We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A "must do" activity on Maui!”
Review of Ironwood Ranch

Ironwood Ranch
Ranked #33 of 122 things to do in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We're the "Best Place to Find Yourself on Horseback" according to Hawaii Magazine's 2008 "Best of Hawaii" - and they should know! Ride our beautiful horses through lush, exotic valleys, ironwood forests, and pineapple fields, while enjoying spectacular panoramic views of the outer islands! Nestled in the midst of unspoiled mountains, rain forests and farmland, Ironwood Ranch sits on acres of private land inaccessible to most, but ready and waiting for you to explore!
2 reviews
“A "must do" activity on Maui!”
Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

We had a fabulous time at Ironwood Ranch! The staff is friendly, helpful and genuinely glad that we were there. The 1.5 hour ride is more than enough time to see the gorgeous sights from the mountains and is a great value! The horses were really well behaved, even for us beginner - level riders. Call the ranch directly to book if you can vs booking the activity from your hotel concierge - you'll get a better rate.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Garyville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    198
    40
    14
    3
    14
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Orange, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing ride”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

The ride was amazing. Gina knows her horses and her history. We were novice riders and felt comfortable and at ease for the whole ride. The view was breathtaking. It was amazing to be "in the wilderness" so close to the busy tourist areas. We will return for another adventure. Gina is amazing and really makes this ride worth every penny!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“A nice ride in beautiful scenery”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

My daughter and I booked a 1.5 hour ride last week and really enjoyed it even though it was drizzling throughout our ride. The scenery is beautiful and it's a great way to see the island from a different perspective, our guide pointed out lots of interesting stuff on the way. They shaved a bit off the time, the total riding experience was about 1.5hrs, but the actual ride was more like 60 minutes not counting the mounting of the horses, etc. This ride caters well to beginners, you only walk which for more advanced riders may be a little boring. The horses were all named after celebrities which was interesting and were friendly and well trained. The ride up to the ranch is bumpy and unpaved so take time to get there especially if it has rained.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Horrible experience”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Booked a horseback ride for a Friday, but called back 5 min later & cancelled and rebooked for Monday. Upon arriving on Monday, they said our ride was cancelled because of overbooking and it was sprinkling. They said they were going to charge us $200 for no show on Friday because we didn't cancel Friday's ride, even though the girl who made the original booking said she forgot to cross out Fridays booking & showed them the book. Mistakes do happen, but (won't put name) just didn't want to listen. I called Ironwood Ranch when my husband got back and same person said they were still charging us $200.00. Made no sense since the other girl admitted her mistake. Asked to speak to owner, but it was like pulling teeth to tell us his name. After 2 hrs she called back & said it wasn't worth the hassle and said money would be refunded. Next day I had a $470 debit on my credit card and a $70. pending charge. Called and someone who was extremely nice said the $470 would be reversed that night and the $70 saddle up fee would be reversed. (4 kids and husband never saw a horse) I have never experienced such poor customer service by a person. Rude, rude, rude. I was accused of not canceling my booking, even though the girl admitted she forgot to cancel our booking and then debiting our credit card $470 & a $70 for saddle up fee. No Aloha spirit here .

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank Sue430303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Awesome Ride!”
Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I vacationed on Maui in May and booked this ride through the concierge at our condo. For those of you not familiar with ranches and horseback riding, please be aware you are driving up a dirt rode and PLEASE dress appropriately for horseback riding, i.e., no high heeled shoes, no fancy wide brimmed hats, etc, as you will be riding through trees and narrow trails. Our guide was Ginny, who was great with pairing up riders and horses. I have owned horses and she did a great job to be sure the novice riders were comfortable with their horses as well as enjoying the ride. She explained the various types of trees, flowers and vegetation as well as the history and culture of the area and the ranch. After the ride, we were given cool drinks and were free to walk around and enjoy the other horses and pick fresh fruit from the trees. If you love horses, this is the ranch to visit!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Grammy427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ironwood Ranch also viewed

 

Been to Ironwood Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing