We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Full ocean view...Gorgeous decor...Perfect!”
Review of Hololani Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hololani Resort
Ranked #29 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Forestville, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Full ocean view...Gorgeous decor...Perfect!”
Reviewed August 16, 2006

As we stepped through the door into 402-A, our adult daughter's first words were, "Way to go, Mom!" Thanks to Trip Advisor, we really had found a winner! Unit 402-A is absolutely beautiful!! This recently remodeled condo has everything... granite counter tops, mirrored walls, tiled floors, all part of a warm, very tasteful tropical decor. An ocean view through floor to ceiling windows spans the entire length of the living room and front bedroom. Everything we needed was available from coffee filters, baggies and cookie sheets to a DVD player...We also had access to BBQs and a large room for private parties. Really, other than our food, we lacked nothing to make our stay comfortable. The incredible part of all of this is that our accommodations were far more inviting and luxurious than what we saw when visiting family staying in a high-end time share up the street.

I want to give you the full picture of Hololani Resort. It is a comparatively small condo, a little older than those nearby. The elevator is badly in need of new carpeting and a fresh coat of paint. i can't imagine that all of the units are as nice as 402-A as each owner decorates to his taste and budget, but we heard only positive remarks from other guests. The pool is small but well maintained. In the evening, the area is aglow with tiki torches, easily enjoyed from our lanai.

Marcia in the office is very helpful. I asked her to select the best unit for our needs. She certainly did a great job with that! Upon departure, I left our camera battery plugged into the wall. She immediately mailed it back to me which I very much appreciated.

Lots of restaurants are within walking distance. There are three supermarkets within a ten minute drive. Expect to pay more for groceries. (In one store, Bing cherries were $12.95 a pound!) We found the best prices at Safeway and were glad we had shopped first at Costco, near the airport. You will need to take your own salt and pepper as all cndiments are removed from the condos between stays.

Bottom line...When we return to Maui one day, we will definitely stay at Hololani Resort!

  • Liked — Location, decor, clean, value
  • Disliked — The elevator
  • Tips/Secrets — Ask for Unit 402-A
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
21 Thank NancyJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    46
    11
    6
    5
See reviews for
70
33
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2006

My family of 3 and my sister spent 5 days at Hololani in early Aug 2006

In general, we enjoyed our stay at the property.

The Hololani condos are located in Kahana which about 15-20 mins north of Lahaina and 5 minutes south of Kapalua.

About 1 block away on Hoohui street, there's all the stores you need to make your vacation enjoyable. There's a Whalers' general store which is basically convenient store similar to ABC store. In the same shopping center is a McDonald's, Roy's ( yes, the famous chain restaurant from Oahu), Outback Steak House, local coffee hangout and a local micro brewery. In addition, you can get all our watersport needs at the Maui Dive shop.

As an added plus, there's a decent Chinese restaurant hidden on the same street about 1.5 blocks away called China boat. So if you are craving chinese food, this is the place. You don't need to drive 15-20 minutes to Lahaina

The Hololani condos have two twin towers 8 stories high; the buildings are probably built from the early to mid 1970s

The condos are literally on the beach. If you are a light sleeper and can't stand to listen to the waves , then this place is not for you.
Also if you open the front door to your unit, you'll get the wonderful cross wind to cool the condo. The breeze was great and comforting.

During our stay building B was being reneuvated so it was a little bit noisy with the constructing, but nothing worth losing sleep or complaining about.
Looking at some of the units from the pool, the CC&Rs for this condo is lax, because some units have fans installed in the lanai, others don't/


We stayed in unit A303. The unit was in good condition; the bathroom fixtures needed to be replaced and updated though.
One of the towel racks was coming apart too.

The pool is small but good size. The beach adjacent to the property is narrow and has sharp rocks, but it's still romantic for sunsets or early mornings. our 11 month old son enjoyed the beach.
The BBQ grills are easy to use

When we arrived, we were given lots of good tips in Maui tour books. Marcia, the property manager was helpful in our trip to Hana; she let us borrow an audio CD of the road to Hana.

There were some guests who has some noisy kids but they quieted down as soon as someone asked them to chill out.


One thing I would change is to make it a house rules for non smoking certain hours by the pool. I have an infant and several times we left because there were guests who were smoking.


Would I stay here again? probably, but I am curious about staying in other towns like Kaanapili , Kapalua or Kihei. So it's most likely I would go to other place.

With that being said, this place is a great value for families needing 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, assigned parking, walking distance to food stores, and as close as you can get with a view of the beach and ocean

Thinking about owning a condo in Hololani - one unit on the 6th floor as asking for $980k for 2bd, 2ba and 770 square feet.

  • Liked — overall value
  • Disliked — smoking at the ppol
  • Tips/Secrets — try it out
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
12 Thank ilovegoogle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2006

Myself, my DH and our teenage daughter stayed here for a week, June 30-July 7. We absolutlely loved this place and the condo we stayed in. It was beautifully decorated, clean and very well kept, the grounds were lovely and well maintained and the pool/bbq area was nice. The kitchen was well supplied. The stackable washer and dryer were very handy to have in the condo. We really liked the fact that it is a smaller complex, we really felt like we were at "home". The beach is in fact a "wet" beach, but it wasn't that big of a deal since right next to it, there is a very nice stretch to walk on or lay on. It was wonderful to go to sleep to the sound of the waves and to wake up to the sound of the waves. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
13 Thank Jellybeanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Level Contributor
133 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2006

Just spent 10 days in A-104 [--]kahanaoasis[--] ( photo) It is a very nice and quiet condo, NO BEACH that was the only bummer, But the pool was great very uncrouded nice grills nice location and assigned parking beautiful view and sunset.

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
7 Thank kellie-jo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 25, 2006

Based on reviews found on Tripadvisor, we booked a week at the Hololani. It was great right from the start with making our reservation with Marcia, the friendly, efficient office manager. Our flight to Maui was delayed, so when we arrived at Hololani, we were really tired. We were pleased that that our unit(B603)was just as promised, with welcoming lights and ceiling fans on, and we fell asleep to the sound of the ocean. The next morning we awoke to great ocean views from the lanai. The condo and grounds were really clean and well-kept. Hololani doesn't have the fancy, busy feeling of the expensive resorts, but it is a small, friendly place that is very comfortable and is a good value for the money. It is easy to get to the good swimming/snorkeling beaches as well as shopping.

We'd definitely recommend the Hololani, especially the units on the upper floors as our views were great! We also got the idea from Tripadvisor to get a free Safeway discount card at the Lahaina store, and we saved alot with that. Just pick one up at the customer service desk, and the cashier will give you the card.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2006

Our family of five stayed at the Hololani for about a week in February and thoroughly enjoyed our time there. Our suite was larger than we expected and was clean and recently renovated. The beds were comfortable and the kitchen was well-equipped. We particularly enjoyed the availability of barbeques by the pool. The grounds and the pool are very well maintained.

The views of the ocean, with Lanai and Molokai clearly visible are absolutely breathtaking. When we visited in February, we could easily see whales just offshore and were awed by their fantastic breaches.

There was not a wide beach right at this location, although there was some sand and enough length for a short walk. I would recommend you rent a car and simply drive to the many beaches in Maui - some of the best are within 5 to 10 minutes of the unit. We particularly enjoyed the snorkelling at Kapalua Bay (5 minutes north).

Here's a tip - don't immediately go out and purchase boogie boards etc. for your visit - check with the hotel manager - often people leave their boogie boards and other equipment behind at the hotel - these are made available for your use!

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
30 Thank Fan-of-Maui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
372 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 332 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2006

We stayed at the Hololani from Dec. 27, 2005 through Jan. 4, 2006 - What a great place to spend New Years or any other day of the year.

Our unit was B-204, it was very clean, we had everything we needed in the kitchen and even utensils for the BBQs. Tons of dishes so we didn't have to run the dishwasher all the time. It was nice, peaceful, relaxing and quiet.

The other guests and the staff were very friendly. There are a set of small steps that lead right down to the beach. Our unit had a closet full of beach toys and chairs that I assume they had accumulated from other visitors not wanting to pack them and take home. We had great views of both Lanai and Molokai from both balconies (lanais). The grounds are beautiful full of all sorts of tropical flowers, even cute little banana trees.

The surf was usually heavy at night and was a great thing to listen to falling asleep or just relaxing out on the lanai.

We never saw any dolphins swim by during our stay but we did see an occassional sea turtle and many whales.

Just across the quiet street is a little convenience store, gas station, some good restaurants and shops.

If we return to Maui, I would definately stay at Hololani again. The prices are great, the rooms are perfect, everything was just like a post card even the sunsets every night.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
30 Thank DiabloDeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
1.8 mi away
The Mauian Hotel on Napili Beach
1.5 mi away
Napili Point Resort
Napili Point Resort
#23 of 32 in Lahaina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kahana Reef
Kahana Reef
#5 of 41 in Lahaina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Kahana Falls
Kahana Falls
#28 of 32 in Lahaina
3.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hale Mahina Beach Resort
Hale Mahina Beach Resort
#27 of 32 in Lahaina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
0.1 mi away
Valley Isle Resort
Valley Isle Resort
#14 of 41 in Lahaina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hololani Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hololani Resort

Property: Hololani Resort
Address: 4401 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-8353
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#19 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hololani Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Vacatia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hololani Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hololani Resort Lahaina
Hololani Hotel Lahaina
Hololani Resort Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing