We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (694)
Filter reviews
694 results
Traveler rating
574
91
12
13
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
574
91
12
13
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mai tai party boogie boards management team beach chairs water shoes bbq area ocean front air conditioning family vacation hot tub beautiful condo great for families small beach high rise home away from home bedroom unit short drive
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
64 - 69 of 694 reviews
Reviewed February 15, 2019

Kahana Village is a lovely place to park yourself for a week. The condo was spacious with 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. We stayed in # 28 which is right on the beach. The balcony overlooks the beach so you can just sit there and drink in the scenery and watch the sunsets, listen to the waves lap against the shore. In front of us was a bit rocky, we had black rock so we couldn't just walk out into the ocean, but if you just walk a bit further down it's fine. It's quite private so there were only a handful of people out there any given day. The kitchen was modern, the fridge was already stocked with some bottles of water, some coffee and there were tea bags provided as well. There were plates, cups, glasses, cutlery, pots & pans and even baking supplies. The staff was lovely. Vicky, Mike and Jeff were all helpful. There was a lady came and cleaned our room halfway through our stay and restocked us with toilet paper and kleenex. Our only complaint was it was a bit far from everything. The grocery store was not just around the corner, it was a long walk and as I had injured my leg, hubby had to go walk about himself and ended up carrying way too much stuff on a long walk. We didn't want to have to worry about a car, so we didn't rent one. I suggest if you want to stay here, maybe you should. There is a bus right outside,,, not sure where that takes you; we probably should have investigated that. Next time we will, if there is one. The taxi service seemed to be below par also. Not sure what was going on there. You have to make it clear you're at Kahana Village because there's Kahana Villa as well. The dispatcher either doesn't speak or understand English very well and/or needs new telephone upgrade. The phone kept cutting in & out and you end up wondering if he understood what you were asking...we waited forever a couple of times. On the last day, we waited forever for the one to take us to the airport (Kapalua which is close). The lovely Vicki ended up driving us as we were afraid we would miss our flight. I can't blame Kahana Village for this at all though. Everything there was lovely. E-mails to & from before we arrived were answered quickly, politely and efficiently by the lovely Gretchen who I met on the last day.
Thank-you everyone! Susan and Terry

Room tip: 28 overlooks the beach
Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KahanaVillage, Gretchen Aguinaldo, Director of Marketing at Kahana Village, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2019

Aloha Susan & Terry,

Thank you so much for the great review! We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, as well as the fully equipped kitchen as well. Your comments and feedback are very much appreciated! Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2019

We've stayed in Kahana Village twice. Sept 2017 & Jan 2019. 2 bedroom unit #20 and 3 bedroom unit #18. Both trips were great! Unit 18 was the bomb! We had a 2 yr old with and having NO steps and an enclosed HUGE deck was perfect. The unit is really spacious! Great outlook over the pool and grounds to the ocean view. We hosted a rehearsal dinner of 20 and with the decks, porch and living room it was extremely comfortable. Kitchen was stocked well. Vicki and Gretchen were extremely helpful and responsive. This is our go to place on Maui. Small complex and very comfortable and private. No parking garages or elevators.

Room tip: 3 bedroom units are Huge with no steps. Corner windows bring in lots of light.
Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lmhelleren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KahanaVillage, Gretchen Aguinaldo, Director of Marketing at Kahana Village, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2019

Aloha!

Thank you so much for the wonderful 5 star review! We are always excited to welcome our returning guests! We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us in unit # 18! We are happy to be at your service and can't wait until your future stay with us! Your comments and feedback are very much appreciated! Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2019

We have been coming to Maui for 24 years. This has been the best place!!! Quiet complex. Office staff are awesome. Great pool and hot tub and very close to beach. I will definitely be back. Washer and dryer in units so you don’t have to pack much.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nywomen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KahanaVillage, Gretchen Aguinaldo, Director of Marketing at Kahana Village, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2019

Aloha!

Thank you so much for the wonderful 5 star review! It's amazing to hear that you have been coming back to Kahana Village for 24 years!! Thank you for choosing Kahana Village! We are looking forward to your future stay with us! Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2019

We had four lovely nights at Kahana village followed by two days/nights where we could no longer sit on the Lanai or leave our sliders open.
PROS: We stayed in unit #2. It was comfortable - the furnishings were a little tired but everything worked and appeared clean. The beds were comfortable. The view is quite nice. My mom is 85 and for the first four days spent most of her time on the lanai, reading and enjoying the fresh air and ocean sounds and view. The condo kitchen was well equipped - I found everything I needed for food prep.The staff is all very friendly and the Mai Tai party is a lot of fun.
CONS: On the last two nights, someone checked into Unit 3 and they basically chain smoked most of the time. My mother has a chronic lung condition and immediately became short of breath when exposed to the cigarette smoke so could no longer enjoy the outdoors, even just from the sofa. With the breeze, the smoke came directly in our condo. The doors had to be closed.
I have probably been to Hawaii at least 15 times in the last 10-15 years and have never had this experience, including a previous visit to Kahana Village about 8 years ago. I went by the office and the lady at the desk confirmed that smoking was allowed on the lanai. I returned to my condo to reread the letter closely that was given on our arrival. It clearly said smoking is allowed on the lanai. When we booked the room, no one told us about this rule - I never expected it. I find nothing on their website stating that smoking is allowed on the lanais. I reread the contract on line (very hard to read - doesn't open up well) and saw nothing about it. We in no way would ever have chosen a place that allows smoking.
Interestingly, there is a law passed in Hawaii in 2006 that specifically mentions smoking is not allowed on lanais. Also found on the internet, listings of a small number of hotels allowing smoking on the lanai. Kahana Village does not appear on the list. My question is, how do these hotels get away with not following the law?
That being said, we had four good days and nights followed by being held hostage in our room because of the cigarette smoke. My mother basically stays in the condo because the stairs are difficult for her so the door had to stay closed. Do not stay here if you can not tolerate smoke for a medical reason, allergy or just do not like the smell of it. You will never know who your neighbor will be until they arrive and light up.

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrsslk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2019

Wow! We are so glad we found Kahana Village. The staff does an amazing job with managing the property, everything was spotless, clean and beautifully maintained. Our condo had the most amazing view and was supplied with everything we could ever need. Even the patio had the most comfortable furniture...and the kitchen was set up perfectly for all of our cooking adventures. Vicki & Gretchen were welcoming and kind and hosted a wonderful MaiTai party. We could not have found a more scenic location, within walking distance to so many shops and dining opportunities and just a short drive to downtown Lahaina. We highly recommened staying at Kahana Village!! Aloha

Room tip: Second floor units are quieter and offer wonderful views.
Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank skippersdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KahanaVillage, Gretchen Aguinaldo, Director of Marketing at Kahana Village, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2019

Aloha!

Thank you so much for the wonderful 5 star review! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Kahana Village, as well as the MaiTai Party! We are always happy to be at your service, and thank you so much for recommending Kahana Village! We are looking forward to your future stay with us! Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews