We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (694)
Filter reviews
694 results
Traveler rating
574
91
12
13
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
574
91
12
13
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mai tai party boogie boards management team beach chairs water shoes bbq area ocean front air conditioning family vacation hot tub beautiful condo great for families small beach high rise home away from home bedroom unit short drive
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 694 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great faculties and location. Staff is the best! We have stayed there many times over the past 25 years and always look forward to our return. Close to wonderful beaches and Lahaina and Whaler’s Village.

Date of stay: February 2020
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank mzastrocky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2020

My family really wanted a relaxing vacation on the beach, so we decided to book Unit #26 at Kahana Village. The condo is on the second floor of the building, and has fantastic view. The unit is only about 10 yards from the surf, and has a fantastic view of Lanai, Moloka'i, and the Au'au Channel in between. One of the best parts of our vacation was watching the humpback whales in the channel. If you're looking for a luxury vacation, there are lots of big resorts nearby. Kahana Village is for a lower-key experience.

The other guests and residents were really friendly, and hang out together at the pool, spa, barbecues, and narrow beach. The cove at Kahana has a reef that is suitable for snorkeling and surfing, but there are a lot of rocks where the surf hits the sand. Napili Bay (about a mile away) has more sand, so it's more popular for snorkeling. Most of the surfers enter the water at Pohaku Park to the south of Kahana Village.

It's really convenient that the condo has a nicely-equipped kitchen. On most of the days of our visit, we ate breakfast and lunch in the condo and went out for dinner.

Here are a few tips for your visit...

When booking, you'll find listings for Kahana Village on Vrbo and Airbnb, but it's better to book directly on the Kahana Village web site to avoid booking fees.

After arriving on Maui, stop at the Walmart or Target close to the Kahului airport to stock up on staples for the kitchen (which for us included beer). Shop at the Napili Market (about a mile from Kahana Village) for poke or other fresh food. If you're staying at Kahana Village, you're probably not looking for a really touristy experience, so you'll probably want to avoid the shops and restaurants to the south at Ka'anapali.

Room tip: We didn't find a binoculars or a telescope in the condo, so consider bringing binoculars for excellent whale watching.
Date of stay: February 2020
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank chaiken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2020

Great location and views. Unfortunately we reserved unit #2 and it was nothing like the description. Couch and beds both need to be replaced. Dryer vent had fallen out and was being used without it. I would go back to Kahana Village but would do a little more research before choosing a unit.

Date of stay: January 2020
Thank Sonia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2020

Nice location but suit very run down. Dishwasher not useable, suite very dirty on arrival. Had ant infestation during the whole trip. Had to spend first day cleaning and hand washing all dishes. Manager did credit us $500. Was second time here but will not be back again. Too bad. Nice spot for families.

Room tip: Suite needs complete renovation. Invest in some new brooms and mops.
Date of stay: December 2019
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Aviatorcgbmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2019 via mobile

We reserved this place from our time share exchange. Big disappointment. One of the worst places I ever stayed with the time share exchange. First, the front desk doesn’t work full day all the time, well it’s not a regular hotel so it’s understood. So if you need anything “emergency”(means if you can’t find anyone at the front desk during the day) you need to go across the street to the other hotel.
Second, they DO NOT HAVE A REAL Air Condition. Only an old loud window unit located at the downstairs in a two bedroom Two level unit. About the two bedrooms, one bedroom is actually open to the downstairs living/kitchen area. So there’s no real “close door” privacy.... and the other bedroom, the door lock doesn’t work, can’t really close the door. Whenever there’s wind the door will just swing open, that was terrible when it happened in the mid of the night. The windows are so old. They are wooden panels that can’t really close all the way, and we experienced some very hash wind and rain. It was not nice. The hair blower was old and dusty as the picture shown.
Finally it’s the noise, the windows are all so old and thin so anything from the wind and the traffic to the noisy neighbors, we heard them all.

When we arrived and saw this condition, we asked the front desk to change the unit, they said they don’t have anything available...so here’s the review. Please don’t bother this place if you have any standard.

The environment and surroundings were clean and the staffs that worked there are all nice. But I wouldn’t stay there again.

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank modernskyart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KahanaVillage, Gretchen Aguinaldo, Director of Marketing at Kahana Village, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2020

Aloha,

Unfortunately, we are not a time share property and have no record of you staying here at Kahana Village. We take great pride in our quality vacation rental units and overall service, so we would like to hear from you directly about what may have made you feel this was a truthful and relevant review. You'll find our contact information on the website. Mahalo for your time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews