We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Hawaiian Surf Academy

Royal Hawaiian Surf Academy
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Expert instructors and professional surfers teach you to ride a wave on your first lesson, then help you improve, fast! First time surfers and athletes looking to improve performance are welcome.
Useful Information: Lockers / storage, Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Wheelchair access
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

Super friendly staff and professional. We booked a privet lessen to our two sons (ages 9 and 11 years old) that know how to surf. The instructor was very professional and taught them in 2 hours a lot of new thinks.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TAMARA K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,405 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,335
    47
    15
    3
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Poughkeepsie
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent place to rent a SUP!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

Super friendly staff, great prices and very easy to rent a paddleboard for three hours. They even lent me a rash guard and car straps without any extra charge. Would highly recommend.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank michapok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Smile, you're with the best. Jaws is next”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I walked into the royal surf academy while eating shave ice. The atmosphere was laid back but professional. They were up front with their prices and didn't pressure us at all. I came back a day later and was recognized and welcomed back. We chose the first lesson of the day at 7:45am. Dreyson got us all our gear and after a short walk to the beach, gave us a fantastic overview of how to do things. His confidence in us and his non stop smile gave us all the motivation we needed to get in the water and get surfing. I won't give away his techniques but we were both up the first time. After 2.5 hours on the waves we came in to review our photos. At $20 they are a great memory and a good laugh. The best thing is seeing how hard we are concentrating while Dreyson beams with pride in the background. With royal academy you'll be channeling your inner DUKE in no time. Till we see you again, Aloha!

Helpful?
Thank Durka81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Experience!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

I would highly recommend this surf class for anyone who wants to have a blast learning to do one of the most fun activities in Hawaii with the best instructors out there. Our teacher, Josh, was absolutely awesome. Friendly, knowledgeable, and and an excellent instructor. Top notch 5 star experience

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank lplummer232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic for first timers!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

My husband and I, who had never set foot on a surf board in our lives, took several semi-private lessons with the Royal Hawaiian Surf Academy and we were surfing in no time at all! They provide all the gear, and the instructors are friendly and professional. We had such a great time that we went back twice after the fist lesson. Not the cheapest but well Worth it!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank rialtox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Hawaiian Surf Academy also viewed

 

Been to Royal Hawaiian Surf Academy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing