We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint Historic Museum House”

Baldwin Home Museum
Ranked #30 of 123 things to do in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Baldwin Home was built in 1834 and served as the home of a practicing physician, Rev. Dwight Baldwin who is credited for saving the people of Maui, Molokai and Lanai from the scourge of smallpox during the terrible epidemic of 1853. The home itself, its household furniture, aged photographs, artifacts, displays and library present a fascinating picture of the busy Sandwich Isles life as lived by a missionary who was both a physician and a constructive community force.
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Quaint Historic Museum House”
Reviewed June 15, 2014

We came across the Baldwin Home Museum while walking around and exploring Lahaina. We were hesitant about paying admission for such a small historic house museum, but we thought it was worth it because admission included the cost of a visit to the Wo Hing Society Hall another historic building in Lahaina. The Baldwin house is small and visitors are limited to viewing the rooms on the main level. However, the artifacts from the early 1800s were fascinating and helped illustrate for us the history of the Baldwin family on Maui and what life was like for early settlers. The museum docent we met was fantastic! He explained to us in great detail the history of the Baldwin family and in the history of the area. We enjoy museums and historic homes so our trip to the Baldwin Home Museum was truly worthwhile.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Gaby R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    70
    30
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“It was okay”
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Very short tour as there are only six rooms to see on the first floor and the second floor isn't on display. There were some interesting items to see, but it wasn't really worth $7 (but we did get in to the Wing Ho Museum with that also).
Helpful tip: if you're already going to the Alexander & Baldwin Sugar Museum in Puunene or the Wing Ho Museum in Lahaina, you can get a combo pass for all three for $10/person. A much better value in my opinion since none of them are stellar.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank hunnyjar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, California
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Three Maui museums for one price.”
Reviewed May 30, 2014

By purchasing the "Passport to the Past," you pre-pay a reduced entry-fee to three Maui museums: Sugar Museum (located in Pu'unene), and the Baldwin Home and Wo Hing Museums (both in Lahaina). We purchased our "passport" at the Baldwin Home. These museums are reviewed elsewhere. Plan on one to two hours for each visit. Individual senior passport cost: $8.00.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ljbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 6 Contributor
445 reviews
161 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Nice place to learn a little history of Lahaina”
Reviewed May 14, 2014

We toured the house and enjoyed it quite a bit. Not a long tour and really not a great deal to see, but still a nice little museum and we were glad we went. We did the candle light tour on a Friday night and I think that is probably the best way to see it.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank glhenry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Local history comes alive”
Reviewed February 7, 2014

We appreciated that there is such an active and engaged local history society that runs this museum. Context! Helps to understand the history of the island and once you "meet" the Baldwins, they pop up everywhere on Maui, good to have the background information.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank caromac123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Baldwin Home Museum also viewed

 

Been to Baldwin Home Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing