We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unit A102 - Fantastic well appointed condo”
Review of Hololani Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hololani Resort
Ranked #29 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We have stayed in this unit a few times over the years. It get's better each year! Very well appointed with plenty of dishes/cups/cutlery to feed a crowd. Lots of spices, teas and coffee so you don't have to start from scratch. There was even laundry soap to do a few loads. Owner has thought of everything. Games for the kids, Maui revealed guidebook. Boogie boards, beach chairs, coolers. Big surprise this year was the new doors to the lanai that open up so big it's like the lanai is part of your living room. Totally opened up the view. LOVE being on the ground floor - great for running back and forth to the pool/bbq's and the lawn out front is an extension of your living space! The grounds are kept up nicely and the barbeques are cleaned spotless each morning. Plenty of lounge chairs so no having to put a towel out at 6 am. The manager told us they have a sandy beach in the summer months but the tides and big waves take it away in the winter months. So there was no beach while we were there. That wasn't a big deal for our family as we like to visit all the amazing beaches nearby - DT Flemming and Kaanapali are our favourites. Sand or no sand the view from the property is spectacular and you can't get much closer to the ocean. We saw turtles and whales every single day and on one occasion we saw a monk seal! Great complex - great unit!

Room Tip: We like ground level so you aren't waiting for elevators. Also feels like the lawn is your own...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sandnsun4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (164)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 164 reviews

Reviewed May 24, 2013

Ok, the Hololani Resort is as good as it gets! We stayed in unit A-203, an oceanfront 2-bedroom unit that Donna Bender of MauiCalls booked for us. A fabulously up to date condo! You do not need air conditioning (we & others wondered if we needed it?, and you don't!) we left the Lanai doors open all night to hear the waves. You leave the front door open and the front screen door closed and you get the most incredible breeze thru the unit. We were never hot, it was perfect! Giant turtles right on the shore. The most incredible sunsets! We met a lot of great people while BBQ-ing by the pool. My wife and kids thought I was a genius for booking the Hololani, it was that good!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We stayed on the ground floor level, unit A103 and it was amazing! The sunsets are spectacular, the pool is literally steps away and the beach is great for just hanging out. There are tons of sea turtles who swim by all day long and there is a great reef for snorkeling directly in front of the Hololani. There are ample bbq's and we loved how it felt like our own little place in paradise. The condo itself is immaculate and well stoked with top of the line linens, cookery, etc. Also, the owners of the condo provide beach towels, pool towels, beach chairs, coolers, beach umbrella, boogie boards and skim boards! When visiting Maui, we will always stay at The Hololani A103...it's just perfect!

Room Tip: Ground floor is best! And of those, we recommend A103!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kmburly67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We stayed in an ocean view 2-bedroom unit that Donna Bender of MauiCalls booked for us. AMAZING view, floor to ceiling windows/sliders open onto generous lanai where we watched turtles & whales and enjoyed spectacular sunset dinners. Comfortable accommodations, walking distance to restaurants, shopping and a nice beach. Well taken care of pool and BBQ area.

Room Tip: We prefer upper floors for best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed at Hololani Resort (unit A603) for a week in April 2013. When we arrived, we were impressed on nice the condo is. Very well decorated... gives a hint of Maui without be "overly touristy". Very comfortable seating and beds. The condo was also stocked with pretty much everything you could use on vacation. I would recommend adding some binoculars for the tourists that forgot theirs during whale season. =) The resort pool was well taken care of... as was the beach-side BBQ. It was disappointing that the beach has washed away, but there is a nice beach literally 100-200 feet down in front of the next condo. There never seemed to be many people out which was nice. The location is great for those that want to snorkel as Napili Cove and Honolua Bay is a close drive. The Maui Brewing Co across the street was fantastic. There is no A/C, but with the winds it really wasn't needed. On a day with minimal wind, it might get a bit "stale", but we made sure the vent on the front door was open to allow wind thru the condo. Kept it quite comfortable. The "A" building gets most of the late afternoon/evening sun, so it could get a bit toasty on the lanai. If that is an issue, I would choose a condo on the "B" side. I, overall, would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nucmed24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

I recently rented a unit in this complex for a weeks stay in kahana. We stayed in a corner unit on the second floor of the B building. It was a great unit for ocean views and not too much sunlight during the daytime, and the patio from the bedroom had a great view too. Our specific unit definitely could use some upgrades to the appliances, carpet and decor, but who's complaining. I think the biggest disappointment as most others are writing here as well, is that the beach was washed away sometime in the wintertime and was out of commission. The pool made up for this inconvenience. There were 3 BBQs by the pool area for for general use...which we used on several occasions. There are also lots of great restaurants and lounges within walking distance of the unit. Free wifi too! It does suck having to buy ALL your kitchen supplies from scratch...even salt and pepper. Maybe one day these items will be allowed to stay from previous renters. Sugar too!

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank smythbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed in B803 only because they lost our reservation for B804 after we had paid our deposit six months in advance. It was a decent condo even if it was very dated, the kitchens and bathrooms are done in pale pepto bismo pink. The washer/dryer and dishwasher were brand new and we only really used the stove for heating up water for morning tea. The pool area was nice and the BBQ grills were fantastic. The screen between the bedroom/living room kinda sucked for two couples as it meant there was no privacy for the couple who was staying in the front room if the other couple are early risers as my husband and I were. A little beach would have been nice for the whole toes in the sand with a cup of coffee thing. That being said it was fantastic to watch the whales and turtles play every day from our own lanai. The twin beds in the 2nd bedroom did not push together well to make a queen size bed as someone would fall through the middle and there is no vent fan at all in the main bathroom. We would probably stay here again, perhaps not in this unit.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Akkitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
2.0 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
1.6 mi away
Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
1.8 mi away
The Mauian Hotel on Napili Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Napili Point Resort
Napili Point Resort
#25 of 32 in Lahaina
396 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kahana Falls
Kahana Falls
#28 of 32 in Lahaina
476 reviews
20.0 mi away
Kohea Kai Resort Maui,
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hololani Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hololani Resort

Address: 4401 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-8353
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#19 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range: $290 - $463 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hololani Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire and Vacatia so you can book your Hololani Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hololani Resort Lahaina
Hololani Hotel Lahaina
Hololani Resort Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing