We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (694)
Filter reviews
694 results
Traveler rating
574
91
12
13
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
574
91
12
13
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mai tai party boogie boards management team beach chairs water shoes bbq area ocean front air conditioning family vacation hot tub beautiful condo great for families small beach high rise home away from home bedroom unit short drive
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
109 - 114 of 694 reviews
Reviewed June 28, 2018

Kahana Village had been recommended to us by friends of ours with two kids. We have one 3 year old daughter and she loved the pool and beach right on the property. It was also so handy to have arm bands, beach chairs and boogie boards provided for you in the room. Due to flight changes, we had to extend our trip and as a result stayed in two different units. The first room was cheaper as it was one of the older units. It was nice and the patio was great but it was really old, the shower literally had zero pressure and there was no air conditioning. The fans they provided were great but air conditioning is a must for us to sleep at night. We also felt the beds were extremely uncomfortable (old and my husband and I basically rolled into each other the whole night). We needed to extend our trip and loved the grounds at the complex so much (pool and beach) that we decided to stay there but needed to move rooms. We ended up staying in an upgraded unit which was amazing. Worth the money to be in a premium room. Everything was new, clean and air conditioned. The beds again were not at all comfortable- this issue should really be addressed. Having said that, we would definitely book a newer unit at this complex our next trip to Maui. We were relaxed, enjoyed the pool, beach and the awesome views from the patio.

Room tip: Book an air conditioned unit- it is worth the extra cost.
Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Colleen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KahanaVillage, Gretchen Aguinaldo, Director of Marketing at Kahana Village, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2018

Aloha!

Thank you so much for the review. Your comments and feedback are very much appreciated. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the amenities that Kahana Village has to offer! Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2018

We absolutely loved our 6-night stay at Kahana Village! Although categorized as a "standard" unit (not a deluxe or a luxury), #23 was just beautiful and perfect for us: spacious, clean, well-designed, and with jaw-dropping views. We were glad we chose a unit with air conditioning. While it's true that it really cooled down at night and there were breezes, it was nice to return to the condo in the heat of the late afternoon (having closed windows and doors while we were out) and find the place comfortably cool.

The resort is comparatively small and has a homey feel, and as others have noted, it has a loyal following of repeat visitors. Everyone was friendly -- the staff as well as the other visitors! It's great to have the little beach right outside, mere steps away. While not a world-class beach (you wouldn't likely spend a whole day beaching here), it's great for a quick swim and we saw lots of people paddle boarding. Plus, it's wonderful to be able to have a walk on the beach while sipping your morning coffee or your evening cocktail. The property on the whole (plantings, walkways, etc) is meticulously maintained and groomed, and the location is convenient to lots of excellent restaurants and a grocery store. We found that West Maui was a good base for visiting the whole island, and had no trouble driving to Hana and other eastern and southern locations. And the value just can't be beat. For our family of 4 (including 2 grown sons, ages 17 and 21), this lovely, spacious condo with 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, full kitchen, washer/dryer, and that spectacular view was a real bargain. We would certainly return, and would recommend Kahana Village to anyone planning a trip to Maui.

Room tip: Unit 23 was great, and I suspect most of the "Oceanfront Prime" units have similarly excellent views.
Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank suburban-gourmande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KahanaVillage, Gretchen Aguinaldo, Director of Marketing at Kahana Village, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2018

Aloha!

Thank you so much for the wonderful 5 Star Review! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Kahana Village. We are also pleased to hear that you will be returning! Your comments and feedback are very much appreciated. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2018

We stayed in one of the the 3 bedroom, 2 bath units. It was a huge plus to have our condo all on the ground floor. We are all 60+ so not having stairs was perfect. The pool and beach were just outside our unit #7. Our unit was clean, beautiful, and well-equipped with everything we needed. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We would definitely consider staying here again!

Room tip: Unit #7 on the ground floor is a great unit in a very convenient location.
Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Allison K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KahanaVillage, Gretchen Aguinaldo, Director of Marketing at Kahana Village, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2018

Aloha!

Thank you so much for the wonderful 5 Star Review! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the 3 Bedroom 2 Bath ground floor unit! We are also happy to hear that you will consider coming back to Kahana Village! Your comments and feedback are very much appreciated. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2018

Unit 2, Kahana Village, was a slightly worn, yet very nice vacation rental for my family. It is located in an exceptional neighborhood, has everything a family of 4 needs, is quiet and safe. We will be back.

Room tip: Be sure to check your bed sheets for a friendly lizard who might want to sleep with you!😊
Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank domcaronna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KahanaVillage, Gretchen Aguinaldo, Director of Marketing at Kahana Village, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2018

Aloha!

Thank you so much for the 5 Star Review! We are so pleased to hear that you will be back to Kahana Village! Your comments and feedback are very much appreciated. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2018

Our family of 4 really enjoyed our stay at Kahana Village! We stayed in Unit #3 and loved everything about it. Comfy beds, clean, well stocked kitchen, updated decor, beach needs galore, and of course the VIEW are a few of favorites. The condo felt roomy and had all the comforts of home. The grounds of Kahana Village were well kept with beautiful native flowers, plants and trees and the common areas were also clean and take care of. Love the cabana area and that there is ice for you to fill your cooler with for the day. I loved the location of Kahana Village too. Not too far from wonderful beaches, activities, restaurants, grocery stores, but felt perfectly out of the way of the busier areas of West Maui. Two things that I think are worth mentioning are: 1. the beach in front of the condo isn't much and is rather rocky. The relaxing ocean sounds are the same! :-) 2. the pool is the same depth. I can't remember what it is, but it's comfortable for kids to play in but not so much for adults (shallow). Neither of these would keep us from coming back as we loved Kahana Village and Unit # 3!!

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank shzisler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KahanaVillage, Gretchen Aguinaldo, Director of Marketing at Kahana Village, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2018

Aloha,

Thank you so much for the wonderful 5 Star Review. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Unit#3! Your comments and feedback are very much appreciated! We are looking forward to your next stay! Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews