We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So happy to be back”
Review of Hololani Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hololani Resort
Ranked #28 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Beaverton, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“So happy to be back”
Reviewed April 24, 2011

This was my second visit at Hololani, the first being 14 years ago. I was not dissapointed!. I agree the shore line is minimal, but erosion is something that has occured overtime and the management and owners are dealing with it. the photos posted by 1 reviewer show exposed sandbags trying to stop the erosion. the landscape is covered in foliage now and there is a new fence and patio. they are doing what needs to be done to protect themselves. this is a great place for families as the pool is slightly heated, exposed to plenty of sunshine and so clean it squeeks. there rooms are plenty spacious for several people to live for several days. WE LOVED IT!

Room Tip: 2 buildings 1 faces Molokai the other Lanai.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wobben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    49
    12
    6
    5
See reviews for
73
35
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2011

The room was very nice and had been updated with granite countertops and had nice furnishings. The large deck was nice with ocean view. It depends on your taste but we found the grounds to be rather depressing. The pool is acceptable but not kid friendly. For instance, the rules are posted, which include items such as "no playing games such "marko polo". The beach has eroded away, leaving only sand bags. If you are wanting a lush Hawaiian experience this is not the place to go; however, if you do not have children and want a nice condo to stay where you do not mind driving to a beach, this is an acceptable location. The photos we've seen on the internet of the beach at Honolani Resort are outdated as of April 2011.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank crzyfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gig Harbor, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2011

We have been coming to the Hololani for 30yrs and Absolutly love it! The beach may have sand bags on it to prevent erosion but that is up away from the water and there is ample room for couples with children to walk and play in the water. The beach is beautiful in the evenings with the fabulous sunset. The Hololoani is kept up and the grounds are beautiful. Our children are adults and now bring thier kids to the Hololani. They enjoy the freedom of the pool and the grounds. Thank you for such a lovely place to stay. My Grandkids thank you too

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chick45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2010

We just spent 8 nights at Hololani - it is a part of our Vacation Internationale timeshare. We stayed in A803 and enjoyed it very much. Excellent ocean views and sunsets. The only downsides to Hololani are: the master bedroom is an extension of the living area, so no real quiet place for the baby to nap during the day, the second bedroom faces a noisy street and there was not a yard with sunchairs for resting with an ocean view, the only sunchairs were restricted to the pool area which is shaded for most of the day (at least in December). But overall, we've stayed here before and will likely stay again - Maui is wonderful.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank SLMcMill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folsom, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2010

We stayed 7 nights in until A101, with our two young children and grandma. We really enjoyed our stay. The view was magnificent and our condo had everything we needed. We enjoyed BBQ'ing most nights and eating on our lanai. Dan, the manager, was very friendly and present, and you knew he took pride in managing the Hololani. They provide a supply of boogie boards and beach toys you can borrow. Our kids enjoyed swimming in the pool (keep in mind most of the guests there were over 60 and I wouldn't say overly kid-friendly--we had to remind our kids often to stay quiet in the pool area), and watching for turtles on the beach. The beach is not great, but there are so many nice beaches not too far away. There was a small shopping center close-by that you could walk to (not too much there, but a quick walk). I drove to Safeway in Lahaina for groceries before I realized there was a much larger, cheaper store called The Times (I think), just a couple of miles down the road. All in all, a nice, relaxing stay and we would come again (probably when our kids are older).

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nornie73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burbank, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2010

I've just returned from 10 days on Maui and I'm already trying to figure out how I'm going to return to my new home-away-from-home, the Hololani Resort.
After reading reviews on Trip Advisor and then then perusing the Hololani site, my sister and I booked unit #404 about 3 months prior to our trip. Not knowing what to expect, in brief, just about everything I experienced from the minute we walked through the door was a pleasant surprise. The condo was clean, peaceful, nicely decorated, and well equipped with everything I could ever need. Once I got my bearings, found the local supermarkets, and got insider tips from my neighbors about hitting COSTCO near the airport, I never had to leave my little stretch of pristine beach unless I wanted to sight see or dine out a handful of times. Other than loving breakfast at The Gazebo up the road in Napili, going upcountry for lunch Hali Maille General Store, or devouring a refreshing midday shave ice at Ululani's in Lahaina, I was always grilling fresh fish and veggies on one of the three grills down by the pool along with wonderful neighbors. Everyone at the complex was respectful and relaxed, the views were glorious, I floated in the ocean protected by the reef for many hours, the pool was warm at night, and I hated to leave! I highly recommend this condo complex if you want a reasonably priced, quiet, uncomplicated vacation.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank daisyaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman, Montana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2010

We stayed at the Hololani resort in unit A204 and it was fabulous. We rented this unit through [--] and the price was very reasonable. The view from this corner unit is nothing but spectacular. The resort is located in Kahana and accessible to so much on the west side of Maui. The pool area is small but adequate and the entire property is very clean and well appointed. Our unit was nicely decorated and had everything you could want in the kitchen. Beach chairs, mats, umbrellas and towels are in the unit and the carpeted lanai in this unit has wonderful, comfortable furniture. There is also a parking spot that goes w/the rental and that is a must in this area! There is also high speed internet available in the unit. There are 2 BRs in these condos and they are spacious. The front bedroom only has a louvered door to the living area and the back bedroom has a pocket door. I would say that is the only drawback to the entire place. The front BR has a fabulous view but you are right there on the water and it can be loud at night if you have the patio doors open. We loved it!! . The back bedroom has a nice view as well and it is a bit quieter. Lots of wonderful beaches nearby and fabulous restaurants very close. Our favorite dinner spot was Merrimans and it is just down the road from Hololani on the water-expensive but worth it and an absolutely beautiful place to watch the sunset! We can't wait to go back to Maui and we will stay in this same unit at Hololani!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lovetovacationanytim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
1.6 mi away
Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
0.9 mi away
Hale Mahina Beach Resort
Hale Mahina Beach Resort
#27 of 32 in Lahaina
215 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kahana Reef
Kahana Reef
#8 of 41 in Lahaina
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Valley Isle Resort
Valley Isle Resort
#12 of 41 in Lahaina
390 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kahana Falls
Kahana Falls
#29 of 32 in Lahaina
457 reviews
1.0 mi away
Lokelani Condominiums
Lokelani Condominiums
#20 of 41 in Lahaina
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hololani Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hololani Resort

Property: Hololani Resort
Address: 4401 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-8353
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#19 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hololani Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Vacatia so you can book your Hololani Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hololani Resort Lahaina
Hololani Hotel Lahaina
Hololani Resort Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing