We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgettable!”

Royal Hawaiian Surf Academy
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Expert instructors and professional surfers teach you to ride a wave on your first lesson, then help you improve, fast! First time surfers and athletes looking to improve performance are welcome.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Lockers / storage, Activities for young children, Activities for older children
2 reviews
“Unforgettable!”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

I was nervous about surfing for the first time but Steve immediately made me feel comfortable with his simple instructions. He was fun, funny, informative and really helpful. He got everyone up after a brief lesson and would help us catch a second wave if we weren't successful with the first one on that turn. By the end he wanted us to get at least two more waves but was awesome and got us three more. Definitely recommend this academy and Steve as the instructor.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank soylee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,428 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,358
    47
    15
    3
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Round two with Royal Hawaiian”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Back to Maui and now my 8 and so to be 5 year old want to surf. Thank goodness DJ was there and was able to take my 8 year old out again (2 years later). DJ was awesome and has the perfect personality to be in the teaching business. He truly has the aloha spirit and my son had such an awesome time with him! Thanks DJ

My soon to be 5 year old didn't fair as well. He might have been too young. Although his instructor was nice I'm not sure he is the best fit for younger clients and thought he would be better suited for clients 12 and older! He might have rushed the process of getting into the ocean and on a wave to fast vs hanging out and getting him a little bit more familiar with what to expect and do.

Will be back and hope DJ is still there!!!!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andrea E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great surf lessons”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Josh did a great job teaching my daughter and me how to surf. We both got up on our boards very quickly, with lots of laughs along the way.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Holly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Friendly greeting upon arrival, they had the girls surfing in no time! We enjoyed our experience! Mahalo!!!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceburg, Tennessee
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Josh is the best”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

My niece and nephew enjoyed surf and paddle board lessons with Josh. We was very knowledgeable and kind. He is truly a great teacher and had both surfing in very little time. Great job...Josh!!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Hawaiian Surf Academy also viewed

 

Been to Royal Hawaiian Surf Academy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing