We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular view, beautiful property, best value I know on on Maui”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lokelani Condominiums
Ranked #18 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Fountain Valley, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Spectacular view, beautiful property, best value I know on on Maui”
Reviewed June 16, 2010

Lokelani sits halfway between Kaanapali and Kapalua. All of the rooms are 30 feet from the ocean, and there is a semi-private beach with swimming and snorkeling immediately adjacent to the property. The view of the ocean, Lanai, and Molokai from the sitting room and the upstairs main bedroom is incredible (we stayed in an upstairs two bedroom unit; the downstairs 1 bedroom units have the same view from the sitting area and lanai, but the bedroom is in the back). Every morning we would sit on the deck and watch turtles feeding less than 100 feet away. I was told you have a great view of whales in the winter, but we were there after the season.

STRENGTHS:
--Our room was spotless, well appointed (HD TV, telephone, WI-Fi and plug-in internet, beautiful island decor), and very well equipped (full kitchen with all utensils, full size washer and dryer, coffee maker, etc.). There are beach towels in each room, and staff has beach chairs and ice chests available.
--Staff (especially Kim) were at all times helpful and friendly. One minor issue with the room (sticky sliding door) came up, but they fixed it immediately. On the way home, I accidentally dialed her upon arrival at LAX. She picked up the phone (and was pleasant!) at 2:00 am her time.
--View! Gentle waves lapping at the front of the property! 30 feet from ocean, watching the turtles all day, rainbows in the morning and sunsets at night! Exclamation points aside, you have the feeling you are in the only room in paradise.
--Dedicated parking space (1 per room) very close to room.
--Ease of access to all of the north end of Maui
--Access to swimming and snorkeling on the property
--Very, very quiet and peaceful
--Do not know the square footage, but the upstairs units are very, very spacious.

NEUTRAL
--No airconditioning; we knew this going in and frankly we felt great at night. It could be more of an issue in August, but the breeze blows virtually around the clock
--They are condos, so no amenities like a restaurant or room service

NEGATIVE
--The back bedrooms (all downstairs units, and the second upstairs bedroom) get more road noise than surf noise. If I were in a downstairs unit, I would seriously consider sleeping on the sofa bed so that I could enjoy the sound of the ocean.

CONCLUSION
If you are looking for a peaceful, self directed, beachfront vacation in Hawaii there is no better spot on Maui. Period. Combined with the price, this property is an excellent value

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Babycatcher_C_U_AT10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    28
    5
    4
    2
See reviews for
65
71
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Box Elder, South Dakota
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2010

We stayed in Unit 206C I think (writing this 3 years later) upstairs northwest corner unit. Excellent condo with two lanais and views you don't often get for the price. The decor during our stay was... ummm...interesting. Hawaiian art objects including a naked-from-the-grass-skirt-up wooden hula goddess! Walking distance to "Bad Azz (can't use ss?) Coffee - they serve organic too - my wife drinks coffee, not me, and a fish market. Weekly farmers market too.
Definitely a good choice for ocean front vacationers since this complex was built before moratoriums on how close buildings can be to ocean. Literally 50 feet max. from the water.

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sunling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
171 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2010

We found Lokelani C205 on TripAdvisor, and having never been to Maui before we did a lot of research to make sure we found a place with everything we were looking for. The condos are in a nice little area called Honokowai (near Lahaina), within short (5-10) minute walking distance of some nice useful stores (Bad A-- Coffee company, Farmer's Market, ABC stores), and a public beach. Our unit was 2 floors, 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms (each with shower), a great updated kitchen, and 2 lanais. It had a beautiful view of the ocean, which was only about 30 feet away! Facing west we had beautiful sunsets every night. The beach out front, while small, is private, and gave easy access to some nice swimming and snorkeling. We saw at least 6-8 turtles every day, since they like to feed on the rocks out front. Often they were less than 6 feet off the shoreline. The unit was very clean, and the staff helpful (we rented from the condo rental company). The pool out back is kind of small, but fine for getting a quick dip when you get too hot. There are plenty of nice bbq's available (all Webers!) that are kept clean and ready for use when you need them. We stayed as two couples (no children), and could not have been more pleased with this place. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dee_west
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2010

We have been to Lokelani a couple times, most recently this past October. We stayed in C101 which is a 1 bedroom unit & we thought it was great! I love that it is a small community & not a huge high rise, the views are amazing since you are just steps from the ocean, and it is quiet & very affordable. Location is good, just about 15 minutes to Kaanapali & Lahaina. There is a small beach just down the path from Lokelani & there is also a small swimming pool. I haven't ever seen kids there, it's definately a more mature feel. Our unit was very nicely appointed & recently updated but I understand some others could use a makeover. There are photos of all the units on the Lokelani website so you can check them out before booking. Size-wise I'd say it's small but comfortable. There is air conditioning available in the bedroom only but we didn't even need to use it, we just used the ceiling fan & cracked the window in the bedroom. It was great having a full kitchen and a washer/dryer in the unit. We just felt right at home. It's nothing fancy or elaborate, but we thought it was perfect for what we needed. If you require maid service and someone to bring you a mai tai, then you should stay at a resort and pay the difference. I can't imagine finding a better price to be so close to the ocean. It was so nice to relax on the lanai and just soak in all the beauty. Every unit has a spectacular view of the sunset too. We would stay there again for sure!

Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank RoLo822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2010

My son got to go to Kapalua Golf Course for a tournament involving the optimist club. We had tried for a number of weeks to find a place to stay and gave up not being happy with what we had seen, we canned the idea, but the night before he left we got a last min destination airline tickets and found this condominium site, who gave us a condo at a last minute notice. It was a wonderful place to visit and the condos private and relaxing! Would love to return at some point! A trip to great last minute trip to remember!

Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank emeraldeyeswv50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2010

Lokelani is a small condominium complex with a near perfect location on a small beach about 5 miles north of Lahaina. We have stayed for several weeks every other year since 1995. We always reserve the next stay when we leave. We have used a second & third floor unit with 2 bedrooms, 2 baths and full kitchen (beautifully equipped.) The first floor units are single bedroom units. All of the first floor units have a lanai that opens onto a narrow grass plot and then the ocean. There is a small poot on the opposite side from the ocean. The whole property is well maintained and several owners live in their units full time. If you love the ocean there is no better value.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimcalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 23, 2009

Very clean and quiet...away from busy resort areas. Not great for small children. Unit A-203 was very nice/comfortable for four. Helpful and courteous staff. A great place to base your day trips from and come home to relax. Nothing is very far away in Maui. Depending on time of year, air conditioning would be welcome in late afternoons, but trade winds and fans help keep it comfortable. Why go to Maui if you can't take the heat?

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HitTheRoadMidwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
1.0 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
0.8 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
2,489 reviews
2.5 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
3,987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
2.7 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
0.4 mi away
Noelani Condominium Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lokelani Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lokelani Condominiums

Property: Lokelani Condominiums
Address: 3833 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-8935
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lokelani Condominiums 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Maui, The Valley Isle, Lokelani Condominiums hug the shoreline on Maui's famous West Side. Our low rise condominiums are situated on a picturesque, reef-protected sandy cove away from the main road and 30 feet from the ocean with a spectacular westerly view of fabulous sunsets, framed between the islands of Molokai and Lanai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Lokelani Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lokelani Condominiums Hotel Lahaina
Lokelani Condominiums Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing