We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“better than the rest”

Ululani's Hawaiian Shave Ice
Ranked #2 of 26 Dessert in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $8
Cuisines: Fast Food, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Outdoor Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: All Shave Ice is Not Created Equal... We specialize in and are passionate about serving the BEST shave ice! Now open for 5 years, we have rapidly become recognized as the top shave ice shop in Maui and one of the top 3 shave ice shops in ALL of Hawaii! We are known for the softest ice (comparable to Waiola's on Oahu), the best tasting flavors (we make 100% of our flavors using premium fruit purees, fresh fruits (when available), extracts, and concentrates from Hawaii and all across the United States), and warm friendly service with true ALOHA spirit! We specialize in our tropical fruit flavors. Our mango, coconut, pineapple, lilikoi (passion fruit), and guava taste like biting into the fresh fruit itself. From the filtered water to the premium gourmet Roselani's Ice Cream to the homemade mochi and azuki add-ons, we have thought through every detail of the shave ice to provide the BEST tasting shave ice possible! Get rid of any preconceived notions of what a shave ice or snow cone is like.....this takes shave ice beyond the highest level imaginable!
Medicine Hat, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“better than the rest”
Reviewed May 9, 2014

We had other shaved ice but this one rocked. Was creamy and more than just ice and syrup.. I was more like a dessert.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bill555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,011 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,613
    283
    81
    25
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
242 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Because anything else is just a snow cone”
Reviewed May 8, 2014

I've had 2 other "shaved ice" treats on Maui this visit- both were the crushed ice you expect with a snow cone and the syrups you expect to go with them. This was the real thing- a block of ice shaved slowly, syrups with actual fruit in them and creamy coconut ice cream on the bottom to die for. I won't be going anywhere else again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DrCindy87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed May 8, 2014

Ululani's came highly recommended by one of our tour guides. He'd been living in Lahaina for many years and said he'd just discovered Ululani's 1 or 2 years ago and now he doesn't go anywhere else for shave ice. We had to try it right? Definitely worth the hype. Get the ice cream on the bottom, and the drizzle on top! Yummy!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jnwilson3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
535 reviews
296 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 271 helpful votes
“wonderful shaved ice”
Reviewed May 7, 2014

I had seen this place on various travel websites. The first night we ran right into it. We tried it. I got one of their favorite combinations-Lahaina. My husband got the rainbow flavored. The staff is very friendly and fast. We loved talking to them. This was the best shaved ice I had ever had. It was so light and silky. It was a great treat. We stopped by a second time and I got the rainbow, husband got root beer float with a snow cap on top. Again staff very friendly and fast. If in town stop by. Worth your time.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Me9247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Worth the stop!”
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Fantastic shaved ice! A truly fun experience especially for the kids! Nothing better then having over 20-30 flavors to chose from and they all taste so good!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hollyy258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ululani's Hawaiian Shave Ice also viewed

 

Been to Ululani's Hawaiian Shave Ice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing