

The ride back was exhilarating - the captain took us over some big waves and we caught some good air a few times. It was a good, comprehensive trip that allowed us to see a lot of the Lana'i coastline up close and explore it's offshore treasures.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank PacNWKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    879
    198
    67
    35
    30
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Davenport, IA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Don't Look Anywhere Else!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

The reason why I love going on a whale watch with the Pacific Whale Foundation is because they are a non-profit and the money you spend goes toward research and protecting the beautiful ocean. You are also guaranteed to have staff on board that is extremely knowledgeable about the humpbacks. The staff was friendly, kept us engaged, and we got to see a handful of whales. The best whale watching on Maui is probably between late November through April.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank bravesaturn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
120 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Amazing sunset! Food was good and so was the live music!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

My wife and I both loved this dinner cruise. I booked months in advance and was able to get us a table on the top deck of the ship (right in front of the command deck). There were only two small tables located here. It felt very private and gave us an unobstructed view of the ocean. It was truly amazing! We truly felt they were the best tables on the ship.

The food was good, but not spectacular. Of course the food has never been spectacular on any of the dinner cruises we have ever done, so we didn't expect it to be. We mainly go for the sunsets, not the food. The live music was wonderful and very romantic. The ride was smooth, you could hardly tell you were on a ship. The weather was exceptionally calm that evening too. It was an amazing sunset as the sun set behind the island of Lanai, truly breathtaking!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank JandJ2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Maui Must!!! Exceptional!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

Do not miss the Pacific Whale Foundations "Wild Side Snorkeling Adventure". Our was lead by Captain Craig and Sergio who were the absolute BEST! We took a speedy zodiac over to the Island of Lanai and stopped at three different types of reefs along the south and west coastline. We snorkeled these reefs with more varieties of fish than a naturalist could identify. We snorkeled caves and cliff reefs and explored places you could only access by small craft. The highlight was snorkeling with moray eels and turtles. After scuba in the Bahamas, Virgin and Hawaiian Islands, we both gave this simple trip a #1 ranking over any of them. Here's the value we got for $130.00- 1. Island style breakfast and extremely filling lunch. Plenty of non-alcoholic drinks throughout trip. 2. An amazing and Safe ride from Lahaina harbor to the island of Lanai on a speedy zodiac-complete with toilet. 3. Snorkel at 3 completely different different reef systems. 4. A naturalists class identifying fish and history of Lanai. 5. Opportunity to spot spinner dolphin and whales if present in the ocean that day. We Will repeat this trip annually. An unbelievable value! Thanks Captain Craig and Sergio for a great trip!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Reedmtn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui, Hawaii
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great day on the Wildside!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

I went on PWF's Lana'i wildside adventure and it was fantastic. We snorkeled at 4 different locations across Lana'i and saw spinner dolphins four different times! Capt Ben was an excellent pilot and picked our sites well. The naturalist christy knows her marine biology. She led us on reef tours at all of the snorkel spots and gave a great presentation afterward about the different fish and wildlife we saw. It was 7 hours of fun in the sun, except for a small spot of rain but we were wet already. I've done a lot of tours with PWF and this is their best one!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank NYGreenman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pacific Whale Foundation also viewed

 

Been to Pacific Whale Foundation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing