We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience at Kahana Village”
Review of Kahana Village

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lahaina
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kahana Village
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Barbara, CA
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience at Kahana Village”
Reviewed April 30, 2006

We just got back from four nights at the Kahana Village -- upstairs two bedroom, two bath unit. Furnishings were lovely, kitchen amply equipped - bottled water and coffee upon our arrival. The manager and staff could not have been more gracious. What a lovely complex - would definitely return. The views from our lanai were fabulous. The beach (as mentioned elsewhere) was not the best, but fantastic swimming beaches are within minutes.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sbcook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    408
    71
    10
    9
    3
See reviews for
326
85
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2006

We just returned from 10 fabulous days at the Kahana Village condo on Maui. I can't say enough about the rooms, location, and staff! This is an excellent spot if you're looking for a private, quiet location. We stayed in an oceanfront 'standard unit (#4, 2 bedroom) which was everything we expected and more. Our unit came equipped with some 'extras' (boogie boards, snorkel sets) and was very well appointed & clean. The management for this complex is second to none. The entire complex is very well run, clean with immaculate gardens, beautiful oceanside pool & BBQ area. We were there for Easter, and Paul & Vicky (the on site managers) hosted a lovely continental breafast on Easter Sunday! I researched several different condos in the area, and am so glad I chose this one. We plan on returning next year!

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ameltd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2006

first, a bit of background. this was an extended family vacation which comprised of my parents, my wife and baby daughter (23 months) and my brother and sister. my parents have not gone on a vacation (with the exception of a few days here and there) for as long as i can remember (>10 years!). also, they are quite finicky people when it comes to accomodations as their are the proud owners of a motel in the canmore alberta region. suffice to say, they have high expectations when it comes to cleanliness (they've won a lot of "good housekeeping" awards).

about a month ago, we reserved two units (unit #18 for two nights and unit #31 for five nights). i had hopes on staying on an ocean front unit so hence the chance in unit mid-week. i was initially a bit worried about unit #18 because of the centralized location and its proximity to the pool and the office. i could not be more wrong. when we checked in, everyone was thrilled with the unit (3BR unit ground floor) to the point where we opted to stay in unit #18 for the full week! it was extremely spacious, very clean, and was surprisingly quiet. we even had excellent views of the ocean (albeit, i will admit there are units with better views). the pictures of unit #18 on the website simply do not do it justice. also, the landscaped grounds look way more gorgeous in real life than they do on the website.

i personally found our king-sized bed comfortable. i think my siblings found the two twins a bit uncomfortable but that's because they're used to sleeping in a queen-sized bed by themselves. my baby daughter also loved the unit.

i also want to say that paul and vicky were great. they were able to provide us a rice cooker (we suspect they bought it brand new prior to our arrival).

there are a ton of towels in the unit so don't bring your own! we noticed that some units have other peripheral things such as beach mats or boogie boards or even snorkel equipment (our unit did not). the landscaped grounds are amazing as well (my parents kept on cooing over the lush plants and how well-maintained it was... my parents plant literally hundreds of annuals every year on their motel property so they were quite impressed). the pool was just so-so in comparison to other hotels but it sufficed for our purposes. a delivered daily newspaper was a nice touch.

we're currently staying our second week in menehune shores in kihei (it is just myself, my wife, and our baby daughter as everyone else has headed back home) and we are already missing kahana village!

if you ever need any unbiased information, please let me know as i've leaned on numerous opinions on tripadvisor. happy findings!

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank stephendedalus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2006

Stayed at Kahana Village for 5 nights. Three couples in a three bedroom. Had a great ocean view, and watched whales from the lanai every morning. These condos are very quiet and private. Our unit was updated and in great shape. Ten minute drive to Kaanapali Beach, five to Kapalua or Napili. Had a late flight out our last day, and they put us up in another unit as late as we wished to stay.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank SeetheParks7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redlands, CA
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2005

This is a small and extremely well maintained complex. The staff is phenomenal, the grounds are beautiful, and our unit was even better than the photos! The condos are well supplied with every necessary cooking utensil and appliance. I would highly reccommend spending your Maui vacation here! I look forward to my next visit. Every unit has a fabulous ocean view and the lanais are fantastic!

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank salli715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2005

What can I say? Manager Vicki Betts saved our honeymoon. After a nightmare experience at the Resortquest Maui Kaanapali Villas on our first night in Maui (see my review), we consulted with the "Blue Bible" (Maui Revealed) and found this "Real Gem".With less than a half hour to gather our belongings and flee MKV, I called and spilled my guts to Vicki who mercifully invited us to come by and look at the facilities. Imagine our uncontainable glee upon setting our eyes on the huge, immaculate and well appointed 2 bedroom "standard" unit # 9 that Vicki offered to us for a very reasonable ( cheaper than MKV) fall rate. Needless to say, it was Shangra la compared to the hellhole we came from. With more space than we could possibly use, every possible convenience of home and a beautiful view from our Lanai, Maui quickly became our favorite of the three islands we visited. Vicki also left us a nice bottle of champagne for the occasion.
The overall tone of the facility was very laid back, quiet and tranquil with most people almost humbled into not speaking above a whisper for fear of undoing the tranquility. The 3 foot deep swimming pool was just perfect for wading and keeping cool in the Maui sun and the beach only feet away from the pool area, was a bit rocky and murky but also fine for wading if equipped with ample footwear. Normally, my wife and I would shy away from a place with no air conditioning. However, the multiple ceiling fans and cool ocean breeze kept us plenty comfortable. It was nice to come back from a busy day on the island to the relaxing hot tub in the pool area where we had a chance to mingle with other (very friendly)guests, many of whom had been here multiple times and felt it was their own little secret place that they did not want to tell anyone about. After our stay here, we will be tempted not to tell anyone either. However, we will highly recommend this great place to all who visit Maui.

PS. The complimentary Wednesday night Mai Tai party at the pool between 5 and 6 is a nice touch with live music and a Hawaiian sunset in the background.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank azaccone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed November 24, 2005

I wanted to say that this is a lovely condo complex. Our entire family stayed for a week. We were in unit 18 (downstairs) and unit 17 (upstairs). The beach is not the greatest but Kaanapali Beach is close by. The BBQ area is perfect and the pool, even though only 4 foot deep, is nice, clean and fun. We could see the pool from our lanais and that was perfect for letting the pre-teens of our group get a little freedom while we were able to keep an eye on them.

One important thing to note is there are 3 reviews below that can't possibly be Kahana Village. The September 6,2004 (Fort Lauderdale), Aug 14,2004 (Seattle) and July 11, 2004 (Seattle), reference a hotel in Kahului. I think it's the Maui Beach Hotel, which is old and smells bad. It is close to the Kahului airport and across from Kaahumanu Shopping Center. The Kahana does not have a restaurant, as one of the bad reviews indicated. So, I think the Maui Beach must be the one all 3 referenced. Not sure why they bipped over onto Kahana Village.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
1.9 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
468 reviews
2.3 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
3.1 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
0.8 mi away
Noelani Condominium Resort
1.6 mi away
Napili Kai Beach Resort
Napili Kai Beach Resort
#4 of 32 in Lahaina
864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kahana Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kahana Village

Property: Kahana Village
Address: 4531 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9294
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kahana Village features spacious 2 and 3 bedroom condos right on a private white sand beach in northwest Maui. Kahana Village features an oceanfront pool and jacuzzi, as well as 4 gas grill bbqs right on the water. All Units have a fully equipped kitchen as well as a washer and dryer. Come enjoy all the amenities of home while staying just steps from the Pacific Ocean! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kahana Village Hotel Lahaina
Kahana Village Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing