We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Incredible Sunrises over Haleakala, Staying at a Cabin on the Beach!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Camp Olowalu

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lahaina
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Camp Olowalu
Ranked #27 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Lahaina
Pomeroy, Washington, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Incredible Sunrises over Haleakala, Staying at a Cabin on the Beach!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2012

We spent a wonderful 2 weeks in a cabin on the beach. We were so fortunate to be able to stay at Camp Olowalu, as they did not have a large group renting all the cabins. There were other couples in the other cabins, whom were all friendly. The cabins don't have bathroom or kitchen facilities, but the common facilities were quite acceptable. I loved having access to the commercial style kitchen, and enjoyed getting to know the other cabin campers. The site managers were very helpful, friendly and professional. I would highly recommend it. We did stay in a nice hotel on the one night a large group had all the cabins rented for a child's birthday party, and so much preferred our little cabin on the beach to the nice hotel!

Room Tip: There is no maid service, how clean your cabin is, is up to you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cindi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    25
    13
    7
    10
See reviews for
15
36
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
118 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

We've camped all the islands and this was one of our faves. And we're not grubby hippies: I'm a college professor and my boyfriend is an executive.
Legal camping in Maui either means by the airport where they have tons of people, guards patrolling to make sure you have your permits and people sleeping in their cars in the lot because they show up on a day when you can't get permits. Or, all the way down to Hana. Or up at the volcano.
Olowalu is super location for either going to the north or south beaches on the west side. It's quiet, despite being next to the hwy, and compared to many HI camp sites we've been to, clean. We loved the open showers and maybe we were lucky but the toilets were always clean and had been dumped recently. Plenty of TP, which Oahu camp sites never had.
Yes there were full-timers, but they will be at most HI sites. As someone else mentioned, they didn't seem overtly friendly or unfriendly and we felt safe in general. In case you've never camped HI, we've literally been at sites where the police came to break up domestic violence disputes. There was none of that vibe.
The beach next to camp is not a great sand beach and although the reefs have been reviewed well in places, we heard that was from a long time ago. But still, a great location. We brought a hammock and took a nap hanging over the water between some trees. And that's what we go to HI for: to be out and about, relax, and enjoy the land.
The mgt. is chill and doesn't hassle for payment or permit checks on a daily basis like other parks do. You're near Lahaina for eats. You're paying $10 a day. It's a great stay and I wish more hotel dwellers could experience HI this way.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
7 Thank KayClifton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayreuth, Deutschland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2011

a very easy way to camp at maui without having problems with state park officers, because its privat and the camp manager is friendly.
i only put cash in the postbox at arriving in the evening and build up my tent.
there are also cabins available.


tx for this cheap and easy accommodation!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank chrisxxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2011

It smells pee, and everybody seems to be there for more than 14 days (which is the limit)... You don't want to camp there for 10$/person/night...

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Pedrobeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2011

This was my first camp site once I reached the island. I am a single woman who wanted to see this island in a unique way. This Camp reminded me of a place where old soldiers or drug destroyed men who otherwise would be homeless hang out. Most tents there had been there a very long time (months to years), some even had a "garage/storage" tent set-up. These guys are here to stay. The rent/mo is cheap there ($300-320). The campsites were right up near the beach which was nice, and the man next to me was nice enough to warn me about the painful sting of the caterpillars, thorns on the trees, etc. I do think as some of the other reviews that the campsites need to be freshened up, the fallen trees are definately seen in other parts of Maui, it just needs a bit of attention (limbs, etc) - it is rather dusty too.

Will I stay here again? No, I won't. I would rather pitch my tent on a more open beach or drive to Hana and stay at Wainapanapa State Park where it is impeccable!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Laurel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2011

A combination of US and international travelers and homeless people on Maui.

The campground could be cleaner and better configured, but I have to admit that it was one of the quietest campgrounds (at night) I have ever stayed at. I also liked the fact that no one was burning (or trying to burn) open campfires -- so you could enjoy the good air quality. You can also hear the waves breaking at night.

I think my nerves were steady in regards to staying in a semi-homeless encampment, but I could easily see how many people would feel uncomfortable in that type of situation. In the defense of the "permanent" residents there, they seemed fairly mellow and not overly friendly or unfriendly.

I played it safe and put everything inside my tent in my rental car when I left for the day (I just left my tent there during the day -- nothing else).

Suggestion to owners: have a max stay limit (2 weeks to a month). Maybe clean up the campground and the grounds around it a bit.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank d d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahaina, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2011

A perfect place to stay right on the beach in beautiful Olowalu Maui for very cheap. Tent camping or cabins are available. Beautiful coral reef right out front great for kayaks and snorkeling and stand up. All are here for rent for a good price as well.

I am a little confused by all the previous negative reviews, we have expereinced nothing but good. Come check it out for yourselves! One of our favorite places on Earth...We will be back.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SunnnyDays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
6.2 mi away
Lahaina Inn
Lahaina Inn
#30 of 32 in Lahaina
3.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Tiki Beach Hostel
The Tiki Beach Hostel
#30 of 42 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
6.8 mi away
Puunoa Beach Estates
Puunoa Beach Estates
#23 of 42 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Old Lahaina House
Old Lahaina House
#8 of 11 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
7.2 mi away
Lahaina Ocean's Edge
Lahaina Ocean's Edge
#7 of 11 in Lahaina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
3.2 mi away
Ho'oilo House
Ho'oilo House
#3 of 11 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camp Olowalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camp Olowalu

Property: Camp Olowalu
Address: 800 Olowalu Village Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9702
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Lahaina
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camp Olowalu is an affordable alternative to hotels while being even closer to nature. Visiting this rustic retreat is like visiting Hawaii the way it used to be - a peaceful and fun tropical paradise year-round. Experience some of the best whale watching, snorkeling, and kayaking Maui has to offer right off our beachfront property. Hike multiple nearby trails and discover the traces of ancient Hawaii. Adventure is waiting for you right outside your camping grounds. We offer our cabins for group events and tentalows and the camp sites for individuals ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Camp Olowalu Hotel Lahaina
Camp Olowalu Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing