We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home Away from Home”
Review of Kahana Village

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lahaina
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kahana Village
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Home Away from Home”
Reviewed January 15, 2011

We had such a nice time at Kahana Village. I endorse everything that is advertised on their website. One thing that really stands out is the community atmosphere. The bar-b-que area is almost a nice place to meet really friendly people from all over North America. The condo owners are especially very warm and welcoming to us renters. Every Wednesday night is Mai Tai night, which includes live music, snacks and Mai Tais with many friendly folks. All included. Only 1 thing to note is that the kitchen in our unit could have had been better outfitted (oven mits, bar-b-que flipper, spices etc.). Over all highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vybrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    393
    67
    8
    8
    3
See reviews for
310
82
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 30, 2010

What a spectacular place! Beautiful view of ocean and islands. My teenage boys loved being close to everything like golf and surfing. My wife loved the quite beach and quick access to shops and stores. I was delighted that everyone in the family really enjoyed Unit 5 at Kahana Village. Thank you Janet for allowing us to stay an extra day at your beautiful condo!!
Larry N. - Oklahoma City, OK

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LarryOKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2010

We stayed 7 days in this unit owned by Michael. It was livable but not up to our standard
for cleaniness and amentities. Old and decrepid with no pride of ownership what so ever. We lived out of our suitcases as there were only 10 hangers in the place for 6 people. Remotes needed batteries,(Upon this complaint to Michael, he said someone would be by the next morning with these items....never ever showed...) No kettle in the kitchen, boiled water for tea in a pot on the stove. Broken door, light bulbs burnt out and no access directly from this unit 41 to the ocean front because of creek on side and front
of property. (This would have been better for the grandkids with us.) Cockroaches found in bathtub downstairs and never looked as if the place was cleaned.
The On Site Property management for the other units were fantastic helping us as much as they could.(They are not responsible for unit #5 & 41 as Michael owns these units )
We looked at 2 of KAHANA VILLAGE's property managed condo units and there was NO comparision to unit 41. Like night and day. Next time I would seek out one of their rentals and NOT Michael's # 5 or #41.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank debrac2441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Dorado Hills, Ca
Level Contributor
244 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2010

Another great trip to the Village this year. There really is no other option if you want to stay at a community that is outside the craziness of Kaanapali. Again, the staff was great. The views are uncomparable. Each and everytime you venture out, it's like coming home when you open the door.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeandJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Habra
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2010

We rented Unit 1 and found it lovely and extremely well appointed. It has been recently renovated and has a full kitchen and TVs in every room. It was especially nice to have wi-fi included, as both my grown children and their guests had their computers with them. The property is located on a small beach with views of Lanai and Molokai. The grounds are well kept and the staff was very accommodating. The only down side for us was that the snorkeling off the adjacent beach is not very good, but we had a lovely relaxing stay.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaHabraCookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, Virginia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2010

Be aware when booking your stay in Maui that not all accommodations are air conditioned. My first mistake when booking at Kahana Village, paying in full upfront for the week of our first visit to Maui. In October the temps are in the mid to upper 80's - AC is recommended. When staying on the second and third level of one of these units with skylights in the bedrooms with no curtains or shades, the bedroom does not cool off sufficiently for a good nights sleep. With no air conditioning the windows need to left open leaving you with the sound of traffic all night long (sirens, trucks and the sound of speeding motorcycles). The weed eaters begin at daybreak - so if you didn't sleep during the night - forget trying to sleep-in on your vacation. My family and I were ready to move to a new place on the first night.


Pros: Clean - nice size condo, beautiful views, well landscaped

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank petite0ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 19, 2010

What a great family destination. So peaceful and comfortable. We stayed in unit 37 and had a very nice experience. The staff is uber friendly and quick to serve. Great beach and plant life. We were visited by four spotted eagle rays one morning in the shallow waves! Great place, great memories, hope to visit again soon!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorthernCATraveler71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
1.9 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
2.3 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
3.1 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,933 reviews
4.1 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
0.8 mi away
Noelani Condominium Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kahana Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kahana Village

Property: Kahana Village
Address: 4531 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9294
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kahana Village features spacious 2 and 3 bedroom condos right on a private white sand beach in northwest Maui. Kahana Village features an oceanfront pool and jacuzzi, as well as 4 gas grill bbqs right on the water. All Units have a fully equipped kitchen as well as a washer and dryer. Come enjoy all the amenities of home while staying just steps from the Pacific Ocean! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kahana Village Hotel Lahaina
Kahana Village Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing