We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Best Shaved Ice on the Island. Period.”

Ululani's Hawaiian Shave Ice
Ranked #2 of 26 Dessert in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $8
Cuisines: Fast Food, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Outdoor Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: All Shave Ice is Not Created Equal... We specialize in and are passionate about serving the BEST shave ice! Now open for 5 years, we have rapidly become recognized as the top shave ice shop in Maui and one of the top 3 shave ice shops in ALL of Hawaii! We are known for the softest ice (comparable to Waiola's on Oahu), the best tasting flavors (we make 100% of our flavors using premium fruit purees, fresh fruits (when available), extracts, and concentrates from Hawaii and all across the United States), and warm friendly service with true ALOHA spirit! We specialize in our tropical fruit flavors. Our mango, coconut, pineapple, lilikoi (passion fruit), and guava taste like biting into the fresh fruit itself. From the filtered water to the premium gourmet Roselani's Ice Cream to the homemade mochi and azuki add-ons, we have thought through every detail of the shave ice to provide the BEST tasting shave ice possible! Get rid of any preconceived notions of what a shave ice or snow cone is like.....this takes shave ice beyond the highest level imaginable!
Fountain Valley, California
Level Contributor
75 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“The Best Shaved Ice on the Island. Period.”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Can't tell you how they do it, but we tried several different place, and this was hands down the best!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eaar O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,979 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,585
    280
    81
    25
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Really great”
Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

It was really really good. The shave ice was not that expensive and it was really great and actual shave ice not just snow cones saying that it was shave ice actually shave ice really good.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bob10456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
261 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Yum!”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

A friend recommended we stop here while walking Front St and I’m glad she did! We tried mango, passion fruit and pineapple, all were very good! It was a great treat to have while shopping.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChantalTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tustin, California
Level Contributor
79 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Simply the best...None better”
Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

We get off the plane in Maui, we stop at Ululani's on our way to Lahaina. We stop on Front street on our way to the hotel to get a refill and then we repeat the process when we leave to head back to the mainland. So shave ice , what could possibly make the difference in taste. All the shave machines are basically the same. It's the syrup silly! Naturally made with natural ingredients and real cane sugar the flavoring syrups are the real deal, homemade, real fruit tasting and nothing artificial. We learned that the mayor of Lahaina awarded them with best new business. Very understandable considering its a family run business that had overwhelming product pride and serves up with real Aloha. Can't wait to get back for more!

Helpful?
Thank SpartacusScrimshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Had to go just because it's #1”
Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I are big into sweets. Give us a piece of pizza vs a piece of pie any day! But how can you not try #1 on TA?!?! We walked by this stand one day and the line was insanely long. We figured we would try another day. After dinner while in Old Lahina we tried again. No line this time. Super score! The staff was super nice and made suggestions since we have never had before. WOW we were impressed! We got the Haleakala with Mac Nut ice cream on the bottom. Now we know why it's #1! Yum!

Helpful?
Thank Briner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ululani's Hawaiian Shave Ice also viewed

 

Been to Ululani's Hawaiian Shave Ice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing